Customer Reviews for

To Have and to Kill (Piper Donovan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Spectacular New Series

With 12 "KEY News" media thrillers under her belt, Mary Jane Clark's latest -- and the first in her new "Wedding Cake Mystery" series -- is a spectacular and winning change of scene. In "To Have and To Kill," Piper Donovan, a 28-year-old aspiring actress who has already...
With 12 "KEY News" media thrillers under her belt, Mary Jane Clark's latest -- and the first in her new "Wedding Cake Mystery" series -- is a spectacular and winning change of scene. In "To Have and To Kill," Piper Donovan, a 28-year-old aspiring actress who has already had a two-year stint on a soap opera seen by millions, stays connected with her legion of fans on Facebook and Twitter, and stays healthy taking yoga and karate classes in between auditions. When acting roles become few and far between, Piper moves back home with her parents in Hillwood, New Jersey, to wait out the slump and help her mother in the family bakery business. When fellow soap opera star Glenna Brooks announces an upcoming Christmas Eve marriage, Piper agrees to create a wedding cake for the occasion, but when someone close to the bride is horribly poisoned, it's not clear if Glenna wasn't the real target. The murderer, smartly hidden in a very believable suspect pool, isn't finished - and after a few more bodies begin to pile up, Piper herself may have been added to a very macabre Christmas "wish list." Clark's new heroine is young, smart and sassy and, with the help of Jack, her FBI agent-cum-sometime-boyfriend, Piper has to add crime detection to her acting and cake decorating skills. Great characters (Piper's mom and dad, and their dog Emmett among them), populate a story told with breakneck speed all the way to an astonishing reveal -- of both the murderer and the splendid, star-studded cake -- but not before Piper goes toe-to-toe with a stop-at-nothing killer. It was impossible to put down!

posted by MysteryLover100 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Harriet klausner

Thanks to harriet klausner and the other plot spoilers hete, this is another book ruined and unavailable for purchase. No one wants to buy a book after loud mouth harriet reveals all including the ending. Please bn, do something to klausner and these plot spoilers. Ban ...
Thanks to harriet klausner and the other plot spoilers hete, this is another book ruined and unavailable for purchase. No one wants to buy a book after loud mouth harriet reveals all including the ending. Please bn, do something to klausner and these plot spoilers. Ban them and delete their plot spoiling posts.

posted by 8888649 on February 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I never read a book that quickly before. I'm not into mysteries

    I never read a book that quickly before. I'm not into mysteries but I could not put this book down. It was easy to read and it kept me guessing.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Very good

    With 236 pages it was enough to get u think of who done it. It was a surprise who was the murder. Very good read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2014

    |The Original Pact Code|

    A light gray tabby shec

    |The Original Pact Code| <br />
    <br />


    A light gray tabby shecat pads in and announces, &quot;The five clans, Horseclan, Ashclan, Sandclan, Northclan, and Rainclan have agreed to a pact that states that we will only rp with each other in accordance to the framework laid down by the Warrior Cat books. The Warrior Code established there will be the ground work for our new clans but we will also have our own Pact Code to try to make sure our clans are all on the same page. This code also applies to the rogue group, Pandemonium, and the tribe though they are excluded from the obvious clan-only features. I will list our code here. <br />


    THE ORIGINAL PACT CODE: <br />
    <br />


    1. THE WARRIOR CODE WILL BE UPHELD BY ALL. <br />
    <br />

    2. WE WILL ONLY RP REALISTICALLY - Anything impossible in the books is impossible in the pact clans. Examples include: wings, shapeshifting, superpowers, animals other than cats talking or joining the pact clans... <br />

    <br />

    3. WE WILL NOT RP WITH ANY NON-PACTED CLANS OR EVIL GROUPS - this includes
    Bloodclan. <br />
    <br />

    4. A WEEK EQUALS THREE MOONS - one season. <br />
    <br />

    5. GATHERINGS AND MEDICINE CAT MEETINGS ARE HELD ON ALTERNATE SUNDAYS AND ARE ALL DAY EVENTS - leaders should plan to either be on for gatherings or give permission to their deputy to represent the clan. Bring your Starclan cats to The Moonpool for med. cat meetings and med. cats need to attend! <br />

    <br />

    6. DISPUTES FOR LEADERSHIP MUST BE SETTLED BETWEEN THE DISPUTORS - violence should be refrained from. Voting, visiting Starclan, or fighting all have their flaws so it is up to the disputors. <br />

    <br />

    7. ONLY 5 CLANS, A TRIBE, PANDEMONIUM, AND A ROGUE GROUP ARE ALLOWED IN THE PACT CLAN SYSTEM - please keep in mind that if more pact clans are created it will destroy the pact clan goal, which is to provide a central place where people can come together to rp like the books. <br />

    <br />

    This covers the basic of The Original Pact Code. Please do not post here. If you have any questions or disagreements, contact me in The Question/Discussion Box. Now I will also list some tips for realistic rp which I feel will help make this system the best it can be! <br />

    REALISTIC RP TIPS: <br />

    - Only medicine cats can heal! This is extremely important and I know medicine cats get annoyed when other cats do their job. It makes them feel unneeded. There should be a max of 3 medicine cats in a clan and even this is excessive. However if you are a medicine cat you need to be active! <br />

    - Apprentices need to actually train! Even if your mentor isn't on, ask another warrior. Cats should be apprentices for at least a week. Otherwise it feels like an apprentice one moment, warrior the next. <br />

    - Kits should not attend gatherings, fight, or fall in love. They are KITS! <br />

    - Queens could realistically have kits without birthing problems at about a month old (1 year). <br />

    - Deputies should send out regular hunting and border patrols to keep warriors and apprentices engaged. <br />

    - Remember a clan is only as active as its leader! So leaders keep in mind if your clan is dying, it is only right that you pass on your leadership to someone else. <br />

    - Keep in mind what season it is. It is weird to chase a butterfly in leafbare. <br />

    - Just for people's convenience, I have made the following timeline: <br />

    1. Kit for two weeks. <br />

    2. Apprentice for at least a week. <br />

    3. Shecats can have a healthy pregnancy by 1 month. <br />

    4. Queen pregnancy 4 days to a week. <br />

    Please keep all of this in mind! Thank you for reading! Together we can make this a fun realistic rp for everyone!&quot; <br />

    <br />

    ~ The Original Pact Clan Code: Rosepetal, Original Pact Clan Helper. <br />

    <br />

    PLEASE DO NOT POST HERE! THANK YOU!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Code

    3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Another great read by Mary Jane Clark. Nice to read about a 'do

    Another great read by Mary Jane Clark. Nice to read about a 'down-on-her-luck' single girl who has close relationship with her parents, draw from her inner strength to go face to face with past co-workers, and follow through when things just do not make sense. Can't wait to read the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Clean murder mystery

    Good clean murder mystery. Twists and turns, you'll be blown away when murderer is revealed.... follow the murderer in 1st tense as well as Piper in 1st tense. While this one is not as intense and on the edge of your seat storyline, it is an excellent example of what a clean murder mystery can be, with Christian undertones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Very nice read

    Action and mystery abound. Well written, easy entertaining read. Very surprising ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Fast paced.

    Interesting. Quick read. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Pretty Good

    This book was pretty good. It is a light read and not too detailed. Great book to read at the beach or on vacation. The characters are likeable and the story was interesting but a little predicatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    t Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Really enjoyed reading this mystery. I have always liked reading

    Really enjoyed reading this mystery. I have always liked reading mystery book but like a good clean story without the profanity or explicit love scenes. The perfect read for me and I won't be afraid to loan this to one to my 89 year old neighbor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Recommend

    Light, fast reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great fast read.

    I am a huge fan of the "higgins clark" writers. This is the first of her books I have read and really enjoyed it. This book has a good cast of characters and they kept me company on a sleepless night. Just bought the second in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    Great Read

    This book was great! I had a hard time putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Awesome

    I love a good mystery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Good mystery

    Good mystery but not outstanding. First book i have read by this author and will look for more by her. A four star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Read

    Please read this book it is short and good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Give it a try.

    I really enjoyed it. I'm ready to read more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Good mystery

    The Piper Donovan mystery series should be good. The author keeps you guessing by writing from all characters viewpoints, even the killers .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    A fun read

    for when you want a light hearted quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4