Customer Reviews for

To Darkness and to Death (Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Jeez......

Can anyone write a review without providing an entire synopses of the plot?????? All I want to know is if you liked it! Spare me the quick notes version people, please!!!!

posted by 5871745 on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the first three

Simply because the plot is sometimes just unbelievable and the characters don't make sense. I found myself reading and thinking, "Oh, come on."

posted by 10576137 on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Jeez......

    Can anyone write a review without providing an entire synopses of the plot?????? All I want to know is if you liked it! Spare me the quick notes version people, please!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The fourth book in the Clare Fergusson Russ Van Alstyne series


    The fourth book in the Clare Fergusson Russ Van Alstyne series describes a very eventful day in the Adirondack Mountain town of Millers Kill, New York. That may be a gross understatement. As one character states: “A murder, a missing person, and an assault case all in one day? It’s like one of those signs of the Apocalpyse.”

    As the book, and the day, begins, the only event of major import is that it is Police Chief Van Alstyne’s 50th birthday. He is doing some serious soul-searching, as he and Reverend Clare Fergusson are coming to terms with their strong mutual attraction, and Russ has to make a decision on whether to tell his wife about his love for another woman. But that is pushed to the background as sinister events occur. There is a land buyout about to come to fruition, 250,000 acres of timberland involved, affecting as it will the lives and livelihoods of many of the townspeople. Tempers flare, things get horribly out of hand, and violence ensues. A more traumatic and fateful birthday for a protagonist would be hard to imagine.

    The concept of stewardship of the land (and the local businesses) comes into play. Generations of landowners find that their values may no longer be shared by their children and grandchildren. Russ and Clare find that they have to go beyond their primary vocations to smooth the troubled waters, and try to find out what, and who, is behind the crimes. It is hard to find a sympathetic character among these people, most of whom have known each other – or their families - all their lives.

    As always, the author lays out the lives and backgrounds of the Millers Kill inhabitants very thoroughly, and in interesting fashion, and as the book approaches its denouement, the suspense increases immeasurably. (Parenthetically, I loved the tip-of-the-hat to Lee Child and his protagonist, Jack Reacher.)

    The constantly shifting p.o.v. did make the read difficult at times, but the good writing and intriguing plot made it worthwhile, and the book is recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    It twists, it turns, it makes you laugh, it makes you sad. The

    It twists, it turns, it makes you laugh, it makes you sad. The relationship between Russ and Clare is on the back burner, at a low simmer and we finally get to meet Russ's wife Linda. Meanwhile urgent business keeps all three of them on their toes. Another winner in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Where are the main characters? I LOVED this series until now.

    Where are the main characters?

    I LOVED this series until now. The lead characters I care about have only made cameo appearances as of the first 110 pages. I don't like any of the characters the author is introducing us to. Not sure if I'll finish the book. I should be at least interested in the story by now. Disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Disapointed Fan.

    While I have been enjoying this series, the plot and characters in this book were not even close to believable. I skimmed through a good part of the book because of this. I do intend to read other books in this series and hope that they stick more to the " who done it" style that I have enjoyed from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Not as good as the first three

    Simply because the plot is sometimes just unbelievable and the characters don't make sense. I found myself reading and thinking, "Oh, come on."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Highly enjoyable read

    She is dealing with real time issues and lots of humor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    To fatalstat

    Suddenly a blast of thunder is heard. Its starts raining poptarts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Icepaw

    Hi Blazefur you are my mentor

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Snowkit

    Sh curl up and sleeps. Gtg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Morph

    A large musquler bull runs in@ askks can i join

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Darknessstar

    "Could be a cat?"v

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Ninjaflash

    "Shapeshifter..."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Gripping.

    A well crafted mystery with characters I cared about. Now I have the whole series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    What do a kitnapped girl, a lady priest, a man whose logging business is threatened by his own daughter's activities and a man looking for job security have in common? Or any of the many other characters involved in this intriguing tale of murder that stems from misunderstandings and motives that aren't what they seem? A girl is missing, presumed lost in the woods and search is instituted. She isn't found, but another girl, badly beaten, is discovered. Are these incidents related? How? Who could do such a thing? Is the missing girl dead? Those and many other questions drive the plot of this complex tale. Desperation is an unseen character in this story, but his hand is felt in all scenes as a single act by one person impingeson the intents and actions of another. Follow Reverend Clare Fergusson as she tries to unravel the tangle caused by the simple act of a society trying to preserve a forest. Highly recommended. An excellent read by a very talented author whose other works you'll be searching out. Enjoy. I sure did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    very enjoyable

    John Huggins of the Millers Kill Search and Rescue asks volunteer Episcopalian Priest Clare Fergusson to help look for a missing woman lost in the Adirondacks. The nine year Air Force veteran joins the team learning that the missing woman is twenty-six years old Millie van der Hoeven, who was staying at her brother¿s home for the past three months, but failed to return from a walk....................... At about the same time, Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne feels guilt over falling in love with Revered Fergusson though he is married to Lindy, who lovingly has been at his side every step of the way for twenty-five years. Adding to his discomfort Lindy gives him a special rifle for his fiftieth birthday while he struggles to say the words I love you to her. The missing person¿s case leads to a homicide and a land deal going bad all within the Blue Line that demarcates the Adirondack State Park. As Russ and Clare team up once again, their feelings for one another remain deep, but both fears the first step because it means telling Lindy.................. . The fourth entry in the Millers Kill, New York investigative series is a wonderful tale that provides an atmosphere of a small mountain town struggling with a deadly land deal. The lead couple remains an interesting pair in love, but trying not to hurt the kind innocent third party to their triangle. The who-done-it is cleverly developed so that the storyline, like the roads in the area, serpentine around the mountain. The audience obtains a tense terrific thriller that builds up from one scenario to a different one until the final altercation.................... Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3