Customer Reviews for

To Kill a Mockingbird

Average Rating 4.5
( 1982 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1397)

4 Star

(345)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD

Jean Louise Finch, better known as Scout, narrates this tale that covers roughly 2 years of her childhood starting from shortly before she started the 1st grade. The story is a mixture of many elements including a mysterious neighbor named Boo Radley, various coming of ...
Jean Louise Finch, better known as Scout, narrates this tale that covers roughly 2 years of her childhood starting from shortly before she started the 1st grade. The story is a mixture of many elements including a mysterious neighbor named Boo Radley, various coming of age issues regarding Scout and her brother Jem, and her father, Atticus, defending a black man accused of raping a white woman. As the story is set in Alabama in the 1930s, the rape case is particularly incendiary.
To Kill A Mockingbird is such a classic piece of American literature that most people read it in high school.
While there were a few descriptions of rural southern life that ran on a bit long for my taste, the novel was well worth reading. For sheer entertainment value, I enjoyed the Boo Radley subplot the most as it is, both, mildly suspenseful and immensely interesting.
Of course, the novel is most famous for the rape trial and this is also compelling in a fairly horrifying and very sad way. Harper Lee paints a vivid portrait of the extent to which African Americans were relegated to a status far below even second class in that place and time. Atticus Finch does a masterful job of defending the accused, but he knows that the all-white jury has practically cast their votes before ever entering the courtyard. The author uses the narrative voice of the children to highlight the blatant injustices and the outrage that any decent person would feel as a result. The technique is highly effective if not exactly subtle.
To Kill a Mockingbird is easy to recommend. The story is interesting, the characters substantial, and the subject is still relevant today. It's a shame that Harper Lee has not published a second novel but this single book is likely to ensure that her voice will continue to be heard for many years to come. A very good read.

posted by 148253 on October 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Download To Kill a Mockingbird For Free

Download To Kill a Mockingbird For Free From Here goo.gl/xhrdH

posted by 9114493 on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1982 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 100
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Really

    I thought that this book is o.k. It's definately not the greatest book I've ever read. Really, it gets kid of boring to be honest. Like, it's worth reading, but it's not the kind of book you want to read when you want something fascinating and thrilling. But really, I'm glad I read it, I don't regret getting it. It's a classic, really, and I think it's an o.k book. But if you really want to know how the book is, you should really read it yourself.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Confusing and frustrating

    I was forced to read this book for my english class. As soon as i had started it, i became immediately frustrated with all of the hard words that made it confusing to understand. I do NOT recomend this book to anyone. It is entirely to confusing and the subject seems to change to frequently. If you are older, then maybe you'd understand it better, but if you are in Jr. High, then this book might end up getting thrown at the wall in such frustration.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    why?

    I had to read this for my honors english class and I was really pretty excited for it because i had always heard such great things about it but had never read it. So i found this an opportunity to read something that had recieved such high acclaim. Unfortunately I was so thourghly dissapointed that throughout the entire noval I felt like burning the book. Now obviously I mean this to show my opinion I wouldn't actually ever burn a book but I found the book to be really average and the story rather boring. Just when I thought it would get interesting some shift in the story makes it just as boring as before. The characters were predictable and not very well developed, the writing was that of a 3rd grader, and the story was ulitimately dull. When finally, FINALLY, it reached its peak with the court room everyone I know and myself were all wondering when the peak of the noval was coming because we didn't find the real point of the book to be worthwhile point at all. Not only is it an over emphisized moral but its also portrayed in a dull, lifeless, slowpaced way. The point that was trying to be made could have easily been portrayed in a better more interesting manner. By the time I was finished with the book I was left with a sense of a lack of full filment and I am greatly dissapointed in a book that has recieved so much acclaim. Unless you're forced like I was, I say you should probably not even bother and go find a better classic to read

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Interesting in some parts, but boring in most lol.

    I had to read this in eighth grade, and oh my gosh I would just fall asleep reading it. It was long and boring and I just wasn't into it. There was some good parts, but it just wasn't my book. Not something I'd ever remember reading.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Awful!

    Me, I personally HATED this book. I did not enhoy it at all. I had to read it for school so that a lot of enjoyment out of it because the book is fairly long and I didn't get to read at my own pace and I was rushed, I didn't get to comprhend the book well, I had to do worksheets on it, and I was really dissappointed with the story line, it was very dull.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    OVERRATED TOO HARD!

    I read this book in grade 10. I hardly paid much attention it. I failed the test and essay in my English class. Too many people I know have read this book, so I give it a zero. Lots of other books in the world need attention, such as 'The Chrysalids'.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    i thought it was stupid

    I thought it was kinda stupid sorry to say. I didn't really enjoy it because it was a classic and I'm not really interested in those types of books, but i had to read it because our teacher assigned it to our class. I also thought the book was confusing and not funny or entertaining.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    Do not read this book unless you like to sleep in class!!! Get some ZZZZZZZ!!!

    The book was not incredible understandable, not for me anyway. It was not a very interest getting story. The story line was very blah and bland, dull. I fell asleep while reading this book in class even with enough sleep. Teenagers should not have to read this book, its boring.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    Not A Classic, I Don't Understand Why Everyone Loves This Book.

    I truly don't see what the big deal is. If I had to describe this book in 1 word it would be boring. This book takes forever to get interesting After chapter 17 (if you manage to get there before permanently setting this book down which I don't think would be that hard)it becomes fair. The book is poorly written and it should not be called a classic unless classic means an old book that really sucks but lets praise it anyway. No wonder why this is Harper Lee's only novel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    9th graders should not be forced to read this we mean no one should

    this book is impossible to get into we are in the middle of part 2 and we still don't understand what people see in this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    This Book Gives Me The ZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    This Book Is The Most Boring Book I've Ever Read In My Thirteen Years Of Existence!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Review of To Kill a Mockingbird                                

    Review of To Kill a Mockingbird                                                                   
    I would like to start off by saying that I strongly disliked this book. I know, please don't kill me yet fans. I honestly can not understand why everyone loves it so much. I had to read this book for school and was excited to read it as everyone whom I had heard from claimed it was a literary masterpiece. After completing it, I thought I had read a different book than them. The plot is so random I hardly understand what is happening, the characters are weak, and the "symbols" (for example the rabid dog and the mockingbirds) are stuffed down your throat. It felt like the whole book was someone recalling on a past experience of theirs and exaggerating every detail. Some details just make absolutely no sense. Plus the whole part with the (SPOILERS AHEAD!!!!!!) trial, everyone knew what the result was going to be yet they extended that scene out forever, The book was EXTREMELY predictable, so much so that I felt I didn't even need to read the book, having been able to correctly predict everything that happened at the start of chapter 10. And my absolute least favorite part was at the end when scout (her name doesn't deserve to be capitalized) said that it would be like shooting a mockingbird. I wanted to go back in time and kill harper lee (whose name also doesn't deserve to be capitalized) before she wrote this crap so that i wouldn't have to suffer through it!
    So yeah, I hate this book, I loathe it with a passion. It is the second worst book I have ever read. [The first being the bible (which also doesn't deserve to be capitalized)]
    If you want to read at least a decent book, read ANYTHING other than this. IT IS APPALLING! (I burned my copy after I read it.)
    Ignore what any one else says, you WILL regret reading this trash. 

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    it freakin sucks

    it freakin sucks

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Sad excuse for literature

    Horrible! I love reading any type or genre but this book was dreadful just a disaster and so boring

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Only 17 pages

    ?..

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Slowest Book I've Ever Read

    I read this book for English class a year ago, and was completely unimpressed with it.

    The entire first half of the novel is nothing but symbolism and random events. Because of the poor pacing, the characters become tiring quickly - how many times do they have to drill in your head that Scout's a tomboy? Or that Atticus is wise?

    Disappointingly, despite the fact that an entire twelve chapters was spent introducing the characters, you don't get to meet Tom Robinson or anyone else who plays a role in the case. Your time spent with them is short - you don't get a feel for them, so (aside from the injustice) you don't feel a need to care about anyone.

    Overall, terrible pacing ruined what was considered one of America's greatest classics.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    LOVED IT

    I read this book for a school project and i ended up really liking it.
    The story is so intense and is a definite page turner. I sort of got confused but the style choice of writing but over all it was amazing. The whole plot was perfect. The ending wasn't what i had expected it to be but that made the book so much better. I wish they made another book to show the life of Atticus and his children afterward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic

    I read this book my freshman year of high school. When I learned that we were to be reading this story as part of a "big grade," I was sceptic. It sounded, to sum it up, boring. Then slowly assigned homework turned to reading for entertainment. Although, this book started out forced upon, it become one of my all time favorites! Sometimes good things just fall into your lap.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Was Impressed!

    At first, when I was given this book in my English class. I was excited to read it, then I started... I was disappointed with the first half of the book. I was slow and dragged on, but I kept going. Once I started the second part of the book, I started to get very into the story. The trial started and the story kept taking new twists and turns! I could not put it down! This book is definitely one that everyone should read. They don't call it a classic for nothing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A delightful diverson from the high school novels that have to be read

    Of course a literary classic. I actually read this novel for high school the 10th grade, it made me realize there were other genres of books other than sci/fi fantasy that could be worth pursuing. The writing style is excellent, the characters are very vivid, and the reading is captivating. Every now and then, there is a TV show or movie with the line,"having a Boo Radley moment", aqnd younger people look blank and confused, which is quite sad. It was always been confusing whether to say this was a book about children, even though the main theme is about racism, but after having read this novel time and time again, it is suitable for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1982 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 100