Customer Reviews for

To Love a Thief

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    This Book Will Steal Your Heart...

    This is Long¿s second publication (debut The Runaway Duke). This starts out as a Pygmalion story about a pickpocket that is transformed into a Lady. The only difference is this pickpocket turned lady truly is a Lady. Lily though razed a lady by her lady mother has fallen on hard times and has had to resort to picking pockets to keep a roof over head and food on the table for both herself and her little sister Alice. But when she¿s caught picking the wrong man¿s pocket, Gideon Cole, a upward and mobile barrister from London, comes to her rescue. To repay the debut she owes him, she agrees to help him make the woman that he wants to marry jealous enough that she will want only him and agree to marry her. However, along the way the two end up falling in love. And somewhere in there the story seams to veer off into a Pollyanna direction. I found it an enjoyable, but very predictable read. The characters, though sufficient in development, I found them lacing in originality. Over all the book I say was nice, but I think there is a lot of room for improvement.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Amazing story!

    This is the first book I've read by Julie Anne Long and it's a keeper! The story was great and the characters very easy to love. This is a book I could read again and again. I'm excited for more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book is now in my classics pile. The characters were loveable as was the plot. I found myself laughing so hard at times i had tears rolling down my cheeks! What a rare find tis book is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I loved Long's writting so much I purchases more of her books. This is the first time I have read anything by this writer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Wonderful, funny and simly delightful!

    What a wonderful and witty tale, with

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I love this series!

    Another winner for the romance readers out there. Great characters and a bit of history too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Great Book

    The best book I've read in a while. Great writing and great story. Witty, romantic, fun; I couldn't stop turning the pages!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Loved this book!

    One of my new favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Excellent

    I was rollimg with laughter. This is one of my favorites. Great story and the little pickpocket Lily is a character you will fall in love with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    great

    very good, fast, fun read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    I wasn't sure when I bought it, but it was really good!

    I bought this one spur of the moment, and without really reading what is was about about. It was a really fun read. I fell in love with Gerard and Lucy. The secondary characters were all very well written to make them so interesting that there are a few that I hope the author will write another book about!

    Romance lovers will love this book, I deifitely recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Good Read

    This was an enjoyable book. Chuckles along the way and towards the end of the book she introduced 2 aunts....these characters were funny. Laughed out loud at their comments. Would have been wonderful to have had them more throughout the book. Love a romance with lots of laughter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A winner! Handsome heir Gideon Cole, silver-tongued barrister with a soft spot for the under-trodden, undertaking cases w/o pay, has a master plan: marry icy, beautiful Constance, daughter of an influential Marquis, and rise in the political world.

    A grimy pickpocket enters Gideon's ordered life when he attempts to steal his watch, but manages to get away after a well-placed kick to Gideon's person. A few days later when Gideon saves the same thief from being hauled off to prison, he discovers that she's a girl, and a pretty one at that. Untrue to form, but desperate to get Constance's attention, Gideon launches an impulsive scheme to turn the guttersnipe Lily Masters into a lady whom he appears to be courting. (Lily resorted to stealing to keep her sister and herself from starvation, but they had been gently bred). So Lily cleans up beautifully; she's smart, charming, witty, resourceful, and turns Gideon's world on its head. To clear her debt with Gideon she promises to help him in his campaign to win Constance. She does and he finds himself engaged to Constance. But Gideon and Lily are both smitten and there goes the master plan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Very enjoyable and fun read

    Really enjoyed reading To Love a Thief. Well developed, funny, sensual and realistic. Always love that book from which you can visualize the goings on...this is one of those.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Wonderful!

    To Love A Thief is Julie Anne Long¿s second novel; like her debut novel The Runaway Duke it mixes a perfect blend of romance and humour. Its magical and endearing, a treat for anyone that believes fairy tales can come true.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Great book

    Such sharp and witty dialogue between the cast of characters. Julie Ann Long is a great writer. I love this book.a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Great

    I liked the flow of thos book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    highly recommended

    I loved this book. well written and a great sexy story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    not worth the price

    the price was listed at 1.99 but apparently was a promo price that had expired, so i got charged 7.99. it was an ok book but nit worth 7.99!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8