Customer Reviews for

To Beguile a Beast (Legend of the Four Soldiers Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

To Beguile A Beast is a delightful, romantic read!

Synopsis:

Beautiful Helen Fitzwilliam escapes London with her two young children and heads to Lord Alistair Munroe's castle in Scotland. Armed with a letter from Lady Vale but knowing little about Alistair, Helen Fitzwilliam arrives in the middle of night and introdu...
Synopsis:

Beautiful Helen Fitzwilliam escapes London with her two young children and heads to Lord Alistair Munroe's castle in Scotland. Armed with a letter from Lady Vale but knowing little about Alistair, Helen Fitzwilliam arrives in the middle of night and introduces herself as the new housekeeper. From the start, Helen wonders whether she's made the right decision. The castle is filthy, neglected, and without servants. Alistair is gruff, irritable and horribly scarred, but this may be the safest place for them to hide, so Helen sets about learning to keep house and make herself indispensable. Though Alistair seems scarred and irritable, she starts to notice his patience, kindness, and tall lean body.

Reclusive Alistair Munroe is puzzled by Helen Fitzwilliam and her children. Helen is too beautiful and well dressed to be a housekeeper, though she might be a member of the ton on a dare. Her horror at his scars convinced him that she hadn't known about him or his history. He had gotten used to avoiding human contact and wasn't looking forward to having to see the horrified looks of these newcomers. When he inadvertently learns that Helen is hiding from someone, he takes sympathy and welcomes them to his home.

Meanwhile, Helen's lover is determined to find her and teach her never to run from him again.

Review:

I thoroughly enjoyed To Beguile A Beast. It's a light romantic read with just the right mix of suspense, romance, and humor. I liked Helen and her children. The children and their interaction with Alistair Munroe added another dimension to the story.

If you're looking for a historical romance and a quick read, I recommend giving Elizabeth Hoyt's To Beguile A Beast a read.

Publisher: Forever (May 1, 2009), 368 pages.
Courtesy of the publisher.

posted by gl on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Missed the mark

Wish I had listened to one reviewer who said it wasn't worth it. This could have been a great book but it seemed that the author was trying to meet a deadline. The female love interest fell into bed with the "beast" so soon. I mean, there wasn't enough buildup. Not en...
Wish I had listened to one reviewer who said it wasn't worth it. This could have been a great book but it seemed that the author was trying to meet a deadline. The female love interest fell into bed with the "beast" so soon. I mean, there wasn't enough buildup. Not enough conflict leading up to the love scene. I finished it just to make sure I wouldn't misjudge it but it was just very lightweight "fluff".

posted by Sherkeekie on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    To Beguile A Beast is a delightful, romantic read!

    Synopsis:

    Beautiful Helen Fitzwilliam escapes London with her two young children and heads to Lord Alistair Munroe's castle in Scotland. Armed with a letter from Lady Vale but knowing little about Alistair, Helen Fitzwilliam arrives in the middle of night and introduces herself as the new housekeeper. From the start, Helen wonders whether she's made the right decision. The castle is filthy, neglected, and without servants. Alistair is gruff, irritable and horribly scarred, but this may be the safest place for them to hide, so Helen sets about learning to keep house and make herself indispensable. Though Alistair seems scarred and irritable, she starts to notice his patience, kindness, and tall lean body.

    Reclusive Alistair Munroe is puzzled by Helen Fitzwilliam and her children. Helen is too beautiful and well dressed to be a housekeeper, though she might be a member of the ton on a dare. Her horror at his scars convinced him that she hadn't known about him or his history. He had gotten used to avoiding human contact and wasn't looking forward to having to see the horrified looks of these newcomers. When he inadvertently learns that Helen is hiding from someone, he takes sympathy and welcomes them to his home.

    Meanwhile, Helen's lover is determined to find her and teach her never to run from him again.

    Review:

    I thoroughly enjoyed To Beguile A Beast. It's a light romantic read with just the right mix of suspense, romance, and humor. I liked Helen and her children. The children and their interaction with Alistair Munroe added another dimension to the story.

    If you're looking for a historical romance and a quick read, I recommend giving Elizabeth Hoyt's To Beguile A Beast a read.

    Publisher: Forever (May 1, 2009), 368 pages.
    Courtesy of the publisher.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Question

    I didnt understand the part about mr wiggins with abagail, can anyone clarify what he was doing to the horse when she saw him? Thaanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed!

    It was heartwarming and fun. I laughed out loud and teared up, too.bb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Held my interest.

    Good book, held my interest, my kind of book, a good story plus hot and steamy! My first by this author definitely not my last. I normally don't read books with children involved but her two were precious and made the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Love story

    I love stories of the this time period and Hoyt does a fantastic job building a plot of a mistress of a duke into a love story with a man who has had a tragic life. She clearly demonstrates to the reader that love can see beyond the tragedies of a man who has lost all hope of love. Well written, and sexy to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I admit it, I was beguiled

    Ok, this book cinched it. I am a fan of Ms. Hoyt. This is at least the second series I've read by her and while this series started off with a whimper for me (I did not care for To Taste Temptation, the first book in the series), this installment more than made up for it.

    The characters were wonderful and flawed. They made mistakes and somehow i wound up liking them more for those mistakes. Watching the characters grow and change and become better people because of their influence on each other was probably what I enjoyed most. Experiencing the story from not only Allister and Helen's perspective but also from little Abigail's perspective was really a nice touch. I'll admit when she started telling the story from Abigail's perspective I thought I would get annoyed, but it only added the the tender heart of the story.

    In this series of books almost each chapter starts with the ongoing fairy tale of one of the four soldiers. I have to say I enjoyed the fairy tale very very much. Sure some aspects of it were predictable, but hey it's a fairy tale, some facets of fairy tales should never change.

    The only thing missing from this book was really delving more into the myster of the Spinner Fall's Massacre, but there are tidbits there that lead to the next book, which looks more than promising. That beind said, I honestly cannot think of one thing about this book that I did not like.

    Stats:
    Genre: Historical Romance
    Nook Pages: 236 actual story (there's 10 pages at the end of the books that has a preview)
    Steam Factor: Sensual

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pleasantly Surprised

    Okay the third book didn't look as promising as it ended up turning out! I loved the main guy Sir Alastair and I didn't mind the children at all. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The compelling characters in this third book of the legend are Sir Alistair Munroe, severely scarred survivor of the Spinner's Falls Massacre and knighted naturalist and his feisty sister who appears briefly, but vividly.

    Melisande Fleming, Lady Vale [To Seduce a Sinner] has sent the lonely beauty, Helen Fitzwilliam, with children Abigail and Jamie to Scotland. Helen is fleeing the possessive, cold Lord Lister whose neglected mistress she has been for years and whose children are his. In desperation and fear, she bullies herself as housekeeper into Alistair Munroe's filthy castle and into his lonely heart (The parallel story in this book is about Soldier #3, The Truth Teller, and an enchanted princess). The children take to the Scottish woods and the awkward Alistair, as does Helen. But an informant tells Lord Lister about their whereabouts, and he kidnaps the children back to London. To rescue them, Sir Alistair must overcome the stares and whispers that have led to his years of seclusion. He also has a lead about the traitorous British nobleman whose information caused the massacre, but he literally misses the boat of the man who was to give him the name. Nevertheless Alistair is able to get the children back with the help of the Vales and some adroit blackmail. He arranges reconciliation between Helen and her father, and marries Helen.
    P. S. Beatrice Corning, niece of the new Earl of Blanchard - the would-be earl, charismatic Reynaud St. Aubyn was crucified in the massacre - is fascinated with his portrait (a taste of the final book?).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of her best

    Lucky for me,I discovered Elizabeth Hoyt shortly after her first book was published and was delighted to find her. The early Georgian isn't my favorite period but her style is so beguiling that I couldn't put the first book down until I finished it. I have read every one of her books since that time and this one is easily as wonderful as the first. Beauty and the Beast is one of my all time favorite themes and I definitely will put this on my keeper shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3