Customer Reviews for

To Catch a Bad Guy (Book One of the Janet Maple Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Looking forward to more of this series!

Really fun mystery/almosst romance. No sex, no foul language, fun leading characters and dialogue, with just the right amount of intrigue. Really hoping that Book Two (Catching the Bad Guys) measures up. Pagent99

posted by 8196838 on November 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Painful to read.

All the people giving this book high reviews must have very low expectations. The characters are shallow, the dialogue sounds like it was written by a tenth grader and the pacing is slow. Not to mention that it really needs an editor. Best thing I can say is that the sp...
All the people giving this book high reviews must have very low expectations. The characters are shallow, the dialogue sounds like it was written by a tenth grader and the pacing is slow. Not to mention that it really needs an editor. Best thing I can say is that the spelling and punctuation are good.

posted by 8979271 on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Looking forward to more of this series!

    Really fun mystery/almosst romance. No sex, no foul language, fun leading characters and dialogue, with just the right amount of intrigue. Really hoping that Book Two (Catching the Bad Guys) measures up. Pagent99

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There is more to this book than a cute cover. It has a great st


    There is more to this book than a cute cover. It has a great story line, interesting characters, some romance, and a lot of suspense.
    In To Catch a Bad Guy we meet Janet, Dennis, and the Bostoff’s. We are immersed into the world of white collar crime and get to experience it from all sides with shifting character points of views.
    There is a great deal of suspense and personal conflict. You get pulled into the action and you find yourself empathizing with even the criminals in this book.
    At the end of the book I was left wanting to know more about how Janet was going to proceed in her life, if Dennis was going to be a part of it, and how the Bostoff’s would handle their future. Which is exactly how your supposed to feel at the end of the first book in the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    ok

    It was an ok book. I dont see how people think it is horrible.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Anon

    Enjoyable, fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Good

    Gjbdbbjfby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    cute story!

    I liked this story - it was well-written with characters that I wanted to read and felt like they deserved each other. Good resolution!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    excellent read!

    Fun book with many twists and turns; however it is easy to keep up with the plot. Was so interesting, I purchase the next two in the series. All are full length novels and not the usual 200-250 pages books that are usually on the inexpensive book lists. The characters are not perfect as well as sometimes down right unlikeable including the main characters, it is not a simple "good vs bad guys" novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    The bool

    An amazing book never read i boolike this before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Nice little mystery

    Good read, had me wondering what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Great beginning to a new series!! I freaking love Janet Maple. M

    Great beginning to a new series!! I freaking love Janet Maple. Marie has a way of pulling you in from page one and I find it hard to put it down until I read the entire thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Enjoyable Read!

    I enjoyed this book very much. Enough mystery/romance and fun characters.
    I will read another one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Pretty cute, clean crime book

    Overall I liked this book-clean, cute characters, nice plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Liked it.

    It was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Angel

    I think So far the book is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Great rainy day read

    Easy, light and something different; not all romantic, but flirty enough to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read on September 03, 2013 Book Info  Kindle Editi







    Read on September 03, 2013




    Book Info 




    Kindle Edition, 307 pages
    Published August 10th 2012
    ASIN B008W1L5IA
    edition language English
    series Janet Maple #1
    Source:Kindle copy from author in exchange for honest review








    Book Buy Links 




    AMAZON 




    B&N 




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    Janet Maple's stellar career ended with a lay off and her boyfriend of five years told her that he wants to be just friends. When she lands a job at one of New York’s premier boutique investment firms, Janet begins to hope that her luck is finally turning for the better. Not only is she happy with her new paycheck, but things also seem to be looking up on the personal front, as the company’s handsome attorney expresses keen interest in Janet. However, her euphoria is short-lived, as Janet soon discovers alarming facts about her new employer’s business tactics. When her boss dismisses her suspicions as groundless, Janet finds herself confiding to a cute IT engineer, Dean Snider. The closer she gets to Dean, the more Janet is tempted to break her rule of not dating co-workers, but what she doesn’t realize is that everything she knows about Dean, including his occupation and even his name, is a lie.




    Dennis Walker is a top-notch white collar crime investigator who will stop at nothing to put culprits away. When an opportunity for an undercover assignment at one of New York’s premier boutique broker dealers comes up, Dennis jumps at the chance, adopting a persona of geeky IT engineer, Dean Snider. While he may be an ace at his job, years of experience fail him when Dennis meets Janet Maple and finds himself torn between his professional obligations and his personal desires. Will he have to choose between his feelings and duty, or will he find a way to satisfy both?




    My Thoughts








    Very first thought is that Janet Maple is quite naive for a 29 year old who graduated from Columbia Law and has spent past 4 years working in investigative office of the DA, however she is also intelligent and quick witted if only she would learn to trust her instincts more!




    Dennis Walker is a ladies man, no doubt about it, but he is also a very dedicated investigator whose no-holds barred style of using whatever means necessary to prove his case does not seem to be working for him when he finds himself attracted to Janet and starts to fully understand just what it will mean for her and the other innocent workers whom the results of his investigation will cause them to at most lose their jobs and in some cases may even lead to being arrested as accessories.




    I found myself shaking my head a lot when reading this story, sometimes in disbelief at the manipulations that Janet allowed her long time friend Lisa to get away with, sometimes in sheer awe at the audacity displayed by Dennis Walker and more than once a bit aggravated with Janet when she allowed herself to ignore what was as plain as the nose on her face!




    Filled with flawed characters whose good intentions somehow manage to overshadow the dastardly means they use to achieve their goals this is neither a shallow or deep reading experience but rather one that allows you to use your own judgement in deciding whether or not the end justifies the means. 




    As someone who enjoys romantic suspense mixed with a dose of mystery and conspiracy this book fit the bill, the only real fly in the ointment was the romance was basically a "teaser" instead of a full blown relationship but I have every hope that will be rectified further on in the series.




    Some of my favorite scenes were of course the smallest segments of the book that showcased Janet's Jack Russell Terrier Baxter, his energetic antics pretty much stole the show and my heart every time he was interacted with!




    [Kindle copy from author in exchange for honest review]

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Truly Entertaining

    I completely enjoyed reading this book. Janet and Dennis are an excellent example of "opposites attract". She is thorough and does things by the book. He is a "do what ever it takes" kind of guy. Together they can accomplish it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Janet Maple is an interesting intelligent character in Marie Ast

    Janet Maple is an interesting intelligent character in Marie Astor’s novel. This is the fist in a series so it is setting up a lot of ground work and the reader is going to feel it. There are a lot of flash backs that slow the pace of a otherwise fast and engaging novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2