Customer Reviews for

To Love Anew (Sydney Cove Book #1)

Average Rating 4
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Awesome, edgy story!

To Love Anew is an amazing journey you won't want to miss. There are some pretty edgy scenes in this book, which of course worked well for me. However, someone else may find a few things a bit hard to read because they were SO realistically done. I felt like I was Hanna...
To Love Anew is an amazing journey you won't want to miss. There are some pretty edgy scenes in this book, which of course worked well for me. However, someone else may find a few things a bit hard to read because they were SO realistically done. I felt like I was Hannah suffering through the majority of the book. The stench, the pain, the heartache were all vividly portrayed. I doubt I would have survived what Hannah went through and may have given up hope long before. But Hannah was a survivor despite her low opinion of herself and the guilt that nearly consumed her. I loved how the author took people that Hannah would not normally associate with, but given her circumstances, she is then forced to look at her own heart and prejudices. The unspeakable evils done to the prisoners amazed me in that anyone survived at all. The story reminded me of the movie Amistad, but the prisoners on the ship were white. The forced labor for the prisoners and lack of freedom was just like slavery. John was the ultimate hero and just about made me swoon whenever he spoke to Hannah. He had plenty of reasons to be bitter, but still managed to keep his honor despite his harsh living situation. His devotion to Hannah was also commendable. I loved the tension between the two of them. Their connection felt realistic and deep. And the emotional tension between them is what excellent romance writing is all about. I loved their relationship and rooted for them to the end--as John never gave up hope. The best part of this book (besides the delectable romance) was probably the spiritual portion. Hannah had every reason to believe God had abandoned her. She responded like any human would in a similar situation. Of course God never left her, but the journey she took toward that realization was awesome. I loved this story!

posted by MichelleSutton on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

So conflicted! So I finished this book a couple of days ago and

So conflicted!

So I finished this book a couple of days ago and have been so upset that I have been unable to pick up a book for two days! Yes, I was prepared for this story to be a bit depressing....it was. The beginning of the story was filled with hardship, hearta...
So conflicted!

So I finished this book a couple of days ago and have been so upset that I have been unable to pick up a book for two days! Yes, I was prepared for this story to be a bit depressing....it was. The beginning of the story was filled with hardship, heartache and injustice. Our heroine was filled with a sence of unworthiness and angst. Things were starting to look up, but would she ever feel worthy? I don't think all of the issues raised were ever truly RESOLVED. It was on its way to being resolved, and then all of a sudden, the story ended, like the author ran out of time and had to quit writing. It was all so abrupt and unexpected, I had to go back a few pages and re-read to see if I read it too fast and missed something.

Ms. Leon writes a very compelling tale, but I feel cheated. After sticking with the story, I wanted....more. I was really beginning to enjoy the book, and then the ending left me feeling very frustrated and dissatisfied.

posted by LAobserver on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    While I am not a religious person I was VERY impressed with this

    While I am not a religious person I was VERY impressed with this book! It was well written and I would love to see a sequel come out of it. It's descriptions left me feeling as if I were right there and feeling her pain. I appreciate that it wasn't predictable and the only reason I gave this a four was because I wished there were more to read!! :-) I would love to kow what happens to her best friend as well as his!

    GREAT Book!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    I really loved this book. It was a wondeful read. It showed Gods

    I really loved this book. It was a wondeful read. It showed Gods love for each and every one of us beautifully.
    ***spoiler***


    I just wished Hannah told John everything at the end. That was the only thing that put me off.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    An interesting read

    This was an interesting historical fiction piece about the lives of prisoners sent to Austrailia from England. It was a bit unrealistic in the end, but still entertaining.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kept Me Turning the Pages

    To Love Anew captured my interest from the first chapter. Each new setting was fresh and the plot was intriguing, which, for me, earned the book a fourth star.

    The book may seem slow to some, but I found it engaging enough to finish it in a short period of time. In all honesty, it is morose for a large portion of the book. For all you sensitive readers out there, there happens to be relief, though, as it farewells on a happy note. ... And yes, I found all those little grammatical errors annoying, too.

    I do have to say that the author's descriptions were not overly vivid when it came to the characters' emotions and actions. They had little enthusiasm. Granted, their situations are ghastly and dismaying, but the author gave them little zeal for feeling hopeless, or discouraged, or whatever emotion they were supposed to have lived through.
    Especially at the end, I don't feel like the reality of their lives was implied enough.

    I would recommend To Love Anew for a more mature reader, who has an overall concept of more, well... mature themes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    Such a great story

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Wonderful Read!

    What an amazing story. The characters are so real and their trials and triumphs leave you crying and cheering all at the same time. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Horrible ending!

    The book was good but the ending was very abrupt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good, but not what i expected.

    Good book, but was very sad for most of the book. Last quarter of book was nicer to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Good

    Enjoyed this from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    recommened

    I really enjoyed this book. a great story, well writen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was a fast read and it keep


    I enjoyed this book very much. It was a fast read and it keep my interest . This was a very heart warming story although some time I felt so sorry for Hannah and John . I would recommend this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    A grest tale

    It was a great novel to read. The characters were real and I love the message about the Lord too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    By anonymous

    Very enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Cinderella story

    Loved the romance and history. Sad at times but it added to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I thought this book depressing, though people sometimes endure d

    I thought this book depressing, though people sometimes endure depressing lives. The lead character had my sympathy from the beginning. This is a good book for Christian readers. It teaches us to never give up hope, especially when we call upon God.

    Jesjrse, author of FROM A FAR PLACE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I liked the book, but her overall descision to not tell him about her molestation was not a good idea. Other than that, i thouroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Decent

    Good story, it felt plausable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    A saga worth reading

    Americans know little to nothing about the settling of the land of Australia. This historical romance whets your mind to find out more as people arrested in England are used to help settle one of the farthest reaches of the British Empire.

    We see how the poor are used and abused and how the healing power of God can even set a prisoner under a life sentance freer than if he had stayed in England.

    We see a woman whose only sin was being poor be used and abused as she too struggles to free herself from her past.

    A great winter romance. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Hard life for characters.

    This story is a bit hard as things are tough for the chsracters. Near the end things are resolved a bit too easily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    great book

    Just was a little disappointed in the ending. She should have told him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7