Customer Reviews for

To Know You

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    ¿To Know You¿ by Shannon Ethridge, Author & Speaker and Kat


    “To Know You” by Shannon Ethridge, Author & Speaker and Kathryn Mackel is by far one of the most brilliant books I have ever read. Right from its captivating first words to the surprise of a lifetime ending; this book covers a multitude of real life issue’s that all tie in to its main theme of REDEMPTION! The amazing story line takes you on an emotional and powerful journey that keeps you on the edge throughout its entirety. Although this book is a fictional work I could not help but be completely captivated by its realism. Line by line I was drawn deeper into the story and felt as if I was living it myself. The realistic portrayal of character’s and events hit on every emotion common to man/woman and kept me glued for hours on end. “To Know You” is a perfect picture of God’s love, diversity, character, and redemption painted brilliantly and tastefully into a wonderful mosaic masterpiece. Young, old, male, female, Christian or not, this book is definitely a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    This book is absolutely wonderful, and has it all.  I didn't wan

    This book is absolutely wonderful, and has it all.  I didn't want to put it down!  As I was reading it, I had the thought that it will be whatever the reader needs it to be -- from simply a well-written compelling Christian novel, to either a lesson in forgiveness, or in how marriage should be, or that it's ok to talk about and think about sex and be sexual in marriage because that's how God created us and it's one of the gifts He's given us.  And all the twists and turns!  When I was nearing the end, I thought I had it figured out but was thrown for a loop yet again!  
     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Absolutely riveting! The multiple layers of the story kept my he

    Absolutely riveting! The multiple layers of the story kept my heart and mind engaged, and the redemption theme throughout kept the tears flowing. This is the kind of story you stay up all night reading, because you can't bear the thought of going to sleep not knowing what happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    This was one of the most intense books I've read this year. Fill

    This was one of the most intense books I've read this year. Filled with page turning story-line that delves much deeper than your average Christian fiction will go. You will laugh and cry with each character as they learn to forgive, let go and let God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel, in their new book, "To

    Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel, in their new book, "To Know You” published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Julia Whittaker.




    From the back cover:   Julia Whittaker’s rocky past yielded two daughters, both given up for adoption as infants. Now she must find them to try to save her son.




    Julia and Matt Whittaker’s son has beaten the odds for thirteen years only to have the odds—and his liver—crash precipitously. The only hope for his survival is a “living liver” transplant, but the transplant list is long and Dillon’s time is short. His two older half-sisters, born eighteen months apart to two different fathers, offer his only hope for survival.




    But can Julia ask a young woman—someone she surrendered to strangers long ago and has never spoken with—to make such a sacrifice to save a brother she’s never known? Can she muster the courage to journey back into a shame-filled season of her life, face her choices and their consequences, and find any hope of healing?




    And what if she discovers in her own daughters’ lives that a history of foolish choices threatens to repeat itself? Julia knows she’s probably embarking on a fool’s errand—searching for the daughters she abandoned only now that she needs something from them. But love compels Julia to take this journey. Can grace and forgiveness compel her daughters to join her?




    In To Know You, Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel explore how the past creates the present . . . and how even the most shattered lives can be redeemed.




    Let me start by saying “To Know You” is a tear-jerker.  This is not to say this is bad just that it is highly emotional and you should have a box of tissues standing by.  Julia had to give up two daughters by two separate fathers for adoption.  It has been at least twenty years since she has seen either man and has never seen either daughter.  Now she has a son who is dying and needs the help of these daughters if the son is ever to live.  This is the kind of movie that they air on a Sunday night.  It has plenty of atmosphere, great characters and an incredible story.  Your chores will suffer once you start reading this book because you will not want to put it down.  I do not believe I have ever read a story like this before and I am quite impressed.  Ms. Ethridge and Ms. Mackel have done an outstanding job.




    Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    To Know You is the first of Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel'

    To Know You is the first of Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel's writing I have had the honor of reading. To Know You is Shannon Ethridge's debut novel. To Know You is a novel about Julia Whittaker, who years before gave 2 daughters up for adoption to give them better lives, but now needs them to try and help her son who is in need of a liver transplant. Julia never intended to meet her girls, she gave them up to give them better lives and never wanted to interfere even now that they are adults. Her 13 yr old son is dying and the only way to save him is a living liver transplant. Julia finds herself on a plane to meet her daughters, Destiny and Hope. She finds Destiny, learning her adoptive parents kept the name Julia gave her all those years ago. Julia then finds herself with Destiny in tow to meet Hope, now Chloe. Both girls very different from one another but Julia sees herself in both of them. They embark on a journey to meet birth fathers and learn about one another. As they go on this journey, tragedies bring them together.

    To Know You is a beautiful novel about how our mistakes become blessings in the hardest situations. As someone who has a liver disease and knows liver transplant is something that could be needed this hit very close to home. Also as a parent, knowing that if my child was sick, the length I would go to find what they needed also made this novel real. These authors write with authority on adoption, liver disease, medical procedures, and finding forgiveness. The characters are truly inspiring as they take their brokenness and find forgiveness from one another and God. I found myself completely submerged in this novel and it has stayed with me long after I finished it. I found myself laughing out loud in parts and sobbing in others as these families go through this journey. I can't say enough about this beautiful novel. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian Fiction, you will not be disappointed. I cannot wait for the next novel in this series, from these authors. I give this book 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    I knew of Shannon Ethridge as a non-fiction writer. I was intrig

    I knew of Shannon Ethridge as a non-fiction writer. I was intrigued by her jump to fiction and curious as to what her story-telling style might be like. Oh my! I was completely blown away by To Know You!

    While the story didn't take off and have me hanging on for dear life, I was immediately drawn into the plot. I was eager to see how Julia's story would intersect with her two daughters' lives and if the author would be able to pull off telling three distinct stories with three very diverse main characters. I loved how the author used "flash backs" to tell about Julia's past (and therefore Destiny and Chloe's past as well). And while there were a few times I had trouble making the POV switch, for the most part I was able to keep up. :)

    To me, the best part of the book was the way the author made the characters come alive. I felt every bit of their emotions. At various times, I wanted to hug one character or shake another one senseless. It truly seemed as though I was reading about friends rather than paper people.

    At times, parts of the plot seemed a bit unrealistic ... perhaps it was "too much" to believe that all this could happen to one individual. But that didn't keep me from loving the story. Instead, it made me empathize even more with Julia and anxious to see her get her happy ending. (No spoilers here! You'll have to read and find out for yourself!)

    The author tackles a wide range of pretty serious topics, including the serious illness of a child, organ donation, adoption, and sexual relationships outside of marriage. This book is probably better suited for mature readers.

    I'm happy to give two thumbs up to this incredible book. While I don't keep many books on my "keeper" shelf, this one has earned its rightful place there! Highly, highly recommend! [5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Julia Whittaker was no stranger heartbreak. After two failed rel

    Julia Whittaker was no stranger heartbreak. After two failed relationships that ended with giving up two daughters for adoption, she didn't think her heart could break anymore than it had in the past. But now her son Dillon was dying. Dillon was diagnosed with Biliary Artresia Liver disease at birth. Now at the age of thirteen he needed a new liver and he needed it soon. Having ruled out ever possible donor, Julia and her husband Matt knew their only hope were the two daughters she gave up at birth. Julia embarks on a journey to save her son but it ends up being so much more.

    Destiny Conners has been living with Luke for awhile and things were going great until Luke let God into his life. When Luke started changing Destiny refused to accept it. She wasn't only pushing Luke away but God as well. What had a God ever done for her? When Her biological mother showed up on her doorstep asking her to be tested and save her step-brother's life she knew she would be faced with some hard decisions. Her only request was to meet her real father and her step-sister, Chloe.

    Chloe Deschene felt trapped. Her whole life was planned for her by her husband. Jack was methodical. He lived his life by schedules and time tables. They even made love on a schedule. Chloe wanted passion in her marriage and to be able to do what God was calling her to do. She was bored with the way her life was going and when Julia and Destiny appeared out of nowhere, she jumped at the chance to get away from her life.

    Three women, who are perfect strangers, embark on a journey together not knowing where it will lead or how it will end. But the bond they form is strong enough to weather any storm. Will they find their miracles or will their hearts be broken?

    In my last review I said the book was my best read of the entire year. I can honestly say To Know You is fighting hard for that number one position. I am mostly a romance junkie but in this book romance takes a back seat. "A back seat to what?", you might ask. My only response is "to everything good". This story is about family and healing and forgiveness and discovery and, yes, miracles. It's about strong bonds and sacrifices. It's about putting someone else's needs before your own. It's about seeing God in the midst of your troubles. There is so much about this book that I absolutely loved. The way Julia insisted on supporting Destiny when she needed her even though she knew her son was only a few hours from dying. The way she cared for Chloe during a crisis just the way a mother would. The way Julia's husband Matt supported her throughout the entire story. And, most of all, the way her son Dillon smiled in the face of death. His part of the story really tore at my heart. I shed many tears during the course of this book but I love that. I love a book that has the ability to make me look into my heart and ask what I would do in that same situation. I guarantee you will love this book but make sure you have plenty of Kleenex handy while reading it. If I could give it more than five stars I would. Very highly recommended!

    Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions expressed are mine and mine alone. I received no monetary compensation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Talk about having to face your past. Poor Julia, you will be in

    Talk about having to face your past. Poor Julia, you will be in tears for her. Twenty plus years ago she gave birth to a daughter, and gave her up for adoption. Then Julia ends up pregnant again, and again gives her daughter up for adoption.
    Fast forward and she is now happily married to Matt, has a thriving business, that uses her artistic talents, and has a sick, and possibly dying thirteen year old son. Dillon was born with a bad liver, and for one reason or not all of the family, and friends have been ruled out. He is now running out of time.
    Can you imagine going to one daughter, never mind two, with the same question of asking for blood type, and a piece of a liver. One we would hope never to have to do. She has to open the box of her heart and in return we hope she receives many blessings.
    Will Julia be able to save her gifted son? Will she be able to find a donor in time? In between all of this, she ends up traveling all over the US. Reuniting with her daughter's fathers, can't imagine!! Also, there is a bit of trouble, and danger thrown in.
    This is a heart wrenching story, a lot of love, and feeling of God's presence thrown in. Don't miss this one!

    I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Julia and Matt Whittaker would do anything to help their son, Di

    Julia and Matt Whittaker would do anything to help their son, Dillon.  All attempts have failed to find a liver donor.  If only Julia had the courage to ask strangers, the two daughters whom lived with their fathers.  Could one of them make a sacrifice and become a liver donor for Dillon.  

    I lost my grandson before he turned two years old.  He became a donor. How helpless you feel when you are faced with so many decision and sometimes nothing left to done.  To make the decision to be a donor is an ultimate sacrifice for those giving and the ultimate gift to those receiving.

    I was hesitant to read the book because of my lose.  The pain of loosing a child never really goes away you hang on to the fact that God granted you the gift of having that person in your life as long of God chose for them to be with us. 

    This book has heartache, hope, faith, forgiveness and redemption.  It will help one see how God can give us healing through our pain. 

    What would you do if you were asked to be a living donor?

    I recommend this book.

    Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity Group for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review.  This review is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a great storyline! Julia Whittaker¿s son, who is in despera

    What a great storyline! Julia Whittaker’s son, who is in desperate need of a liver transplant, is dying. The best option to save him is a sticky situation for Julia, but she forages forward with her plan while delving into her painful past.

    There are so many layers to this tapestry, and a multitude of spiritual messages are weaved throughout. The book isn’t preachy, and the spiritual significance isn’t in-your-face, so this wonderful tale can be enjoyed by non-Christians as well as believers. Either way, the reader’s life will be touched in some way.

    The characters are developed nicely, and I love the role that Matt played in this story. He wins the supporting male role in my book. ;)

    Cover: Love it
    Title: Love it
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Pages: 358
    Pace: Great
    First Lines: Don't ask, Julia wanted to scream. But the words were sawdust in her mouth. 

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

     This book was something of an unknown to me when it arrived. I

     This book was something of an unknown to me when it arrived. I knew that Shannon Etheridge had written some nonfiction books related to sexual issues and women. And I knew that Kathryn Mackel is a talented novelist. Thus I was willing to give this novel a try. What I didn't expect was to be sucked in by the lyrical writing and the intense struggles for identity each of the three women represents. The challenges and questions they face are real -- something many women can relate to. It is both a cautionary tale and a story of hope and redemption. It's women fiction that did something most stories like this can't do -- it pulled me in from the first page and wouldn't let me go until "the end." I highly recommend this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    I received the book To Know You by Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn

    I received the book To Know You by Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel through the booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review. 

    To Know You explores the path to redemption and forgiveness as it follows the story of one woman who, in past years, gave up two daughters for adoption. Now, her son is sick and needs a liver transplant so Julia searches out her daughters whom she has never met. Will they forgive her? Can she forgive herself? 
    At first I didn’t think I’d like this book, as it is more emotionally heavy than most books I read for entertainment. I was so wrong, I became immediately engrossed in the story. Probably because I could have been Julia, I really related to the ‘mom’ aspect of things. The authors do a GREAT job of keeping you on the edge of your seat waiting to see if Julia’s son will get the help he needs. They also do a wonderful job of being honest about the emotions of the people involved. They were descriptive in their scenes and were great about taking different story threads through their individual arcs. What I found most fascinating is that the story is not about a woman who is asking the daughters she gave up and has never met for help. It is about learning to love even in the face of what might appear to be betrayal and rejection. It is about a woman who goes on a mission for one thing and discovers something entirely different. I would give this a 4 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    To Know You by Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel is a fantasti

    To Know You by Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel is a fantastic book. I read it from cover to cover in less than 24 hours. Matt and Julia Whitaker are desperate to save their son, Dillon. So desperate Julia is forced to go searching for the two daughters she gave up for adoption years ago. Any mother's heart would be torn if that were the end of the story....it's not. Julia comes face to face with both of her daughters struggling. One has turned from God and the other is being tempted and is on the verge of making some life changing mistakes. You will be taken on an emotional journey as they unravel their pasts and struggle to figure out how to put the pieces of their life back together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    'To Know You' had me in it's grips after reading the first page.

    'To Know You' had me in it's grips after reading the first page. This emotionally charged story weaves the lives of an unknown family together through real-life-situations, family secrets and past mistakes while showing God's redeeming love and amazing grace. It's a great work of fiction but it offers great insight and hope for all when bearing real life hurdles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    To Know You by Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel holds a depth

    To Know You by Shannon Ethridge and Kathryn Mackel holds a depth of honesty about searching and raging and grappling
    with life’s questions that a scrapper like me has not often found, at least not without the accompanying judgments or soapbox
     lecture. As the pages unfolded poignantly the mosaic of human tensions and intrigue, this “story” felt less and less like fiction
     to me. Its true intention rang instead through the halls of my heart like the bells of a great cathedral, announcing some happy
    occasion. The cause for my celebration? Understanding, acceptance and comprehension; and in a work of fiction, no less! It
     offered so much more than I had anticipated. Understanding of the human compulsion to seek answers to such cosmic yet
     mundane tensions as…
     Is it okay to lift a fist to the sky, teeth clenched defiantly? Does this large and sometimes seemingly aloof God truly comprehend
     my human frailties? Even more perplexing, why would He stoop to do so? Can faith and frailty exist together? Does He shudder
    at my human passions; or does He see the deepest longings of a woman’s soul, of my humanity, if indeed He carved them into
    me to begin with? Is He waiting on the sidelines until I “get it together” before reaching out to me again with his love and mercy?
     I am grateful to have, in large part, already settled these questions for myself. I’m even learning to let gratitude be the hue that
    colors the slow and painful road, through grief and heartache. Still I needed many reminders contained within the powerful themes
    brought to light here. And who indeed does not desire, or find that the struggles of life require, finding the God who created and
    accepts them now: passions, flaws, questions and all? A Must-read for lovers of fiction, intrigue or just plain great writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1