Customer Reviews for

To Conquer a Highlander

Average Rating 4
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(153)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING SCOTTISH HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

TO CONQUER A HIGHLANDER by Mary Wine is a wonderful historical romance set in 1437 Scotland. It is well written with depth and details and is fast paced with twists and turns. It has suspense, adventure, wit, a kidnapping, revenge, lust, power,loyality to their clansmen...
TO CONQUER A HIGHLANDER by Mary Wine is a wonderful historical romance set in 1437 Scotland. It is well written with depth and details and is fast paced with twists and turns. It has suspense, adventure, wit, a kidnapping, revenge, lust, power,loyality to their clansmen,sensuality, romance, and Scotland at it's worst and best. The characters are strong willed, determined, loyal to their clan and their country and betrayal. The hero, Torin, is strong, handsome, sexy, loyal to his clansmen and his country, out for revenge and falls in love. The heroine, Shannon, is strong willed, beautiful even through rather comely, fiery spirit, courage, struggles against the passion between her and Torin. She has always obeyed her father, learning to endure his crudelty toward her and others. She once again, obeys her father's wish to marry who he has given her to, a traitor of Scotland's kin. While, on her way to her wedding, she is kidnapped by the McLeren clan, who her father raided against,killed their clansmen and destroyed their village. The McLeren is going to use her for exchange of one of their clansmen, Torin's nephrew. Little do they know how much trouble their hostage is going to be, for she is determined not to let them get the best of her. She attempts several escapes, but is caught by Torin, who is guickly falling in love with her fiery spirit and determined mind. When the new king of Scotland learns of Shannon's family plot to kill him, Shannon is also in danger of the same fate her clansmens will receive for their deception. Torin is determined to be her protector. What follows is a wonderful story of love, passion, betrayal, sacrifice and truly a love story for all ages.I would highly recommend the book especially if you enjoy Scottish passion and fire. This book was received for review and details can be find at Sourcebooks Casablanca and My Book Addiction and More.

posted by AAR on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Lame...atleast it was free

This is one of those that has too much sex and not enough story. bla!

posted by Katierod26 on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    AMAZING SCOTTISH HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

    TO CONQUER A HIGHLANDER by Mary Wine is a wonderful historical romance set in 1437 Scotland. It is well written with depth and details and is fast paced with twists and turns. It has suspense, adventure, wit, a kidnapping, revenge, lust, power,loyality to their clansmen,sensuality, romance, and Scotland at it's worst and best. The characters are strong willed, determined, loyal to their clan and their country and betrayal. The hero, Torin, is strong, handsome, sexy, loyal to his clansmen and his country, out for revenge and falls in love. The heroine, Shannon, is strong willed, beautiful even through rather comely, fiery spirit, courage, struggles against the passion between her and Torin. She has always obeyed her father, learning to endure his crudelty toward her and others. She once again, obeys her father's wish to marry who he has given her to, a traitor of Scotland's kin. While, on her way to her wedding, she is kidnapped by the McLeren clan, who her father raided against,killed their clansmen and destroyed their village. The McLeren is going to use her for exchange of one of their clansmen, Torin's nephrew. Little do they know how much trouble their hostage is going to be, for she is determined not to let them get the best of her. She attempts several escapes, but is caught by Torin, who is guickly falling in love with her fiery spirit and determined mind. When the new king of Scotland learns of Shannon's family plot to kill him, Shannon is also in danger of the same fate her clansmens will receive for their deception. Torin is determined to be her protector. What follows is a wonderful story of love, passion, betrayal, sacrifice and truly a love story for all ages.I would highly recommend the book especially if you enjoy Scottish passion and fire. This book was received for review and details can be find at Sourcebooks Casablanca and My Book Addiction and More.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Wow!!!!!

    Wow!!!! My kind of book, loved the main characters, mainly Torin!!!! Shannon was a strong heroine too. The sex scenes you will enjoy!!! This book deserves 5 stars!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    AMAZING!

    this is my first book by mary wine, and it wont be my last!! i absolutely loved it!! great story line and characters...i read the book in one day! cant wait for the second!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    Historical Romance at it's Best

    Originally Posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com

    To Conquer a Highlander is an utterly fantastic book with characters that steal your heart. Author Mary Wine has penned a story that excites and captivates, ensuring the reader doesn't want to forgo the journey even after it's done.

    The heroine, Shannon, is someone you'll cheer for. Prideful and strong, she has been born to a family that doesn't appreciate her as she deserves. When things turn sour, she finds herself engaged to a man who would be the new king of Scotland. Through no fault of her own, she becomes an enemy to her own kind, her clan a travesty that would see warring amongst their neighboring clansman. Resigned to her fate, she travels to meet her promised only to be taken by a highlander who is as hard and beautiful as the land he hails from. Torin is more than she anticipates. He is kind where she has only known cruelty, soft where she has only known hard. As he breaks down the walls she's constructed to protect herself, the story take life that is impossible to turn from.

    From the moment I started reading, I was unable to put To Conquer a Highlander down. Tensions run high, ensuring you can't look away. Torin is determined to avenge his clansmen but refuses to use Shannon as a means to an end while she is determined to meet the fate that has been chosen for her. Yet, their chemistry as enemies that are attracted to one another is palpable, so intense that at times it's difficult to breathe. As their relationship progresses, you'll ache for her while you hurt for him. Ms. Wine weaves a very emotional story, and although there are moments I thought I couldn't handle the intensity, she kept luring me back with the promise of something more. The result is a story, and characters, that you positively love.

    To Conquer a Highlander is a definite must read for historical fans. This is the first story I've enjoyed by Mary Wine but it will not be the last. She writes with depth and emotion, which is something die hard romance fans will appreciate and cherish. Be sure to pencil this title onto your TBR list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Interesting

    A very well written book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Like it

    Like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Carlisle PA

    Loved it! Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Wow

    Love the fire of women in book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Awesome!

    Great heated boo! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Yummy

    I can't get enough of the Highlanders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Great resd! Big Ed's Girl

    Too good to miss and nice to read twice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Fun

    Good read. lot's of fun twists :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great

    I love her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Sexy funny historical

    I liked it. Nice bit of bantering but sexy with some funny parts but romance as well. Cant wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Let yourself be carried away by her strong characters, who are f

    Let yourself be carried away by her strong characters, who are fascinating.
    You will live a wonderful adventure with sensual love scenes . You will not be disappointed by Mary Wine's book.
    I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Great read

    Loved the book hot and heated. Mary wine has a great way of pulling you into her stories and keeping you there to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    All about love and passion.

    Yes, there's lots of sex in this book. But somehow i didnt view this book as plain smut.
    Torin and Shannon are really attracted to each other. They're both passionate. Sex is natural expression of their feelings. Isnt that what most passionate couples do?
    I also love the fact that Torin is a one lass man even before Shannon. Who wouldn't be in love with a devoted guy with muscles and lairdship to boot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Recommended

    Loved it! As I do all of Mary Wine's books. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Great Romance

    Thoroughly enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    You can not go wrong with this book

    I love all of her books, this is one more that I could not put down. I like the fact I feel like I am right there in the time and space I am part of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9