Customer Reviews for

Tithe (Modern Tale of Faerie Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 682 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(429)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fantastical

I love this book. This book is the best Faerie book I have ever read. It has great characters, plots, etc. Very edgy and dark. Excellently written. If you are not a person to enjoy a book with drug use, sex, graphic description, and or plain dark novels/series, then don...
I love this book. This book is the best Faerie book I have ever read. It has great characters, plots, etc. Very edgy and dark. Excellently written. If you are not a person to enjoy a book with drug use, sex, graphic description, and or plain dark novels/series, then dont read it.
Other than that, its an awsome read. No doubt about it.

posted by Fantasy_Queen on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A Spiderwick Fan

I love Holly Black for her "Spiderwick Chronicals." So when I picked up Tithe, I thought, "Cool! Holly Black, faries, teenager's level, it can't get any better!" But I had to put the book down and give it away within the first ten pages. I can understand that for so...
I love Holly Black for her "Spiderwick Chronicals." So when I picked up Tithe, I thought, "Cool! Holly Black, faries, teenager's level, it can't get any better!" But I had to put the book down and give it away within the first ten pages. I can understand that for some adult writters to write for teenagers today, but it feels like Holly Black is trying way to hard. It also felt like Black was trying to use every curse word in her memory banks within the first chapter. Does she think all teens are over sexed, bad mouthed hoolagins?

If your looking for 'edge', maybe you'll like this book. But if you want a good story, with substance, read "Graceling".

posted by SavyLeArtist on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 684 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Spiderwick Fan

    I love Holly Black for her "Spiderwick Chronicals." So when I picked up Tithe, I thought, "Cool! Holly Black, faries, teenager's level, it can't get any better!" But I had to put the book down and give it away within the first ten pages. I can understand that for some adult writters to write for teenagers today, but it feels like Holly Black is trying way to hard. It also felt like Black was trying to use every curse word in her memory banks within the first chapter. Does she think all teens are over sexed, bad mouthed hoolagins?

    If your looking for 'edge', maybe you'll like this book. But if you want a good story, with substance, read "Graceling".

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastical

    I love this book. This book is the best Faerie book I have ever read. It has great characters, plots, etc. Very edgy and dark. Excellently written. If you are not a person to enjoy a book with drug use, sex, graphic description, and or plain dark novels/series, then dont read it.<BR/>Other than that, its an awsome read. No doubt about it.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    I would give this less stars if I could

    I was overwhelmed with the amount of high ratings given to this book. How in the world do so many people like tithe! I admit that it has been some time since I last read it, but a single fact still remains: this was a rather poorly written story. I was barely able to get through it, and only my stubbornness to always finish a book allowed me to finish. There were so many things I felt were wrong. Let's start with one of my biggest peeves: Corny Stone. Ignoring his name for fear of laughter, Corny is the main character's (Kaye) best friend's brother. To say it bluntly, he is the token gay in the story. Heavens know that I have no problem with this, I mean, I would be hard-pressed to have a problem. However, what the author does with said character is demeaning. Corny is used so cruely and without care. I was really upset by how Black used Corny being gay to do whatever the hell she wanted. And though highly amused by the shounen-ai and manga references, they were superflous and a faulty attempt of connecting to the audience. Next, let's examine the plot, or lack there of. I understand how Black wanted to tie in 'fantasy' with 'real life situations' but it does not, and cannot, work because neither exists. Her fantasy is vague and hastily written, without any real cause for it being there in most cases. (That merry-go-round horse, though a great idea, was silly to have been included. Why it was there in that warehouse still a mystery to me. Why it was needed for the plot, I dare not explore.) Then, her real life is ridiculously overworked and extreme. From neglected teens to raves (I am still feeling the horror of her description of what I treasure so) to misconduct of reckless, annoying teenagers. Such actions were together a complete and utter misrepresentation of what a teenager is. Sidetracked as this paragraph may seem, this is all that is left after the absent plot is removed. It was simply not rememberable. And breaching off from that: the sheer YA-ness of this book was what kept me from at least accepting this book as a novel. There was little original with this story, characters and descriptions. It was dry. Okay, the guy was really hot. Okay, okay. The girl can be pitied. And, yeah, we got the token gay. But there was nothing else. I was personally disgusted by how little Faye cared about her friend's end. Oh, she cried! But there was nothing at all beyond that. Then, there was no attention given to breaking past the expectations of a young adult story. The ending was so bland I was laughing at its lack of anything and everything. Ugh. I cannot stand to remember how dull it was. I understand that this is the Holly Black's first novel. But I know that there are plenty of first-timers that write beautiful stories that are actually worth your time. I only suggest this book to mindless, teenaged girls that are so silly as to ignore the actual content and only see the 'OMG! Roiben's soooooo h0t! LOL!!!' part of the story. I think the most interesting thing to happen to this book was Conry 'I actually really did like him' and perhaps that reference to Star Trek's infamous couple.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful story

    It's amazing what you can find in the young adult section of your favorite book store. Normally I try to avoid this section. I find the books unsatisfying and the characters dripping with morals and ethics that are usually to adult based. For many young adult fiction writers, their characters seem to be wallowing in the 50's ideology and naivety. I know it's been a while since I was in high school, but I seriously doubt the Cleavers or the Brady's took over while I was gone. Hell yes teenagers smoke, drink, party, steal, skip or dropout of school, some are gay, some do drugs, and many even have sex. Why try to portray it differently, no matter what fantasy is playing out in a novel. Thus what I enjoyed most about Tithe was it's characters believable personalities.

    Tithe is a beautifully crafted tale of 16 year old Kaye who has had a difficult life with nomad rocker mom Ellen. Kaye has always been a bit different, from the strange things that happen around her, to her ability to see and converse with faeries. Forced to move back into her hometown, Kaye reunites with her old friends both human and faerie, stumbles across Roiben, the handsome and mysterious Unseelie Knight, and discovers a secret that reveals her true nature. Now Kaye will need all the strength and clever wit she posses if she wishes to save her friends and herself.

    I must say that Tithe is a beautifully dark, wondrous story that will captivate readers of any age. My only complaint being that the book is to short! I didn't want to leave the world of the faeries, and I am looking forward to reading Holly Black's next two books in the series. Tithe is a story to be put in the must read pile.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good One to Read in Between Series

    Okay I became interested in this series because someone told me that a few of the characters were in Cassandra Clare's books The Mortal Instruments (I absolutely loved them and cannot wait for more!!). As I began reading I was shocked at how morbid this book was. I know it's referred to as a modern day story but as a mother I wonder if it is a little too negative for my early teen daughter. Kaye is a high school drop out, smokes, hangs out with teens that are getting drunk in abandoned buildings and having sex (only implied). I know this is really common amongst youth today but I hope that there are several young women out there that are not giving in. Overall I liked the writing and the storyline. I hope I get to know more about the characters and their storylines continue!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Darker World of Fairy

    Sixteen-year-old Kaye has seen fairies all her life, what she doesn't know is that she is not actually human. Tough, a bit uncouth and not interested in following the rules, Kaye has never really been part of anything. But now she finds herself embroiled in the battle between the Seelie and Unseelie courts. Kaye is an interesting character, but very different from many "fairytale" heroines; she's no one's princess. The characters both fey and human are well developed and interesting. Black's world is gritty, dark and at times over developed, but it works for the story. This is no light-hearted fairytale; some hefty issues are discussed and dealt with in this novel. Recommended for readers who enjoy their fantasy with a dose of darkness.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    I really liked this book. Yes, it has drugs and curses but all i

    I really liked this book. Yes, it has drugs and curses but all in all the story line was good, if a bit confusing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have a special place in my heart for this book. If I remember

    I have a special place in my heart for this book. If I remember correctly, this book initiated my long-lasting love affair with urban fantasy. I almost certain that this was the first book I had ever read in the genre. I remember seeing and being interested in the cover (the original one, with the butterfly) in the young adult section of the bookstore before, but I didn&rsquo;t end up buying it at the time. Shortly thereafter, I noticed one of my best friends reading the book, and she recommended I read it the very instant she was done. I&rsquo;m glad I did.

    This novel is a gritty, dark look into the world of faeries in a modern, urban setting. Kaye is not what you would call the traditional teen protagonist, but it is somewhat refreshing to show a heroine with a dark past. I also really liked the characters of Roiben (the conflicted love interest) and Corny (Kaye&rsquo;s friend&rsquo;s gay brother with whom she develops a special relationship). I enjoy Holly Black&rsquo;s style and I think that she is a fantastic world-builder. There are a couple plot gaps and some lacking character development, but it didn&rsquo;t detract from the book for me.

    If you are someone that expects a cookie-cutter protagonist and happy endings, then no, I wouldn&rsquo;t recommend this book to you. However, if you like urban fantasy (or think you might like it), like a good, dark tale, and want an easy, enjoyable read, then I definitely recommend you check it out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    What on Earth!

    Seriously, the language was horrible. What parent wants their teen to read such a book. I love the faries and all but the f-bomb I could live without.Allowing teens to read about drugs and such language is saying its ok to speak it!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    bad book

    I really really didn¿t like this book it was too slow and too weird even for me and I like weird books. I do not recommend this book for anyone. If you like books that make no sense and have stupid love stories (I like love stories but this one was not realistic) then you will like this book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My go to book

    I am in love with tales of the fey, and this has got to be my all time favorite. Holly Black's urban fairy tale is exquisite. The grungy view of life is perfect coupled with the beautiful darkness of the Unseelie court. Roiben is the perfect, beautiful dark faerie and I can easily imagine myself as Kaye. I have reread this book so many times it is falling apart. The characters are all beautiful in their own messed up ways. This book takes me to the Unseelie court, and immerses me in the dark and delectable, horrifying world, which parallels with our own beautifully. I highly recommend this series whether you are 14 or 35. If you love faeries, you'll love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Not even worth the free chapter

    This author left a good review on another series I was reading (Beautiful Creatures) and I though I'd see what she writes. Sadly, the free chapter was such a disappointment. I'm very glad I read that before bothering to purchase the book. The author went straight for shock factor by incorporating swearing and drugs within the first page. I tried to keep reading after that, but the story wasn't even worth bothering with.

    Shock factor does not equal quality writing or a good story. All this book has is shock and not a thing else. If you want a good book try the Soul Screamers series by Rachel Vincent or the Beautiful Creatures series. Both series' are actually worth the paper they are printed on.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not your typical Faerie. Good read.

    Curiousity got the better of me, and I decided to give this book a try. It was not what I had expected. I had heard mixed reviews about this book, and decided to try it out for myself. If you're looking for the classic faerie type book, all skipping and flowers and la la la . . . this is not the book for you. If you're looking for a dark, teen angst, raw novel then voila. I enjoyed reading this book. I liked how there was swearing and drinking and drugs because it made the characters seem more real. You may not relate to them, but you could build a better picture of what was going on in the story. Black's writing style is honest. No sugar coating, or dancing around, she wrote passionately. I loved how she described the world of the Fae. The oddity of the people in the court, and how she incorporated folklore about faeiries. And of course I liked Roiben. Edgy, sexy Roiben. I did swoon over him. I couldn't resist him! This may not be a book for everybody, but you should definitely give it a try. It may open your eyes to whole different of genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poorly Written and Rushed

    I heard amazing things about Tithe so I decided to begin reading it. Throughout the whole novel I was confused and had to re-read some pages over just to know what was going on. There are no transitions, it'll just jump from one thing to another without giving any detail. It was rushed, and partly the only reason I kept reading it was because of Kaye and Roiben. Maybe it was just me, but I was honestly confused as to what was going on with the Unseelie and Seelie courts. The overall story is good, but the way it was written lacked detail and excitement.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Too much swearing for my taste

    I liked the story, but feel that it could do without the swearing! Wish I would have read this before ordering the next two books in the series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    no enchantment on this reader

    I was excited to read this book, the summary seemed right up my alley of interests and it is written by Holly Black. So needless to say I was expecting greatness. What I got was disappointment, this book lacks magik. I read it with a friend, and if it hadn't been for that I would have layed the book down early on. So with that said let me tell ya - Tithe lacked the magik other books have that pull you into the world. I didn't feel any connection for any of the characters, and they in turn lacked empathy. A Little past the middle of the book the story-line picked up with action which helped move it along since it was a chore to pick it up and read at this point. Thankfully it went at a faster pace then and I was able to finish finally. Ms. Black did me a favor by ending this book wrapped up. I have no reason nor desire to read another in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Although i am not a teen I love to read fantasy that is less sexual.. as alot of our adult books are... I love the series read it all and loved it passed it to my sister and friends.. anyone who wants a good fairy tell it is here:)<BR/><BR/>I have listed some other series I have read...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    AWESOME A MUST READ

    There are two bad parts but other wise this was a awesome book I mean I thought faires were all light bright and sparkley but not in this book more like dark darker and spooker. All in all a wonderful book I also recomend Doll Bones by Holly Black also its spooky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    I hate faery books

    Really the plots are all the same. A girl has seen the fae all her life and now she has to sacrifice herself to save her little brother or frind or to stop a faery war because she is fae too. In this e they just swore more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Looks good

    Is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 684 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35