BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

To Catch a Bad Guy (Book One of the Janet Maple Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Looking forward to more of this series!

Really fun mystery/almosst romance. No sex, no foul language, fun leading characters and dialogue, with just the right amount of intrigue. Really hoping that Book Two (Catching the Bad Guys) measures up. Pagent99

posted by 8196838 on November 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Painful to read.

All the people giving this book high reviews must have very low expectations. The characters are shallow, the dialogue sounds like it was written by a tenth grader and the pacing is slow. Not to mention that it really needs an editor. Best thing I can say is that the sp...
All the people giving this book high reviews must have very low expectations. The characters are shallow, the dialogue sounds like it was written by a tenth grader and the pacing is slow. Not to mention that it really needs an editor. Best thing I can say is that the spelling and punctuation are good.

posted by 8979271 on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    To Catch a Bad Guy by Marie Astor is the first book in the Janet

    To Catch a Bad Guy by Marie Astor is the first book in the Janet Maple Series. This story gives you a little bit of everything love, friendship and a white collar crime. Janet has lost her boyfriend and her job. Lucky for her long time friend has offered her job. Janet ready to restart her life. The story keeps you captive through out! I loved Janet's strong character and felt for her when she had tough decisions she had to make. Janet is overall enjoyable character.

    Marie Astor decided keep the story more interesting by having the story told by the different characters in the book! Overall this keeps a good flow to story.

    The best part of the story was watching the interaction between Janet and Dennis. Throughout the book you wonder will they or won't they get together. The ending surprises you and makes you want to come back for book two Catching the Bad Guy.


    The storyline was well written and kept my interest all the way to the end. I would high recommend this book.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great nook book

    Really great story. 562 pages long. Love the cover. Thanks to the author for the free nook book.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This story was so good I couldn't put it down. It had a lot of d

    This story was so good I couldn't put it down. It had a lot of different point of views, not just a few main characters. Suspense, ended relationships, controlling match-maker friend, and romance!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Will purchase the next in the.series

    I got this one for free and it was a quick easy read but I really enjoyed it. I will be purchaing the second and third.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Rheaganjackson400

    I love the book i love too much i will buy the real book.i hope u like it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Josette

    Love it when an auther doesn't corrupt their storoes with bad language and full of sex. If it is a good story then you don' t have to use language and sex to make it a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Anonymous

    So far, this is one of my favorite books. I love the characters, the writing, and the plot. I especially love how Janet has a jack russel terrier, Baxter, because I have a little dog like that too, which raises my opinion of Janet considerably higher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    a must read

    loved this book very funny and hilarious

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Loved this book!

    IThis nook is a mystery, love story and keeps you turning the psges. I got this book free and liked the book so well i bought the other two books of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Perfect

    The corruption the greed the lies the scandles the love the banter....its all amazingly written here in this book. A must read that keeps you wanting more.... READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    Great!

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Good!

    Good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Excelent read

    I think the book wad good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Nice

    Nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Good book

    As a 9-year-old boy i tend to like to challenge my brain and this book fells to challeng me but the book it self is very good it show a great theme and as soon as i read it ill tell you wha the theme isha ha ha ha ha

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    A Must Read!

    Very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    I enjoyed reading this book. Liked the characters and the plot.

    I enjoyed reading this book. Liked the characters and the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Interesting...

    OK this book started out with lots of details and as it got to the end it gave little to nothing about how it all ended they never spoke of Lisa abs what happen with her engagement...or how she felt about her friend not telling her what was going on... Other than that it was a really good book,just could have been a better ending. Looking forward to reading book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Enjoyed the read

    This was a nice little mystery. I really enjoyed reading the book and it kept me engaged. I look forward to more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    I love Marie's story about Dennis and Janet! Having read this bo

    I love Marie's story about Dennis and Janet! Having read this book, I couldn't wait to finish the series. I loved how the story between the two is developed and look forward to read all Marie's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2