Customer Reviews for

To Have and to Hold

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice change of pace

This morning I finished Game of Thrones, and I needed a different style of book to break the mood before going to the next book in the series of the GoT

posted by Lynn_Wright on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

I grabbed this book after seeing it on the shelves for a long time, reading some good reviews, the plot seemed interesting, and, to be honest, I thought the cover was interesting. It's not that this book was bad, I enjoyed the writing and the characters, I just couldn't...
I grabbed this book after seeing it on the shelves for a long time, reading some good reviews, the plot seemed interesting, and, to be honest, I thought the cover was interesting. It's not that this book was bad, I enjoyed the writing and the characters, I just couldn't get into it. I had to put it down and pick it back up several times in a span of two months which is rare for me if I find a good book. I think the main problem for me was that the book never had a moment that I was fully engrossed in it. It seemed to take a while to get anywhere. Lots of unnecessary details and slow moving. He kept cheating and reforming and cheating and reforming every chapter. It only really got exciting toward the end (although I really wanted her to tell him off) and by that time my opinion of the book had already been made.

Overall everything was just okay. The characters were likable enough, I was mildly into the plot and what would happen next but nothing to write home about. I don't regret reading it but I wouldn't add it to my favorites. I would recommend it as a light summer read.

posted by jwheelzJW on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    It was okay

    I thought the book was okay...I have to say That Jane Green really had me there with Alice I really wanted to jump into the book and beat Joe to a bloody pulp from the get go... but atleast Alice wises up to Joe but didnt much care for the ending..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Not Jane's best...

    It was not one of Jane Green's best novels & I have read all of her books. It seemed rushed and predictable. I guess not all of her books can be winners!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    ONE OF THE BEST!!

    I COULDN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN. I COULD REALATE TO IT IN SO MANY WAYS IT WAS INSANE. I RECOMEND THIS BOOK TO ANY ONE WHO HAS HAD A HARD TIME FINDING MR. RIGHT. YOU NEVER KNOW, THEY COULD BE RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    I liked this book

    I was concerned it would be trite, but I liked it. It was a good read, interesting till the end. I cared about the characters. Take a chance and I think you'll be pleased. Light reading but hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Not great!

    This is not one of Jane Green's best. The book is interesting enough to read, but extremely tedious at times. The book lingers too long on the life of Joe and Alice and then takes an abrupt turn when Ms. Green realizes that she needs to start wrapping it up. I wasn't that impressed, but it was decent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    A Must Read for those who haven't experienced Jane Green!

    Jane Green was brilliant when she wrote this. I read it in a few days, and it really opened up my mind for woman power. The strength that Alice had to have had through all of what she went through was 100% inspiring! You will love this novel, no doubt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    THIS WAS NOT JANES BEST NOVEL!!!!

    This was definitely not one of her best novels. I read Babyville and Mr. Maybe which I adored, but now after reading Straight Talking and this one, I have to say that Jane Green is overrated. Plots are predictable and storylines and conversations get boring at times. I definitely do not recommend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    Loved It

    I happen to love Jane Green's books, and I loved this one as well. But as I read it, I actually felt mad; not at the story, but at the main character, Joe. The novel tells of this married man's constant cheating and wandering eye. The story was so good and convincing that I actually felt myself getting mad at him, so I guess it did a good job. I couldn't put it down. I definitely recomend this book to anyone who likes Jane Green. Although I find it's hard to find a favorite among her books (I love them all!) this one is definitely high on the list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Good book, bad husband!

    Poor Alice.... but at least she gets smart. Jane Green makes us all feel what Alice is going through. A good solid read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Hilarious, but not Jane's best

    This book is fantastic on so many levels -- all Jane Green books are fantastic, IMHO -- but it does fall short of what I usually expect from her. I read that To Have and To Hold was her first novel. It was originally published in Europe and just now is debuting in America. So take this for what it is: Jane Green's first book. She has improved with age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    disappointing

    I had a hard time feeling sorry for a woman so clearly gullible and blinded to her husband's infidelity. The story just did not engage me as Jemima J or Mr. Maybe. The ending--what we all were hoping to see--was entirely too short and left me feeling like the whole book was a giant tease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Love that whole NYLON thing

    I have been waiting for a book like this for ages - brilliant. Excellent writing and great characters - love the English coming to NYC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Couldn't stop reading...

    To Have and to Hold is great book! I have to say that while reading the book my heart would just hurt for Alice for the pain she was feeling and the pain that was just waiting to happen. It is so sad that her life in this book is the life so many women actually live. I was happy to see that in the end she got what she wanted and even more though I do wish the ending would have been longer and more detailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2004

    Couldn't put it down

    I thought the book was great. I am not really into books of that sort.. but i would read it forever. It was hard to put it down. It kept you thinking about what was happening next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    Ever read Spellbound?

    I have read all of Jane Greens books including one titled Spellbound. Unless the books I bought were mixed up, that is THE SAME story as To have and to Hold. I hope it was a mix up because I am very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    FANTASTIC!!!!

    Jane Green does it again!!! The format is different than her other novels, but still A+ reading...I finished it in a day and a half..I could not put it down!!! She makes hints at the end of a follow-up novel...I sincerely hope so!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    First book Ive read from Jane Green

    I must admit that this was a great book!! I couldn't put it down. This book is definatly worth the time to read!!! I am now looking forward to reading the other books out there by Jane Green.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    A Must Read

    WOW! I read this book in about 2 days because I could NOT put it down. Jane Green captures and entertains in every book, but she has out done herself with this one! Don't miss an opportunity to read this book..worth every moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    FANTASTIC

    This was a terrific book..could not put it down. The main character makes you realize that you should never settle for anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    A must read

    I saw Jane Green promoting her book on the Today show and decided to give it a try. It kept my interest from page 1. I really liked her style of writing. I must admit I could predict the end but it was still a great book. I am now reading Mr. Maybe and will continue to read her other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6