BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

To Light A Candle (Obsidian Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Chantelle

    Shawn?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    As Usual, a truly time-absorbing read

    Lackey and Mallory did it again with the 2nd book in this trilogy. It's a fascinating read full of excitement and suspense. The only thing I don't like about these books is that they spend the first chapter re-writing the last chapter of the previous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Wonderful read!!

    My 17 year old daughter and myself both read this book and truly enjoyed it! It was riveting to the point that we couldn't put the book down and carried it everywhere we went while reading it! This is definitely one of our favorite authors and this series is at the top of our favorites list now!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Well worth reading

    To Light a Candle is a beacon of light in a world of darkness. This book grabs hold and simply doesn't let go. I had troble putting it down. The characters continue to grow from the first book, and are more loveable as the pages turn. I anxiously await the third book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    fantastic

    I have just started in the world of d&d and this book is wonderful it has given me great ideas for future games and I highly suggest it to anyone looking for a great fantasy novel. Can't wait to read the next book:)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Much better than the first

    This book is much better than the first in this series. Lackey is my favorite author but the first one took almost half way into the book before it started to pick up and catch my total interest. This book did it right from the start. It shows Kellan acutally starting to put his powers to good use and fighting off the demons. Now that this book has actually gotten into the meat of the story I am really looking forward to reading the third part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Way to Continue this GREAT Adventure!

    While I must admit that 'To Light a Candle' has a hard-to-get-into beginning, the trek is well worth the effort!! All of the players return to continue the fight for the protection of their world from the Darkness that looms before them. Kellen becomes a stronger charecter as he grows into his own as a Wildmage of a special kind. The prices to be paid for the only magic that can be the salvation of all the peoples of this world prove to be heavy indeed as Idalia and Kellen have discovered. Hats off to our favorite duo of authors as they have joined together to continue the campaign for entertainment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    One of the greatest book ever?

    Merecedes Lackey does not disappoint. To Light A Candle is just as wonderful as the first book. She captivates the reader and makes them feel like they are Kellen. It is a rude awakening to say the least when the real world floods back, but she provides a lovely escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    Excellent

    Absoultely excellent, one of the best books from the authors. Read this book in more or less one sitting, then was forced to read it again..and again.. Only real downside to this book/series is the lack of a map. However the information on each area in the book, allows you the ability to more or less figure the locations out on your own. The character interactions where excellent, and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    Absolutely Brilliant!!!

    The Outstretched Shadow was the first book i've read by those two authors, and it's an amazing book. It's gripping, and has lots of twists and turns. I love this book and can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    Love It!!!!

    I have read most of Mercedes Lackey's books, and this trilogy is one of my favorites! I just finished the book, and I didn't want it to end. I can't wait for the last one. Kellen is such a believeable character. All of his doubts and insecurities are something I could relate to when I was that age. I like being able to watch him grow into himself and his gifts. If you even think you like fantasy, you need to check out this trilogy. They put a new twist on magic and it's different forms, and also let you get to know different types of magical creatures such as unicorns, centaurs, and dragons. Please check it out, because it is worth it. If you want to wait until the last one is out, I wouldn't blame you since the wait might just drive me mad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Can't Put It Down!

    This book exceeds any expectations of fantasy.The action,storyline,everything is so well detailed that you literally will not be able to put it down!I was able to read this book for 6 hours straight,and still want to read more!ITs THAT GOOD!!A must read.Can't wait for the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed second Obsidian fantasy

    The Golden City of Armethalieh¿s Mage Council banished Kellen for possessing three books on the banned Wild Magic. Kellen left knowing how disappointed his sire, head of the council, was with him for practicing heresy. He quickly proves his worth at least outside the human population as a powerful warrior Knight Mage (see the award winning THE OUTSTRETCHED SHADOW). The elves honor on Kellen when they name him to their war council. Still in spite of his recent military and wizardry success, Kellen fails to persuade his hometown¿s Mage Council that danger remains from the deadly Demon Queen. These obstinate human magic practitioners cannot see beyond their ¿High¿ use because the enemy has infiltrated the council influencing everything.--- While Kellen fails with the human council, his Wild Mage healer sister Idalia and his eleven knight-in-arms brother Jermayan fall in love. Though an elf and human relationship is uncommon, even rarer is that Jermayan bonds with a dragon. Stunned to learn of the bonding, the Demon Queen sends her minion in waves to destroy her enemies.--- The action-packed second Obsidian fantasy grips readers from the moment that the human Kellen struggles with adverse weather (he grew up in a mage-controlled climate) and never slows down until the final altercation. The story line is fast-paced and never feels like a middle passage. Though it would help to read the first book prior to this one to gain a better understanding of the cast especially Kellen, fantasy fans know few if any authors can light a candle better than Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory can.--- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    Riveting New Trilogy by Mercedes Lackey

    book 1 of the obsidian trilogy is a complete page turner. I love all mercedes lackeys books but this was by far the best in my opinion. I could put myself into the book and see and feel what the characters were experiencing. I do wish that she had included a list of all the characters and their relationship with kellen. I sometimes had difficulty keeping all the elven characters straight because of the length and similarity of some of their names. I also wish that she had included a map of the world the book was taking place in so that i could follow the movment of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3