Customer Reviews for

To Kill A Warlock

Average Rating 4
( 1275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(568)

4 Star

(400)

3 Star

(194)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended Urban Fantasy

H.P. Mallory continues her success as a superb Urban Fantasy author with her sophomore book, To Kill A Warlock. Full of humor, intrigue, romance and betrayal of the ultimate kind, Mallory pulled me in from the beginning. Mallory creates a fantastical world where superna...
H.P. Mallory continues her success as a superb Urban Fantasy author with her sophomore book, To Kill A Warlock. Full of humor, intrigue, romance and betrayal of the ultimate kind, Mallory pulled me in from the beginning. Mallory creates a fantastical world where supernatural creatures thrive. The beginning of the book had me charmed and laughing, the end had me sitting on the edge of my seat. Dulcie is a heroine readers will immediately relate to and cheer for until the end.

posted by LoriBrighton on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Yawn

Yet another romance with a rude, spoiled female lead. Made it about halfway before I had to bail.

posted by scribblegurl on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1278 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Highly Recommended Urban Fantasy

    H.P. Mallory continues her success as a superb Urban Fantasy author with her sophomore book, To Kill A Warlock. Full of humor, intrigue, romance and betrayal of the ultimate kind, Mallory pulled me in from the beginning. Mallory creates a fantastical world where supernatural creatures thrive. The beginning of the book had me charmed and laughing, the end had me sitting on the edge of my seat. Dulcie is a heroine readers will immediately relate to and cheer for until the end.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rating a big 4.75!! Whoop!

    Review: While I sat waiting for my Nook to power up I wondered what to expect from the book and author. Honestly, I have never heard of Mallory before. The first sentence the author hooked me into Dulcie's unique world of magical creatures who have integrated with humans over the last 50 years.

    Dulcie, our heroine, is a fairy. I cringed a bit at this. But no matter what I thought or what you will think I assure you she is not a typical fairy. She works for the Association of Netherworld Creatures (ANC), which enforces polices that are created for otherworldy creatures who live among humans. She also has a side job/hobby. She is writing a book and dreams of being published. *gasps* Really, yup. I like reading the scenes of this book. LOL Dulcie is a hardcore, smart, funny, and entertaining fairy, with some magical gifts, who is determined to be the best Regulator in the area. What is not to love?


    Even though Dulcie is female who has mastered the art of kick a$$ she went through a bad relationship and like most of us she came out with a few scars. Although, her broken heart makes the romance interesting it evokes a small self confidence issue, concerning her ears. Fairies should have cute pointed ears, but she does not think so. Quillan and Knight *be still my beating heart* were a great touch to a triangle romance that has you doing the which one dance within your head.


    Dulcie teams up with Knight off the record, but of course. You only want to work with a steamy pile of hot bad boy man flesh when no one knows about it. Knight is a Relations Officer from the Netherworld. Together, the two heat the pages up as they take on a mystery concerning the murder of a magical Warlock who is known for selling illegal potions. Illegal drugs, illegal potions... *tsk tsk tsk* It just so happens that Dulcie is the last person to see him alive. What? Now she sets out on this captivating mission, the bodies pile up and she is in a race to find the killer before the killer finds her first. *dom dom dom* It is a great race against time. The ending is a bit rushed but I forgive it because everything else rated really high with me. Honestly, this story had me glued either way.


    This book has everything I enjoy in a good book. A dark side, handsome men, mystery, a sadistic demon, romance, good twists, magical elements, and BETRAYAL. & a sadistic demon. Oh, I said that.

    Read the book. I did and I was greatly surprised. You will be too!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lookout Vampires and Werewolves, there is a Fairy in charge!

    Dulcie is a fairy who's job as a Regulator (Netherworld police officer) is to make sure the extraordinary folks - demons, vampires, hobgoblins, warlocks, gremlins, etc. - play nice with the ordinary human folk around them. Quillan, Dulcie's (the fairy) boss has more than a mentor feeling for Dulcie. So does the new hottie in town, Knight. A super-spy level Regulator of sorts. There are no shortages of other fine folk - a sexy vampire, a not-so-bad looking demon, and her best friend, a witch named Samantha (of course!) round out the crew with a few other secondary characters.

    Dulcie is spelled during a visit to the warlock's shop. Soon the warlock is dead and Dulcie appears to be the last person to see him. While she's in the shop, she sees Tall Dark and Handsome, soon to be known as Knight. She later finds out he's a head honcho for her company and he asks her to help find the murderer.

    One thing leads to another and soon Dulcie has three men wanting to replace her ex (who dumped her a year ago after a five-year relationship - after having been cheating on her for the last three years of that five).

    Dulcie soon learns that she has to start trusting people and she soon finds out one of the men she starts trusting has moved to the "dark side".

    Excellent read from beginning to end. A true joy.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    These books are great! I have read all four of HP Mallory's books and can't wait for the third in each series to be released. It makes me sad when they end. Fun and fast read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    This is really a fun book.

    This is something that couldn't put it down. Want to read anything else she wrote.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    This book was great, cross between Stephanie Plum and Twilight

    I really enjoyed this book, the characters were creatively believable. There was action, humor, sarcasm, I was very entertained. I had to go buy the rest of the books by H P Mallory and was not disappointed. Can't wait for sequils to both storylines. Thanks H P Mallory!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Yawn

    Yet another romance with a rude, spoiled female lead. Made it about halfway before I had to bail.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Funny and Entertaining!

    I enjoyed both this series and the Jolie Wilkins series. H.P. Mallory's books are well written, original and very entertaining. Her most expensive book right now is only $2.99 and I would be willing to pay more than that for next books in the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    I have never been an avid reader of paranormal books and have NEVER read vampire books. A friend recomended the "Sookie Stackhouse" thinking I would like them. As I was perusing the nook books, my eyes kept coming back to this book but I kept disregarding it b/c it was a paranormal. I finally decided to take a closer look, and at reading the rave reviews someone wrote "if you like sookie stackhouse, you'll love these". So I figured I'd take a chance and THANK GOODNESS!!! Not only did I fall in love with ALL of HP Mallory's books, I have fallen in love w/ paranormals and can't get enough! This author gave me more than the gift of reading her books, she gave me an entire genre!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    HP Mallory does not disappoint!

    And the hits just keep coming! We're on to a second series and it's just as charming as the first.
    Ear augmentations, sexy Loki's, spicy vampires, naughty demons, sarcastic witches, and sassy fairies await you in this fantastic page turner.
    HP Mallory is totally worth buying a nook just to get her stories.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love H.P. Mallory's books!

    I read H.P. Mallory's other book Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble and was hooked! I absolutely had to see what else she had written. I was not disappointed. Her books are clever, sexy and a lot of fun. I am anxiously awaiting book number two in this series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Great series

    The Dulcie O'Neiel series was one great adventure from start to finish. I could not put them down. If you love paranormal adventures I recommend any of H.P. Mallory's books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    I think I might have liked this book, but I definitely could not

    I think I might have liked this book, but I definitely could not get
    past all the language used and the snippets of S&M, and other scenes
    that could have been left out that seemed a little distasteful in my
    eyes. I think the idea for the book was good, but don't want to have the
    dime store romance and S&M, and GD dropped all the time. Sorry,
    can't like this one, not for me.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Adorable!

    Cute, well written, definitely worth a read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    I adore HP and love every book!

    I adore HP and love every book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Good story but it's a book 1, there is not a real ending.

    Recommended

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    wonderful!!!

    this book is amazing. after i finised i immediatly bought the sequel. i only wished it would have been longer. and i wish there were many more books in the series. if you like paranormal books with action and romance i recommend this and the second book. i fell in love with the characters and it was so fun to read. i couldnt put it down!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I really, really liked this book. Once I started reading it, I couldn't stop. I felt like I was actually part of the story, which is always fun. Five stars!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Okay

    Was a good story.
    I liked the Jolie Wilkens series better (couldn't put it down). This one wasn't as exciting, it was more cute than anything. Still, it wasn't a waste and is something good enough to recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Loved every minute of this book! I wasn't sure what to expect a

    Loved every minute of this book! I wasn't sure what to expect as Dulcie is a fairy and I didn't think it would be too exciting, but I'd read HP's Jolie Wilkins stories and loved them so much I decided to give To Kill a Warlock a try. I couldn't put it down! HP has such a fantastic imagination, she creates an underworld plot that is out of the norm and sooo much fun to read! Can't wait to read more of the series!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1278 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64