Customer Reviews for

Tithe (Modern Tale of Faerie Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 686 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(432)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fantastical

I love this book. This book is the best Faerie book I have ever read. It has great characters, plots, etc. Very edgy and dark. Excellently written. If you are not a person to enjoy a book with drug use, sex, graphic description, and or plain dark novels/series, then don...
I love this book. This book is the best Faerie book I have ever read. It has great characters, plots, etc. Very edgy and dark. Excellently written. If you are not a person to enjoy a book with drug use, sex, graphic description, and or plain dark novels/series, then dont read it.
Other than that, its an awsome read. No doubt about it.

posted by Fantasy_Queen on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A Spiderwick Fan

I love Holly Black for her "Spiderwick Chronicals." So when I picked up Tithe, I thought, "Cool! Holly Black, faries, teenager's level, it can't get any better!" But I had to put the book down and give it away within the first ten pages. I can understand that for so...
I love Holly Black for her "Spiderwick Chronicals." So when I picked up Tithe, I thought, "Cool! Holly Black, faries, teenager's level, it can't get any better!" But I had to put the book down and give it away within the first ten pages. I can understand that for some adult writters to write for teenagers today, but it feels like Holly Black is trying way to hard. It also felt like Black was trying to use every curse word in her memory banks within the first chapter. Does she think all teens are over sexed, bad mouthed hoolagins?

If your looking for 'edge', maybe you'll like this book. But if you want a good story, with substance, read "Graceling".

posted by SavyLeArtist on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good One to Read in Between Series

    Okay I became interested in this series because someone told me that a few of the characters were in Cassandra Clare's books The Mortal Instruments (I absolutely loved them and cannot wait for more!!). As I began reading I was shocked at how morbid this book was. I know it's referred to as a modern day story but as a mother I wonder if it is a little too negative for my early teen daughter. Kaye is a high school drop out, smokes, hangs out with teens that are getting drunk in abandoned buildings and having sex (only implied). I know this is really common amongst youth today but I hope that there are several young women out there that are not giving in. Overall I liked the writing and the storyline. I hope I get to know more about the characters and their storylines continue!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Darker World of Fairy

    Sixteen-year-old Kaye has seen fairies all her life, what she doesn't know is that she is not actually human. Tough, a bit uncouth and not interested in following the rules, Kaye has never really been part of anything. But now she finds herself embroiled in the battle between the Seelie and Unseelie courts. Kaye is an interesting character, but very different from many "fairytale" heroines; she's no one's princess. The characters both fey and human are well developed and interesting. Black's world is gritty, dark and at times over developed, but it works for the story. This is no light-hearted fairytale; some hefty issues are discussed and dealt with in this novel. Recommended for readers who enjoy their fantasy with a dose of darkness.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have a special place in my heart for this book. If I remember

    I have a special place in my heart for this book. If I remember correctly, this book initiated my long-lasting love affair with urban fantasy. I almost certain that this was the first book I had ever read in the genre. I remember seeing and being interested in the cover (the original one, with the butterfly) in the young adult section of the bookstore before, but I didn’t end up buying it at the time. Shortly thereafter, I noticed one of my best friends reading the book, and she recommended I read it the very instant she was done. I’m glad I did.

    This novel is a gritty, dark look into the world of faeries in a modern, urban setting. Kaye is not what you would call the traditional teen protagonist, but it is somewhat refreshing to show a heroine with a dark past. I also really liked the characters of Roiben (the conflicted love interest) and Corny (Kaye’s friend’s gay brother with whom she develops a special relationship). I enjoy Holly Black’s style and I think that she is a fantastic world-builder. There are a couple plot gaps and some lacking character development, but it didn’t detract from the book for me.

    If you are someone that expects a cookie-cutter protagonist and happy endings, then no, I wouldn’t recommend this book to you. However, if you like urban fantasy (or think you might like it), like a good, dark tale, and want an easy, enjoyable read, then I definitely recommend you check it out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not your typical Faerie. Good read.

    Curiousity got the better of me, and I decided to give this book a try. It was not what I had expected. I had heard mixed reviews about this book, and decided to try it out for myself. If you're looking for the classic faerie type book, all skipping and flowers and la la la . . . this is not the book for you. If you're looking for a dark, teen angst, raw novel then voila. I enjoyed reading this book. I liked how there was swearing and drinking and drugs because it made the characters seem more real. You may not relate to them, but you could build a better picture of what was going on in the story. Black's writing style is honest. No sugar coating, or dancing around, she wrote passionately. I loved how she described the world of the Fae. The oddity of the people in the court, and how she incorporated folklore about faeiries. And of course I liked Roiben. Edgy, sexy Roiben. I did swoon over him. I couldn't resist him! This may not be a book for everybody, but you should definitely give it a try. It may open your eyes to whole different of genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved this book and I can't wait to read the rest of them. This book is just enough strange for the most normal person and the most not so normal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Brought me back to my days of pretending i was a fairy whilst looking for mushroom rings... Aah the good old days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    A dark twist on fairies

    This book takes unexpected twists and turns. It gives the reader a totally different view of fairies. It is a short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Solid Fun

    I'm a Cassandra Clare fan and, having run out of Mortal Instruments books for the time being, decided to give Holly Black a try. Tithe was a good deal of fun in a richly detailed world, but I would have liked more depth in the characters. Having said that, it was compulsively readable and I did find myself picking up the other two books in the series and hoping that there will eventually be another book after Ironside - more Roiben please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tithe review

    This novel was so good. I enjoyed it so much. I couldn't put it down. The story was great and the characters were realistic. It's one that I would read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good

    the plot in this book is very strong and defined, but the characters are not. it seems as though Holly Black spent more time developing her plot than her characters. she should have developed her characters more, it would have helped the overall story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SUPER GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I got this bookand read it in 2 days. It's fast-paced, fun, and romantic. I LOVE it!!! It's one of my fav book ever and thats saying something because my room has been taken over by books. some parts are a little adult so be warned. athough it swears it has great pot and never slows down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Move Over Spiderwick...

    Holly Black, co-author of the Spiderwick Chronicles, brings us the story of Kaye, a sixteen year-old girl who can see faeries. From the back cover:

    Welcome to the realm of very scary faeries! Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad/ Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother's rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms -a struggle that could very well mean her death.

    This book was an interesting one for me. I won this book from a giveaway at Reading Rocks. I loved the cover and the description of the book. First thing I noticed when I started the book was how VERY large the font was. My husband joked that he could read it from across the room in his lazy-boy. It is definitely a very dark book. I had to read several passages a few times because I was confused. The book is written in third person omniscient and so it switches back and forth between Kaye, the main character, Roiben, a Faerie Knight, and Corny, Kaye's best friend's brother. By the way, Corny? What kind of name is Corny? Although it fit his character quite well.

    I wouldn't say this was my favorite book I read this far by any means, however, I found it interesting. The storyline was unique and as one reviewer put it, "Deliciously dark". Although I found it a wee bit confusing in parts, I wanted to read on. The storyline really grabs you in. It's a little bit romance, in a dark twisted way, a little bit mystery, and a big bit fantasy. Also, if you are sensitive to language or themes listed below I would avoid this book.

    Tithe is book one of Holly Black's Modern Faerie Tales. Book two, Valiant, is now out.

    The back of the book says ages 14 and up.that is if you don't mind the prolific use of the 'F' word, teenage misconduct, and sexual themes!


    Please come and visit me at my blog, Between the Lines, at www.jennifermorrill.wordpress.com. I'd love to hear from you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Interesting...

    Holly Black has been an unforgettable author for me ever since I picked up this book. I look for her name in any book or anthology I find and if it's there, defidently read the book. Tithe was a dark, enchanting story about a modern teen who discovers the world of faeries and that she is apart of that world.
    I would recommend this book to anyone that thinks they can handle the world of faeries... Trust me, this book is life-changing to any teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    It was pretty good.

    My best friend gave me this book for my birthday, and, of course, I read it! It started out great, got a little slower, but still kept my attention. The way that Holly Black introduces the lives of teenagers isn't exactly accurate, but I enjoyed the dark truth to the world that she filled the book with. I was upset when it ended, but knew that there was Valiant to be read next, along with Ironside. I have to admit, most readers of the books are more into how fantastic the characters seem to be, or how hot someone is. The truth is, this is a dark fantasy with romance, a lot of cursing, and pitiable characters, but it's still very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    The Faerie Realm

    I believe that it is utterly impossible to write a book including faeries and other mythical creatures that everyone likes. This book is no different. Everybody has their own ideas and thoughts about how they should be written. Personally, this book is one of my favorites. I thought that the characters were well written and though Holly Black may have seemed cruel to Corny, honestly, try to imagine how much would have to be changed if he didn't go through what he did. Others may think that there are way too many curses and smoking references, but welcome to the world of the teenager. Without those references and thoughts, then you would just be making this world seem like the faery tale it isn't. This book is for teens after all, that's kind of why it's allowed to make those references. So depending on your point of view, you may or may not like this book. I know many people have been disappointed, but personally, I loved it. You have to really at least try to appreciate the story, or it's just a lost cause.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Loved it! Most authors won't write something with this much controversy in it. Corny's gay, the mom let her daughter drop out, doesn't care that she smokes or drinks or stays out to all hours of the night, and Kaye's friends aren't that much better. Yeah there was a lot of cursing but that's the diction of the ghettos of New Jersey. and i loved the comparison to John Milton's Paradise Lost. It's not exactly a good conquering evil because there is no clear lines of where good ends and evil begins. Silarial puts Kaye's life in danger so that she can take over the Unseelie court as well as the Seelie, Roiben stops her, which ends up killing Nicnevin and Nephamael in the process. Who knows what Roiben will do with his new power?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Great!

    I really liked Tithe, it was a refreshing take on faries and farie tales. The characters were described well and the plot was not boring or lagging in details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    The idea of Tithe is excellent. The execution varies from mediocre to quite good. It does include dark and mature content, so stay away from it if you can't handle swearing, drinking, smoking, death, or the like. If you can handle that sort of thing and enjoy modern, urban fairy tales, the book is well worth the read. The writing is sometimes not the best it could be - many of the emotional sections feel detached, and some plot elements seem rather unnecessary. Despite this, it is a fascinating book that blends real life and fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    A Good Read

    I thought the book was interesting and would be great to anyone who likes to be able to picture what you're reading as you read it. I have to tell people first though before they read the book the characters are a bit sketchy. The romance in the story does set the mood for a lot of the book which was fine with me but might bug others so be warned. When I say this book is dark fantasy I mean DARK fantasy. What I really enjoyed most was Holly Black's take on the land of faerie and fearies in general. So if you're up to it I definately suggest reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale

    I can tell you right now that i loved this book and was tottally amazed at the writing style. This was a highly readable book, but i was astonished at all of the cursing and foul language. I will give this a 4 but come on Holly Black, and let us hope that the next book (that i am going to read) is not as wordey as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7