Customer Reviews for

To Kill a Warlock (Dulcie O'Neil Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(568)

4 Star

(399)

3 Star

(194)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended Urban Fantasy

H.P. Mallory continues her success as a superb Urban Fantasy author with her sophomore book, To Kill A Warlock. Full of humor, intrigue, romance and betrayal of the ultimate kind, Mallory pulled me in from the beginning. Mallory creates a fantastical world where superna...
H.P. Mallory continues her success as a superb Urban Fantasy author with her sophomore book, To Kill A Warlock. Full of humor, intrigue, romance and betrayal of the ultimate kind, Mallory pulled me in from the beginning. Mallory creates a fantastical world where supernatural creatures thrive. The beginning of the book had me charmed and laughing, the end had me sitting on the edge of my seat. Dulcie is a heroine readers will immediately relate to and cheer for until the end.

posted by LoriBrighton on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Yawn

Yet another romance with a rude, spoiled female lead. Made it about halfway before I had to bail.

posted by scribblegurl on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Yawn

    Yet another romance with a rude, spoiled female lead. Made it about halfway before I had to bail.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    I think I might have liked this book, but I definitely could not

    I think I might have liked this book, but I definitely could not get
    past all the language used and the snippets of S&M, and other scenes
    that could have been left out that seemed a little distasteful in my
    eyes. I think the idea for the book was good, but don't want to have the
    dime store romance and S&M, and GD dropped all the time. Sorry,
    can't like this one, not for me.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Wasn't worth my time

    I seriously felt like the author wrote this in high school. The characters are flat, the wording and descriptions were lacking, and the characters had zero believably that any of them were professional detectives. Dulcie acted a lot like she was in a twilight book, and the writing style didn't help. I felt no sympathy for any of the characters, and the ending was pretty predictable. I skim read the ending because I wanted to see if I was right, then stopped reading. If you're looking for an intelligent read that is in the same genre, please look up the Dresden Files books by Jim Butcher. I promise those will not disappoint you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    It's.....okay

    It reads like the story should take place in a high school. It's just a little too young for my taists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Not for me

    As a guy, this book was not for me. Obviously this is some sort of fantasy aimed at women. I don't begrudge it that. I just wish it was better written than it is; this has all sorts of grammar and word use issues. Still, it is sort of creative. Any story that starts with the main heroine turned into a giant green monster is doing something right. I'd feel worse about getting it if I'd paid more than a dollar. That's about what it is worth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Ok.

    Not as good as her others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Nice Fluff

    I sufficiently enjoyed the book to finish it. The story was engaging. The characters were a bit too 2D. The supernatural characters seemed a bit too human to me - I thought the book would have been more interesting if they had more qualities of the 'other." The characters reminded me of ones from Janet Evonavich's Plum series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    JUST OK

    THE BOOK WAS GOOD, but nothing outstanding. I kinda think this author is overrated. Or maybe i just cant' get into fairies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Expected better

    The writing was engaging most of the time, but Dulcie irritated me quite a bit in her actions toward Knight. I will probably read the sequel though just to see if she gets nicer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    Did not care for this book.

    Where the title came from I don't know because the book really has nothing to do with a Warlock. The author uses the "GD word" on just about every page. The book is a big tease because Dulcie turns everyone down. I deleted it from my library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Could have been really good

    Its a shame that a writer feels that they have to have foul language and the constantly sexual content to make a book interesting. I thought that the idea for the book was really good and refreshing but that all the extra junk could have been left out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4