Customer Reviews for

To Kill a Warlock (Dulcie O'Neil Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(568)

4 Star

(399)

3 Star

(194)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended Urban Fantasy

H.P. Mallory continues her success as a superb Urban Fantasy author with her sophomore book, To Kill A Warlock. Full of humor, intrigue, romance and betrayal of the ultimate kind, Mallory pulled me in from the beginning. Mallory creates a fantastical world where superna...
H.P. Mallory continues her success as a superb Urban Fantasy author with her sophomore book, To Kill A Warlock. Full of humor, intrigue, romance and betrayal of the ultimate kind, Mallory pulled me in from the beginning. Mallory creates a fantastical world where supernatural creatures thrive. The beginning of the book had me charmed and laughing, the end had me sitting on the edge of my seat. Dulcie is a heroine readers will immediately relate to and cheer for until the end.

posted by LoriBrighton on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Yawn

Yet another romance with a rude, spoiled female lead. Made it about halfway before I had to bail.

posted by scribblegurl on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Okay

    Was a good story.
    I liked the Jolie Wilkens series better (couldn't put it down). This one wasn't as exciting, it was more cute than anything. Still, it wasn't a waste and is something good enough to recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    I really wanted to like it...

    ..but I didn't. The writing needs an editor. The protagonist is a Mary Sue with the normal three otherworldly men drooling unabashedly over her.
    The story was fine until the end. It was like it ended and then there were five chapters of long, woefully uneventful epilogue.

    The plot itself was alright. It didn't strike me as engrossing or terribly original. I guess that if I read this book when i was a grade 10, I'd have thought it brilliant. As it is... it's unimpressive. If you're just starting to read UF then by all means give it a go. If you happen to read this genre regularly, save yourself a few hours and don't.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Wow for Mallory

    After reading her amazing book "Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble" I decided I had to read To Kill a Warlock and it did not disappoint! Just as enticing as her first work, To Kill a Warlock left me wanting more and not wanting to put down the book. She does an amazing job of pulling the reader into the world and letting the characters take the reader on the journey with them.
    Dulcie was a fairy with trust issues. You know the story...woman loves man, man screws other women. Since her break-up, she hadn't moved on, hated her Spock-like ears, desired to be an author, and was determined to be the best Regulator she could be. What is a regulator you ask? Think paranormal cop working for the ANC (Association of Netherworld Creatures) - cops who policed creatures living among the humans. The story is great and well paced.
    I LOVED the ending... it was unpredicted which left me asking what happens next? I felt that To Kill A Warlock was a fascinating book, with lots of suspense and if you're a fan of sexual tension... H.P. Mallory is a pro at it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Fast &fun

    This is a fast moving, fun read. Good for a Sunday afternoon, contains a few surprises

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    Cute read

    This is a cute read and a different take on witches and the underworld. If your looking for an easy read, in a fantasy world, you will enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would; an easy story t

    I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would; an easy story to follow along with, some parts were a bit darker than I would
    have thought for the story, but overall an enjoyable read for me. I like narratives that can keep the flow going without getting
    too bogged down and serious for long stretches; there's enough drama in real life, that's the reason I read, to escape to a
    trivial destination that doesn't require me to think and have to read between the lines to get the deeper meaning of the story.
    I'm a wife and  working mom, I need a daily dose of escapism!

    With that said, I can say that I will be reading about Ms. Dulcie O'Neill's exploits throughout the rest of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Ok

    For a free book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Expected...

    After reading the Jolie Wilkins series, I was really excited to start reading this series and had high hopes it would draw me into the story. Unfortunately, this book seemed very slow paced and not as exciting. I didn't feel there was much 'meat' to the story but am curious to see how it will unravel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    So-so

    I thought this book was really boring until the last few chapters, that's when it got really good. Hopefully the second book is a lot better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    short yet intgriguing

    Interesting take on paranormal, yet the first two books are not as well written as the books 3 and 4. I like the Dulcie character, but sometimes her personal decisions don't make sense considering she is a detective. Despite these things, I am looking forward to the next book. I think this author will improve with more writing and more time. I really like the concept of her "world."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, quick read; fairy heroine an interesting twist. Vivid char

    Fun, quick read; fairy heroine an interesting twist. Vivid characters, decent plot, some spoofs of other paranormal series thrown in, overload of paranormal races should lead to plenty of fodder for rest of series. Not going to re-write synopsis--the book description here is accurate. Reading the bundled edition on Kindle; had to go back and read one of author's self-published works (not thrilled with her recently mainstream published works).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun heroine that anyone can relate to.

    Great heroine...easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Fair

    Quick, amusing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Recommended for easy reading of mystery and romance!

    This book was quite entertaining! It has creatures from another parallel and detective work rolled into one with a little romance on top! The characters were great and the storyline didn't stray. It leaves you wondering who the murderer is all the way to the end and makes you want more romance( not PG 13 kind) through the book! A cute paranormal mystery that's a an eay read. Can't wait to read the next one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Cute, but....

    It was a cute and interesting book, but had a little too much vulgarity in it for me. Unfortunately, I had already purchased this author's other books b4 reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Mixed feelings

    This book was totally entertaining with some LOL moments. Really enjoyed the characters and the story line which was off beat and quirky. However, I HATED the ending. The fun of reading a good book sort of takes a downward spiral when you read the last page and say "really"? I like a tidy, satisfying ending. Didn't get it. Maybe it's more of a "to be continued" type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Hhhvnnhl...m

    ,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    It's ok...

    Not nearly as good as her Jolie Wilkins series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Fun

    The one thing I could have asked for was a little more romance to add some spice! fun read will check out the next one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    light, tasty, empty calories, but will while away an afternoon

    HP Mallory is not Eudora Welty but if you wish to lay about with a cool drink or a steaming toddy, this does nicely

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10