Customer Reviews for

To Have and Have Not

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite by Hemingway

In To Have and Have Not there is an apparent growth in the Hemingway hero. The rugged masculinity is still there, perhaps even more so, but Hemingway confronts and looks deeply into it. This book is a study of love and life, of what it is to be a man. It is an extrem...
In To Have and Have Not there is an apparent growth in the Hemingway hero. The rugged masculinity is still there, perhaps even more so, but Hemingway confronts and looks deeply into it. This book is a study of love and life, of what it is to be a man. It is an extremely quick read because the adventure never stops and it is filled with memorable characters you only want to know more about. Hemingway is the master of creating within his reader an emotional bond to a character without the reader even noticing. It is only when one finishes a Hemingway novel that they realize just how emotionaly involved he was. Harry Morgan is a fantastic character, just trying to make it and provide for the woman he loves. Is that not the ultimate definition of what a man is? Doing everything he can to make the woman he loves happy. In the past Hemingway's characters had all of the masculinity but only hints of Harry's maturity. This is a great novel that any Hemingway fan will cherish and that any fan or reading or of life will thoroughly enjoy.

posted by Anonymous on July 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ho Hum

The reading of the novel is a bit difficult, since the english language has evolved. I didn't find any revelations in it, but maybe back then this book might have been a bigger deal. There gives some good food for thought though, about how misery is relative.

posted by ML1371 on June 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    One of my favorite by Hemingway

    In To Have and Have Not there is an apparent growth in the Hemingway hero. The rugged masculinity is still there, perhaps even more so, but Hemingway confronts and looks deeply into it. This book is a study of love and life, of what it is to be a man. It is an extremely quick read because the adventure never stops and it is filled with memorable characters you only want to know more about. Hemingway is the master of creating within his reader an emotional bond to a character without the reader even noticing. It is only when one finishes a Hemingway novel that they realize just how emotionaly involved he was. Harry Morgan is a fantastic character, just trying to make it and provide for the woman he loves. Is that not the ultimate definition of what a man is? Doing everything he can to make the woman he loves happy. In the past Hemingway's characters had all of the masculinity but only hints of Harry's maturity. This is a great novel that any Hemingway fan will cherish and that any fan or reading or of life will thoroughly enjoy.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Smugling past havana

    easily one of hemingways more honest portrayals of writing and life.
    As free of posturing as he ever gets and as honest about the human condition in a place where a living is hard to come by. A must read for anyone who likes or loves hemingway's work.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    A Timeless Classic

    There is no better testement to the universiality of Hemminway's powers of observation than this novel. I consider the first chapter of this book to be among the best ever written. Harry Morgan, a regular blue collar guy makes a deal with a rich client to take him fishing. The wealthy man then stiffs him on the bill and flees. This is an almost perfect metaphor for the great depression of the 1930s: the working man paying the price for the excessess of the wealthy. Sound familiar? This story of desperate people doing desperate things due to circumstances beyond their control is as relevant today than it was when he wrote it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    What can I say....The book is great!If you want a book you can really get into the characters and really let a story send you into escapism this is the one.The plot is great and it kept me reading straight through.This is my first Hemmingway book that I read and can't wait to read another one of his books.The movie with Bogart and Becall was really good;the book is even better.I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Great, easy read

    awesome book about tragedy, lillegal activity and relativity to taday's society

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Great Writer- ok book

    After years of being an avid reader, it occurred to me that I had never read Hemingway. So I set out to remedy that as quickly as possible. While I could have selected one of his masterpieces that we've all heard about all out lives, I selected this book based on its description. I was taken immediately by Hemingway's style of writing. He can say a lot in a short sentence. However, I found the story to be just average. There is some good drama, and the plot starts you off on an exciting adventure. But in the end, it's a bit of a let down. It did not discourage me from reading others books by this legendary author, but it is the only book I probably wouldn't recommend to a friend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fine example of Hemingway's writing

    Typical Hemingway, well written a good read and of course, nothing like the movie - but Bogie & Bacall were terrific.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    Ho Hum

    The reading of the novel is a bit difficult, since the english language has evolved. I didn't find any revelations in it, but maybe back then this book might have been a bigger deal. There gives some good food for thought though, about how misery is relative.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Awful!

    I loved Old Man and the Sea, so when my English teacher asked us to pick an author for summer homework, I chose Hemingway. I had to read a book by Hemingway that was not Old Man and the Sea, Farewell to Arms or the Sun Also Rises. I read the reviews on To Have and Have Not and chose this book. I'm about 3/4 of the way done with it and it is AWFUL! The first few chapters were good, and I thought it was turning out to be a good story but then the first section of the book ended. The second part picked up and was seemingly irrelevant to the first! It is turning out to be one of the worst books I've ever read. I am thoroughly disappointed and now I have to choose a different book. Maybe I'm missing the 'big picture' but the plot is pointless, boring and just plain awful! If you're looking for a good Hemingway book read Old Man and the Sea. If you're looking for a book about life lessons, this is definitely NOT it. Try Tuesdays With Morrie or The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    A Must Read

    A great tale about a poverty stricken fisherman who will do anything to make a decent living. No words can describe the brilliance of this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    IT IS ALMOST REAL

    BUY THIS BOOK. THE READER EXPERIENCES LIFE'S STRUGGLES BY READING THIS BOOK. IT WILL CAPTIVATE THE READER.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2001

    The quest of one man searching for the American Dream but forced into running contraband on his boat.

    Hemingway presents Harry Morgan, a fair man with a boat with which he earns his living and provides for his family. However, soon Morgan finds himself swindled and must resort to running contraband between Cuba and Key West so that he can put food onto the table. What begins as a tale of a man out to make a decent living ends up falling to pieces as Morgan attempts to make money and juggles losing his boat to the Coast Guard. This story is interesting and has no dull parts. The plot is strong, and the story of one man's dream gone to hell is portrayed accurately as if it were happening to a real person. I would recommend this book to the avid Hemingway reader or to one who is just beginning to read him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    an elegant masterpiece

    I READ MANY REVIEWS, AND AM OFTEN LULLED TO BORDEM BY THE-'ITS A GREAT BOOK' ANSWERS. SO I WILL ATTEMPT TO EXPLAIN WHAT THIS BOOK MEANT TOO ME....FOR ME, I JUDGE GREATNESS IN FICTION LARGLEY ON HOW WELL IT PORTRAYS REALITY, THIS BOOK WAS NOT WILD, OR THE LEAST BIT IMPOSSIBLE, BUT, REAL...SOME OF HEMINGWAYS BEST WORK, AND I HAVE READ IT ALL, I FELT LIKE I KNEW THE CHARECTERS PERSONALLY BY THE END, WHAT COULD BE A BETTER BAROMETER OF GREATNESS FOR A NOVELIST?....A MUST READ

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Twilightsparkle

    Moonstar, Lunamoth is wondering where you have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Midnightpelt

    Im not even in this clan and I'll do do what want. It passes down through the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Midnightkit

    He was angry. I am leaving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Just read part of sample

    I was apalled at some of the words used,I'm disgusted






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Stormkit hello

    Moonstar where are you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Hawkkit

    Lets go of Moonstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3