Customer Reviews for

To Hell and Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an american hero

    this is a great autobiography about america's most decorated hero. having to help his mother raise his brothers and sisters in the depression after his father left them. he quit school and went to work for a neighbor trying to make enough money to help support his family. his mother died when he was sixteen and after enlisting in the army to support his kin he was sent to the war in north africa and joined the third infantry division and stayed with them throughout ww ii. he saw action in sicily and italy, becoming a sergeant and receiving a battlefield commission. during one battle he was wounded and the wound not only ended his chance of going to west point, but ended his military career. audie murphy ended up receiving the medal of honor and ended up being the most decorated soldier in u.s. military history

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    The Original 'Raw & Uncut' truth about war

    Given the times and the year in which this book came out, and compared to all the other autobiographies from WWII, this book is literary masterpiece, and always will be. There's no glossing over the truths about the terrible tragedies the soldiers on both sides suffered during that conflict. Murphy has held back nothing, and puts you squarely in the front line with him. This book should be required reading for all students so that they might appreciate Murphy and what people like him have done for our country, as well as appreciating just how terrible wars really are.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Recommended

    I have always been interested in heros. Audie Murphy was a true hero. I enjoyed the book, but in true A.M. fashion, he did not cover the times when he was decorated or for what battles. I would recommend this book for Military lovers. Very descriptive of what the men go through in battles, no glossing over like a movie would.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    To Hell and Back

    Audie Murphy to Hell and Back is extremely interesting an eye opener into his life and others along the way. You will understand what a horrible war this was and his part in it. It's a Must read for anyone who is interested Military history especially World War 2.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    good

    I've actually never read this version. I read the original version which doesn't have the part written by Tom Brokaw. That version was excellent and I'm sure that this one is too.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Right in the Foxhole!

    "They can kill you but they can't eat you...That's the Law" one quote that I will always remember from Murphy's book. I saw the movie as a kid and after all the books I have read on world war 2, finally I read the master. You follow Murph through his first action in Sicily to his final months of combat in Germany. He cared about his men and and fought to keep them alive. You feel his pain with each loss of his comrades. He realized that war had made him but would not defined him as a human being. As a Vietnam vet I found a profound kinship with this author and his experiences. They are timeless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Audie Murphy's To Hell and Back

    To bad its a paperback.......much more detailed and absorbing than the movie was. This book takes you through some of the bloodiest and toughest battles of WW II. Murphy was a real hero's hero during the time that there was exceptional gallantry every day of the war. Good reading!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Great book.

    Written in ordinary, plain English that carries you through a soldier's journey of what almost everyone of us will never experience. Surely we were blessed with a heroic generation of common men who did what they had to do to try and keep each other alive and win a war. How could thank you ever be enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    To hell and back

    Very good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    One of the greatest books I have even read. I love to read about

    One of the greatest books I have even read. I love to read about WWII, but I first picked up this book for my Texas History course at A&M. I had to write a review of someone significant to Texas history, but I found Murphy to be overall important to history. This book gives an excellent perspective to warfare during WWII. Highly recommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A terrific and inspirational read

    It is a classic true war story about an American hero. It shoul remind all of us how important it is to honor and never forget our veterans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I would highly recommend it

    Has to be great Some say Gen MacArthur was the most decorated but I don't think so except maybe for politics. Haven't got to read the book but have seen the movie several times and his story is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Impressive

    Impressive American and human being. Well told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2