Customer Reviews for

To Hold the Crown: The Story of King Henry VII and Elizabeth of York (Tudor Saga Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!

Plaidy again excels at her talent. Weaving together the tramatic story of Henry the seventh and Elizabeth of York in outstanding detail.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not Plaidy's best

I was always curious about Henry VII and Elizabeth of York, I also love all things Plaidy so when I saw this book I was psyched! Although it's good, it gets more into Henry VII and young Henry VIII and their relationship and doesn't develope the relationship between th...
I was always curious about Henry VII and Elizabeth of York, I also love all things Plaidy so when I saw this book I was psyched! Although it's good, it gets more into Henry VII and young Henry VIII and their relationship and doesn't develope the relationship between the King and Queen, as I hoped. Still worth reading if you're a fan of this genre.

posted by 1141312 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Good, but not Plaidy's best

    I was always curious about Henry VII and Elizabeth of York, I also love all things Plaidy so when I saw this book I was psyched! Although it's good, it gets more into Henry VII and young Henry VIII and their relationship and doesn't develope the relationship between the King and Queen, as I hoped. Still worth reading if you're a fan of this genre.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Good Historical Read

    This first book in the 9 volume Tudor saga set the historical stage, but it was not as riveting as some of her other books. I would have enjoyed more insight into the relationship of Henry VII and Elizabeth of York. Still a worthwhile read. Am starting on Katharine of Aragon, which duplicates some of the info contained in Book 1.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good read, but not a page turner.

    I have read many books by Jean Plaidy so I was eager to read To Hold The Crown. Her usual writing style is easy and insightful. I found this book, however, to be daunting and repeptative. Although I was able to glean facts from the text I found I had to force myself to finish the book. Jean Plaidy is an accomplished writer, to be sure, however, this is not my favorite of hers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    Title Misleads

    This book in not really about Henry VII and Elizabeth of York. It mostly focuses on Henry VII trying to establish a solid foundation for the Tudor dynasty to build off of. In fact Elizabeth of York really only has a role in the beginning of the book. However, To Hold the Crown is interesting and gives insight into how the Tudor dynasty started. The story is told from multiple points of view which can get a little annoying at points. If you are a Tudor history buff or just want to learn a few facts about the Tudors this is a good book for you. It is a quick and easy read which can help pass the time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Good

    A little slow at first. Page 200 has a spelling error.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Not what I expected

    Suprised when I read this, bought it since I am a fan of the
    author but it didn't live up to my expectations- Queen Elizabeth was just background filler instead of a main character and the book has a tendency to repeat itself. Did enjoy it though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Good book

    This book was good but the story was more about Henry VIII than Henry VII and Elizabeth of York. It held my interest and was well-written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    The Tudor Dynasty Begins

    I love reading about the Tudors; so when I discovered that Jean Plaidy wrote a series on them, I was ecstatic! The storyline kept my interest and I was able to completely immerse myself into whatever situation arose before me on the page. I am so looking forward to reading the entire Tudor series and more from Jean Plaidy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Outstanding read. Transports you right to the center of everything and keeps you there until the very end. You will laugh with the characters, cry with the characters, and regret the story is ending. So, now on with the next volume - Katharine of Aragon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Escape

    I loved this book. I enjoyed the Tudor children and reading how their childhood would create the character flaws that are now so well known. I great look into the life of Henry VII.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Decent

    Overall it is a decent book. Some of the characters are a bit flat. Follows history moderately well. Not a bad book by any means.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    A Must Read!

    Plaidy again excels at her talent. Weaving together the tramatic story of Henry the seventh and Elizabeth of York in outstanding detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3