Customer Reviews for

To Catch a Princess

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Caridad Piñeiro delivers another great story with some romance,

    Caridad Piñeiro delivers another great story with some romance, some action, and some suspense. As always, her attention to details with the location and surroundings is outstanding and really gives you the feel for the setting of her story. Her characters are always rich with back-story and emotion, even the secondary characters have a level of development that adds more depth to the story.

    We met both Peter and Tatiana in “The Prince’s Gamble” where the background was set for their relationship. I was really looking forward seeing how Peter and Tatiana’s relationship would develop and wasn’t disappointed with the story that was delivered. Since they only had a friendship up to this point, it was fun to see them both realize that they both had feelings for each other, and the resulting banter between Peter and Tatiana, with all the innuendo and heat, was great.

    There was a nice balance between the romance of the story and the action and mystery surrounding the jewel heists and the threats that those heists posed to Tatiana’s charity exhibition. It was always an easy transition between the action and romance of the book, and neither of the two was forced at any point. The ending isn’t a cliff-hanger, but it does leave things open for another book in the series.

    Overall, this was a fun read that moved quickly and kept me entertained throughout. Another great story by Caridad Piñeiro!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It is now about three years after the events in The Prince's Gam

    It is now about three years after the events in The Prince's Gamble.  Prince Alexander and his very Special Agent Kathleen Martinez have married and just had a child.  Now it is Princess Tatiana’s turn.  Unfortunately events have taught Tatiana that she can’t trust easily.  So what is she to do when she finds out that everyone she holds near and dear to her have been keeping secrets from her?  Her parents have arranged a marriage for her and that just won’t fly.  When she finds out that her “family friend” the hot cop Peter Roman is in fact living incognito and is the guy her folks have set her up with she is pissed!  How can everybody have been keeping secrets this big from her?  Unfortunately Peter may be the one guy she will have to trust to keep her safe but can she trust him with her heart?
    Check your brain at the door and just go with it.  This is a fun fantasy of the rich and famous.  I got a kick out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I need to share with y'all why I wanted to read To Catch a Princ

    I need to share with y'all why I wanted to read To Catch a Princess. I wanted to read the story cause the story intrigued me with the whole idea of a Princess in the states who just wants to live a normal life, but being forced in an arranged marriage. Who really does arrange marriages in this day and age? I guess some cultures still do. Anyway, Princess Tatiana was hoping her parents would let go of that idea. Fat chance.

    Funny thing is Tatiana actually knows her future husband, but not really. Detective Peter Roman is a pretty awesome detective. He has helped the Ivanov family with his services. However, there is more to the good detective. Not many people would know he being a royal himself. I was pretty surprise with his secret and how well he kept that information hidden. Honestly I wouldn't have guess he was a prince and arranged to be married to Princess Tatiana. 

    I can completely understand why Tatiana kind of blew a gasket when she finds out who Peter really is. I actually love how Peter wants to be love for being Peter and not being the Prince to be married to Tatiana. So, Peter has rebuild the trust to Tatiana use to have for him. Not an easy task when things start to pop and cause trouble. 

    Not only do we see a budding relationship between Peter and Tatiana, we also have a heist going on. Tied into the heist is one the most interesting character, Shea Brody. Normally, I wouldn't focus on secondary characters, but he's a jewel thief who's trying to steal some jewels from different royal family for Prince Sergio. So, we see him here and there in the story and by the end of the story I really want him to have his own story. I know it's the romantic in me, but he's really not that bad maybe a bit misguided.

    Overall, I was entertained by the romance and impending danger. So, if you like royals and jewel thieves, you might find yourself entertain like I was with To Catch a Princess.

    Copy provided by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Princess Tatiana was not looking for a husband, but her parents

    Princess Tatiana was not looking for a husband, but her parents and brother had other plans. Tatiana’s parents had arranged for her to marry a prince. And to make matters worse her brother knew of the plan and never told her.

    Princess Tatiana’s brother suggested to her that Police detective Peter go with her on a trip to Monaco. Tatiana was in charge of a fashion show that showcased royal jewels. The show could be a problem since a jewel thief was on the loose. While on the trip Tatiana found out Peter was not who she thought he was.

    I have read other books from this author and I have enjoyed them all. This book may actually be one of my favorites. I love the relationship between the Princess and Peter. It felt very real; love with underlying problems, but nothing that can’t be forgiven. Even though they are royal, the families are approachable and real. I liked seeing the relationship progress. They didn’t just jump into anything without thinking of consequences. A great read!!

    Rating 4.5

    Heat Rating Hot

    Reviewed By Rae

    Courtesy Of My Book Addiction And More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    Good Book! I usually pass on books with a suspenseful theme. Ho

    Good Book!

    I usually pass on books with a suspenseful theme. However, the synopsis of To Catch a Princess by Caridad Piñeiro sounded so engaging and cosmopolitan, I just had to read it. I am so glad I did.

    Princess Tatiana is an independent woman running her family's Atlantic City casino, Russian Nights, along with her brother Alexander. Southern New Jersey is where Tatiana feels the most comfortable, not being recognized and living a non-royal life. That is until her parents inform her of a promise they made years ago to the Grand Duke, a marriage arrangement between herself and his son.

    Unbeknownst to Tatiana, her brother's best friend, Police Detective Peter Roman, is really a royal and the Grand Duke's son. Tatiana has secretly lusted after Peter for years and when they are in each others' company, their eyes sparkle with desire. Tatiana and Peter will be spending a lot of time together in the near future, because he is overseeing the security detail during Tatiana's charity fashion show in Monaco. Recently, some very expensive jewels and heirlooms have been reported stolen, so high security is at the show is imperative.

    Naturally, Tatiana and Peter become much more than friends. Their business dealings become very intense because a thief is among them.

    I enjoyed this sophisticated book. The steam between Tatiana and Peter is sexy and hot. The story is well-written and the characters are likeable and alluring. This story has a nice combination of heat, suspense and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    The title of this book caught my attention as well as the cover.

    The title of this book caught my attention as well as the cover. I enjoy a royal romance story especially when it involves a strong willed heroine and a mysterious prince. This is the first book I have read by Caridad Pineiro and it will not be my last. I really enjoyed it and was drawn into the story from the first page of the book. It started out with lots of action and quickly moves the reader through the story line. I found myself flipping through the pages to see how it would end. It has mystery, suspense and lots of action to keep the readers attention as well as lots of romance. I will not give away any spoilers other than what the author provides as a description on the back of the book. I recommend this book and hope to enjoy her other books as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review.


    This was my first book by Caridad Piniero but it won't be my last. To Catch A Princess is a fun romantic suspense romp. This was a good book to read after a long, difficult day at the office. Now to find the first book in the series and learn how Alexander and Kathleen meet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    What a ride this story takes you on! I love a mystery and when

    What a ride this story takes you on! I love a mystery and when you add in a royal romance you just can't miss. I couldn't put this book down until I finished it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Lighthearted romantic suspense!  I received a complimentary cop

    Lighthearted romantic suspense! 

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    A Russian royal hiding in plain sight, a Russian princess trying to avoid an arranged marriage and a jewel heist all take center stage in Caridad Pineiro’s To Catch A Princess.  With likable main characters, good dialogue, the right amount of intrigue and mystery and a sexy romance, Ms. Pineiro grabbed my attention from the first page and never let go.  With the action taking place in both the U.S. and Monaco, Ms. Pineiro gives us a whirlwind romance with a little mystery, and reminded me of some of my favorite classic Hollywood films.




    Young, beautiful and a royal, Princess Maria Theresa Tatiana Christiania Ivanov is used to living life on her own terms.  Second in command of the family business in the U.S., she never imagined her parents would have agreed to an arranged marriage on her behalf and expect her to go through with it.  Determined to marry for love, Tatiana has no intentions of marrying a stranger.




    Police Detective Peter Roman has three secrets; his real identity, Russian Grand Prince Pyotr Romanovich, a private family secret, and the fact that he’s the only son of Grand Duke Roman Alexandrovich – and Tatiana’s intended husband.  Though determined never to marry, Peter can’t help but be attracted to Tatiana – the younger sister of Alexander, his best friend.  When an international jewel thief targets Tatiana’s charity fundraising event in Monaco, Peter finds himself volunteering to be her personal guard. 




    The scenes between Tatiana and Peter are full of smoldering chemistry, lively dialogue and light humor.  Both secretly attracted to the other, neither one is willing to risk losing their friendship.  Only Peter knows he has to tell Tatiana about who he really is if he wants to have a chance at saving whatever relationship they already have.  Angry at being lied to, Tatiana isn’t sure she can forgive Peter for his lies of omission.  Ms. Pineiro does a good job developing both Tatiana and Peter, their attraction and their romance.  I really enjoyed watching them fall in love.




    The secondary characters were interesting and contributed quite a bit to the story, especially Tatiana’s family and the international jewel thief known as the “Thief of Hearts”.  While you would expect the villain to have been the jewel thief, he’s really only the secondary villain; the primary villain is another character and is a nasty piece of work.




    Will Tatiana and Peter realize their love for each other is destined – even if they both opposed an arranged marriage?  Will they both make it out of Monaco alive and in good health?  And will the jewel thief end up having a heart of gold?  You’ll have to read To Catch a Princess; I enjoyed it and look forward to reading more of Ms. Pineiro’s work.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I couldn't put it down till I was finished.  Can't wait to read

    I couldn't put it down till I was finished.  Can't wait to read some more from this author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    *I received a copy of this from the publisher in exchange for an

    *I received a copy of this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    I love a good mystery. Add in a swoon-worthy royal romance, a conflicted thief, and a dangerous villain, and To Catch a Princess was an enjoyable read that kept me interested until the very end.
    This book starts off in the thief's POV, a man who wants out of the life he's living and to settle down and start a family. But the Thief of Hearts, as he's affectionately known as, doesn't know that the man he's stealing for has other hidden agendas besides wanting a precious heirloom back. And he doesn't realize it until it's too late. But, let me back up a little. I'm way ahead of myself here. I love a conflicted and tortured "bad guy" as much as anyone. I have to say, I kind of liked him near the end. But he's not one of the main characters.
    The star players in this romantic mystery are a prince and a princess. Tatiana's parents made a deal with the Grand Duke a long time ago. It was a marriage arrangement between their two children. It was only put in place until Alexander, Tatiana's brother, found a wife and started a family. But now her parents are pushing her to marry a man she doesn't even know. And the Grand Duke wants to see his son married and having his grandchildren before he dies. But this barbaric, old-fashioned tradition doesn't sit well with either of the two parties being forced to accept it. Neither of them have time to think of it, as they are both busy with their lives.
    When Peter, a detective who's been good friends with the Ivanovs for many years, discovers that the infamous Thief of Hearts is planning to steal precious jewelry at Tatiana's charity fashion event, he decides to go with her to Monaco and stick close to her side in the case that this isn't a straight-forward theft. What Tatiana doesn't know is that Peter is really Pyotr Romanovich, son of the Grand Duke and the man her parents want her to marry. I thought Tatiana's anger was misplaced, though Peter should have been honest with her the moment he decided to go with her to Monaco. There was no way it wouldn't have gotten out that he's a prince. But Tatiana hates lies. Any kind of lie. I understand why she's distrustful of people who keep the truth from her. She's been screwed over in the past, and it hurt her. And as a princess, she's always having to deal with people who are only there because of her royalty status. But like I said, her anger is misplaced with Peter. His lie wasn't meant to hurt her.
    I didn't like Tatiana's icy haughtiness toward Peter numerous times when he kept something from her, which was never anything that was harmful. At first, she was angry because she doesn't like lies, no matter the reason they're told. But as she starts to fall in love with Peter, her anger is because couples are supposed to tell each other everything. But like I said, her anger is misplaced because she doesn't understand that sometimes people just need space and time to open up about things. The reason why he went into hiding was kept from EVERYONE. Not just her. It was a painful family secret that he kept close to his heart. And I didn't like how it felt like she'd given him an ultimatum when it came to that secret. How, if he didn't tell her right this second, she would walk away from him. It was like he had to bare his soul just to keep her and make her understand his past. Honestly, he didn't deserve her frostiness and air of royal superiority a lot of the time. She truly is a princess, and it definitely showed in her personality. They make her seem like a down-to-earth woman, but I didn't see it that much.
    However, I did love hers and Peter's relationship. It was like their own fairytale, minus the vengeful prince and vicious paparazzi. It was very swoon-worthy, and I loved the development of it. How could both their parents have known that the two would actually fall in love? :)
    The mystery was intriguing, and even though I knew the villain, I didn't know what was going to happen or how it would end. I was completely blind-sided by the prince's vengeance, and I was equally as surprised with how Peter handled the Thief of Hearts. And I thought the suspenseful story-line was played out nicely. But I have mixed feelings about that ending. I didn't think it tied off the loose ends. Peter and Tatiana got their happily ever after, the Thief of Hearts is free for now, and Prince Sergei is still on the loose and has not been captured for his evil deeds. So, I'm left wondering if another book will continue, either with the same characters or maybe with the thief himself.
    I really enjoyed this modern-day fairytale with a mysterious twist. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    To Catch a Princess is a thrilling ride that takes the readers f

    To Catch a Princess is a thrilling ride that takes the readers from Atlantic City to Morocco. Tatiana just wants to be able to choose her own path, marry who she wants, and just fall in love. When she finds out she has been betrothed, she is furious! It’s not the middle ages anymore, arranged marriages should be extinct! When her charity event is in jeopardy due to some jewelry heists Tatiana decides to catch the thief.

    Peter has been in love with Tatiana for as long as he can remember. Everything about her shines to him. But Peter has a secret…he is a Grand Duke from an old Royal family, and he is Tatiana’s betrothed. When the mystery, suspense, and danger of the jewelry heist throws them together, his secret is reveal. Will Tatiana forgive him from deceiving her?

    These two have such passion! The romance, desire, sensuality, and seduction of their courting is edgy, intense, and full of fire! Tatiana and Peter both have to learn to trust their hearts, and surrender to the power of true love…

    This story grabbed me from the start and really made me care about the characters. Even though Tatiana is a Princess she is not overbearing or snotty. She really cares about people and the causes that she supports. I can understand her fury at having her marriage arranged for her. Who wants to marry someone they don’t love?

    Get wrapped up in the mystery, intrigue, and romance. Let it steal your heart….

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    3.5 stars:  TO CATCH A PRINCESS is the second storyline in Carid

    3.5 stars:  TO CATCH A PRINCESS is the second storyline in Caridad Pineiro’s contemporary romance series from Entangled Suspense focusing on the Ivanov siblings and the Russian Royal family.
    As per the blurb, our hero is a Russian prince, hiding in plain sight as a police detective in New Jersey.  Hoping to keep a low profile and his family connections a secret, Peter Roman aka Prince Pyotr Romanovich remains a close friend to Tatiana and her brother Alexander whom we met in The Prince’s Gamble.  But Peter and Alexander have kept Peter’s true identity a secret from Princess Tatiana and when the young woman finally learns that her brother’s best friend and her teen crush, is the man to whom she has been betrothed, sparks will fly and her heart will be broken.
    The premise revolves around a high stakes jewel thief and his connections to the famous and infamous jewel heists in the previous time span.  With an upcoming fashion show in Monaco featuring the royal diamonds and jewels, Peter is determined to become part of the security team to keep safe both the jewels and the woman he loves.
    The storyline is predictable and slow to build as Caridad takes the reader into the behind the scenes world of the high stakes jewel heists, the rich and famous, and the building sexual relationship between Peter and Tatiana. We are privy to the security details, fashion extravaganza and back history of the Russian royalty featured in this particular storyline.  There is also the potential for a few more storylines as the people responsible for the heists are long gone and nowhere to be found.
    The leading characters are likeable but only relatable in a fairy tale adventure sort of way.  Our hero Peter is an alpha male, but one whose heart and soul has been darkened by a family secret that he hopes to keep undercover. Tatiana is a bit of a childlike princess; she can only be called “reader whiplash” because her personality and likeability changed every few pages.  She continued to push and pull Peter, giving mixed signals all the while knowing she has loved the man for many years.  But she believes she has been lied to and in that, Peter will need to jump through a few hoops before reclaiming Tatiana as his own. In the beginning their relationship is stormy, tense and misunderstood, but in the end there is romance, sensuality and a HEA.  The secondary characters are an interesting mix especially when there is always someone second-guessing their intent and purpose within the storyline.  
    TO CATCH A PRINCESS is a story with a little suspense, a little romance, a little mystery and a little sex.  If you like a little mystery with your romance storylines about a princess looking for her HEA, To Catch a Princess definitely has a little bit of everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Tatiana and Peter are both likeable characters, both have troubl

    Tatiana and Peter are both likeable characters, both have trouble trusting, both want to be loved for themselves. Their parents have arranged their marriage, only Tatiana doesn’t know that Peter is supposed to be the groom. How’s a girl with trust issues supposed to forgive all the lies?

    Peter has been living incognito, wanting a normal life instead of the attention and negative things a title can bring. He's been lusting after her but choosing to love Tatiana would mean sacrificing his anonymity and telling her all his secrets. I enjoyed the story, the romance and the mystery keeping my attention until the very last page.

    ARC provided by Entangled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    This was a great follow up to the Prince¿s Gamble. The characte

    This was a great follow up to the Prince’s Gamble. The characters were solid and interesting. The story was fast paced. The mystery was simple but interesting to follow. It kept you reading to see how the main characters were going to connect the dots and what was the bad guy ultimate plan was. I totally enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1