Customer Reviews for

To Marry an English Lord

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but hard to follow in the e-book version

The book is very interesting, but as others have noted the editing is pretty bad (nook version at least).

I also found the arrangement of the book kind of hard to follow, which may not be an issue in the print version. The stories were frequently Interupted by what ...
The book is very interesting, but as others have noted the editing is pretty bad (nook version at least).

I also found the arrangement of the book kind of hard to follow, which may not be an issue in the print version. The stories were frequently Interupted by what I assume would be side bars in the print version, which were discussing a different set of people than what was being discussed in the main text. Because so many various couples were discussed this made it very difficult to keep track of who was who, and who was marrying who. The illustrations also didn't always seem to be inserted into the correct place in the text, and it would detract from the particular story.

I'd recommend getting this book in the print version. Maybe it would be better edited and arranged.

posted by Snarlla on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Marry an English Lord

Enjoyable but a number of typos. Are all the copy editors out to lunch?

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Interesting, but hard to follow in the e-book version

    The book is very interesting, but as others have noted the editing is pretty bad (nook version at least).

    I also found the arrangement of the book kind of hard to follow, which may not be an issue in the print version. The stories were frequently Interupted by what I assume would be side bars in the print version, which were discussing a different set of people than what was being discussed in the main text. Because so many various couples were discussed this made it very difficult to keep track of who was who, and who was marrying who. The illustrations also didn't always seem to be inserted into the correct place in the text, and it would detract from the particular story.

    I'd recommend getting this book in the print version. Maybe it would be better edited and arranged.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Marry an English Lord

    Enjoyable but a number of typos. Are all the copy editors out to lunch?

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Great book, bad editing.

    The book was great, but as a previous reader noted the editing was terrible. I have the nook version, so unsure if this is true of the print version.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    It was easy reading and the stories are so fun to read about!

    It was easy reading and the stories are so fun to read about!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Educational as well as entertaining!

    To Marry an English Lord by Gail MacColl and Carol McD. Wallace is an introspective look into the lives of American heiresses who took over England by marrying into English society during the Victorian and Edwardian age. This book is also the inspiration behind the series, Downton Abbey.
    I can't begin to praise this book enough. It's not only informative and educational but it's also very entertaining. The authors did a wonderful job putting this book together. It has everything from loads of information to pictures, fashion to gossip, quotes to the inside scoop on what was what during this time period. Duke's and Earl's married American's basically for their money. American and English society were alike in some respects but also very different. The money, the right clothes didn't mean a whole lot until you knew the right people. Prince Edward was a great advocate to the American heiress. If they received his approval the heiress was golden.
    I'm absolutely fascinated by this time period. This book is a must have for people who want to find out more about this time period. It's well written and very informative. If you're looking for a book to read while you wait for the next season of Downton Abbey, this is the book for you.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Entertaining

    This book was informative, easy reading. I liked the layout and that the author included numerous sidebar comments and facts in an eye-catching format This is a good book for readers who enjoyed the PBS miniseries Downton Abbey.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly recommended especially if you want to watch or have been watching Downton Abbey!

    "To Marry an English Lord" is the history behind the goings on at the fictitious Downton Abbey, the highly acclaimed PBS series. This book is a must for understanding the why's and wherefor's and the social etiquette of the time. I started here and then moved on to watching past years of the series. It all makes much more sense as the book is very well written with details about New York and Newport families that are quite riveting and so very different from current social standards.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    I loved it!

    I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Pretty good if you like that kind of thing

    This is not an in-depth coverage and there are a few points which I could argue with but generally accurate and a "good read." But I really like history. I think that one should often refer to Wikipedia or similar - it could lend depth. Oddly, Paran Stevens was a distant relative of mine and so I actually "know" some of these people.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Don't bother

    I love British history, literature, and Downtown Abbey. But I couldn't get through the poor editing and seemingly cut-and-paste set-up. Thought I might try again to read it, but, nah; too many other good books out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Don't bother...probably didn't read book.

    How could a fan spell Downton incorrectly?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2