Customer Reviews for

To Have and to Hold

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice change of pace

This morning I finished Game of Thrones, and I needed a different style of book to break the mood before going to the next book in the series of the GoT

posted by Lynn_Wright on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

I grabbed this book after seeing it on the shelves for a long time, reading some good reviews, the plot seemed interesting, and, to be honest, I thought the cover was interesting. It's not that this book was bad, I enjoyed the writing and the characters, I just couldn't...
I grabbed this book after seeing it on the shelves for a long time, reading some good reviews, the plot seemed interesting, and, to be honest, I thought the cover was interesting. It's not that this book was bad, I enjoyed the writing and the characters, I just couldn't get into it. I had to put it down and pick it back up several times in a span of two months which is rare for me if I find a good book. I think the main problem for me was that the book never had a moment that I was fully engrossed in it. It seemed to take a while to get anywhere. Lots of unnecessary details and slow moving. He kept cheating and reforming and cheating and reforming every chapter. It only really got exciting toward the end (although I really wanted her to tell him off) and by that time my opinion of the book had already been made.

Overall everything was just okay. The characters were likable enough, I was mildly into the plot and what would happen next but nothing to write home about. I don't regret reading it but I wouldn't add it to my favorites. I would recommend it as a light summer read.

posted by jwheelzJW on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Nice change of pace

    This morning I finished Game of Thrones, and I needed a different style of book to break the mood before going to the next book in the series of the GoT

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    I grabbed this book after seeing it on the shelves for a long time, reading some good reviews, the plot seemed interesting, and, to be honest, I thought the cover was interesting. It's not that this book was bad, I enjoyed the writing and the characters, I just couldn't get into it. I had to put it down and pick it back up several times in a span of two months which is rare for me if I find a good book. I think the main problem for me was that the book never had a moment that I was fully engrossed in it. It seemed to take a while to get anywhere. Lots of unnecessary details and slow moving. He kept cheating and reforming and cheating and reforming every chapter. It only really got exciting toward the end (although I really wanted her to tell him off) and by that time my opinion of the book had already been made.

    Overall everything was just okay. The characters were likable enough, I was mildly into the plot and what would happen next but nothing to write home about. I don't regret reading it but I wouldn't add it to my favorites. I would recommend it as a light summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    Absolutely lovely

    I had so much fun reading this book! The characters become your buddies and you keep wonder what would happen w them after the book is done. Reallly entertaining

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring

    I couldn't even finish the book. It never really got interesting; cheating husband, they move to NY, husband keeps cheating. Blah blaah, I kept waiting for her to meet someone new but seriously took too long and it seemed as if it kept going in circles somehow, pretty much never-ending. When I pick up a book I always read it until the end whether I like it or not, but I just couldn't continue on with this one. "Straight Talking" was a far better book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    What a Jerk!

    I loved this book. Its my favorite Jane Green book by far! I dont see how anyone could give it a BAD rating. The Alice was sweet and trusting and her husband was a jerk. How can a man treat such a kind woman that way is beyond me but it is somthing that happens to many woman everyday! Its sad but its def a reality novel. It was a fast paced easy read. I reccomend it to any woman!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Very Fun and Quick Read!!!

    This book was a lot of fun to read. I had a hard time putting it down and ended up reading it in 4 days. The author does a great job building the story, describing the characters and their personalities and painting their environment and surroundings. I found myself immediately rooting for the main character. I would recommend this book to anyone and I can't wait to read some of Jane Green's other books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Stupid

    Don't waste your moneybor time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Too long. Cared for the topic but delivery was lacking

    I don't think this is one of Jane Green's better books. The story could have conveyed the same message in fewer pages. I felt the story dragged like I got the point already, about the main character being submissive and her husband's unchanging ways. Harry's role in the story was predictable as was the ending. The things I liked reading about were how strong Alice's friendships were, how Josie got what she deserved, and how Alice became herself (stronger and more comfortable in her own skin which took forever). It was a realistic story, just hard to finish because of the repetition and I didn't care for the characters much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great

    Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Good Quick Read

    Perfect for a rainy weekend or a day at the beach. Jane Green is such an amazing author and I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane's book are fun and easy to read

    To Have and To Hold is written so clearly. You can't help but feel like you know the characters personally. And your always rooting for the perfect, happ ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    bastard

    makes you think but sooo good you want to keep reading as well as learn highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Boring, stupid!!

    Alice was such a frustrating character - spineless and dull! I mean she was a complete and total idiot. Joe was a slimeball. This plot was predicatable and completely pointless. Joe cheats on Alice - again and again. Alice ignores it - again and again. Alice finally gains courage and a happy ending 'last 5 pages of the book'. I can't believe anyone would give this book a good review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Great Book!

    I loved this book. I read it in 4 days. Its good from the first page until the end. Its gets really good right in the middle of the book. COuldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    To Have and To Hold

    The book is good if you're not concerned about morals. The whole thing revolved around adultery. I found it entertaining but it really is disturbing to read about things like that....maybe because I don't want to think about how many men are actually probably like that???? This was the first Jane Green book I've read. I would read more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    I'm starting to get into Jane Green books and I have to say that I enjoyed this one. The story is very relatable about a woman who thought that marriage would be the guruntee to a good life and soon she learns how much she is willing to give up for her marriage. It's a page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    absolutely terrific!

    I could not put this book down, I actually felt like I was Alice. My stomach tightened every time her no good husband cheated on her, and I got excited when Alice lived out her dream. I would reccomend this book to anyone its an absolute page-turner you won't be let down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    very good but not the best

    You really feel for Alice and can feel for her throughout the book. The story seems to end abruptly but other than that the ending isn't that bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Love her witty writing

    My 2nd read by Jane Green and I loved it. I had a hard time putting them book down. Even found myself reading it at breakfast! Look forward to reading more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Hard to put down

    This book was very interesting and well written. I felt like I was Alice's best-friend and wanted to help her get revenge on her no-good-snake-of-a-husband. The only complaint I have is that the ending makes you believe there will be another book about these characters, but as of yet there isn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6