Customer Reviews for

To Pleasure a Lady

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A terrific Regency romance

In 1817 the oldest Loring sister Arabella feels it is her responsibility to inform their new guardian the Earl of Danvers that neither she nor her younger siblings (Rosalyn and Lillian) need a babysitter as all three are in their twenties. She goes straight to his home...
In 1817 the oldest Loring sister Arabella feels it is her responsibility to inform their new guardian the Earl of Danvers that neither she nor her younger siblings (Rosalyn and Lillian) need a babysitter as all three are in their twenties. She goes straight to his home to make sure he understands that the siblings are independent and strong enough to take care of themselves. Marcus Pierce is already irate that the late earl turned him into a ¿procurer¿ of matrimony for his three daughters. However, expecting the worst he is stunned when he meets Arabella as he believes he has fallen in love at first sight the only problem is that the target of his affection loathes him.------------ They argue, fuss and fight until a frustrated Marcus bets Arabella that he can charm her into his bed in two weeks if he fails she will be left a spinster to run a finishing school or whatever shelf she sees fit to accomplish. She accepts his daring wager. As he educates her in the seduction of love, Arabella feels divided as she has fallen in love with her guardian, which could cost her the independence she values.---------------- The first Courtship Wars is a great often amusing gender battle between two protagonists who want to win their sexual contest at all costs. The story line is fast-paced as Marcus wonders if love is worth the Taming of the Shrew while Arabella considers whether total independence from male domination is worth a broken heart. Fans will receive immense pleasure from this terrific Regency romance.-------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

uninspired

I'm doing my best to get through this story but I'm nearing quitting. Jordan seems to be trying to make interesting what is truly a mundane and uninspiring plot without much success. I feel as if I've encountered every character before if only because they are romance c...
I'm doing my best to get through this story but I'm nearing quitting. Jordan seems to be trying to make interesting what is truly a mundane and uninspiring plot without much success. I feel as if I've encountered every character before if only because they are romance cliches. Of course the steamy scenes are done well, as seems to be her forte. However, the story concept itself is weak and formulaic. Had the characters been anything more than standard romantic templates, the story might have been more interesting but they aren't and I've been waiting impatiently for something to happen to make the effort worthwhile but I don't see much on the horizon.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific Regency romance

    In 1817 the oldest Loring sister Arabella feels it is her responsibility to inform their new guardian the Earl of Danvers that neither she nor her younger siblings (Rosalyn and Lillian) need a babysitter as all three are in their twenties. She goes straight to his home to make sure he understands that the siblings are independent and strong enough to take care of themselves. Marcus Pierce is already irate that the late earl turned him into a ¿procurer¿ of matrimony for his three daughters. However, expecting the worst he is stunned when he meets Arabella as he believes he has fallen in love at first sight the only problem is that the target of his affection loathes him.------------ They argue, fuss and fight until a frustrated Marcus bets Arabella that he can charm her into his bed in two weeks if he fails she will be left a spinster to run a finishing school or whatever shelf she sees fit to accomplish. She accepts his daring wager. As he educates her in the seduction of love, Arabella feels divided as she has fallen in love with her guardian, which could cost her the independence she values.---------------- The first Courtship Wars is a great often amusing gender battle between two protagonists who want to win their sexual contest at all costs. The story line is fast-paced as Marcus wonders if love is worth the Taming of the Shrew while Arabella considers whether total independence from male domination is worth a broken heart. Fans will receive immense pleasure from this terrific Regency romance.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    Worth the wait

    This was a very sensual book. It lives up to her excellent quality of all her past books. I can't wait for the other in this series, this definetly classified as a 're-reader' book. Thanks Nicole you did it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    I promise you if you like a sexy book, you will like this one.  

    I promise you if you like a sexy book, you will like this one.   The story is about three sisters, they do not want
    to have a guardian.  They do not want to marry.  The Earl inherited this responsibility when their Uncle died, and
    Marcus vowed to find them husbands.  But when he meets the oldest Arabella, he find her very independent.  He
    convinces her to let him court her.  And he also proposed marriage.  He won't take NO for an answer.  And she
    won't say Yes.   He shows her what love can be like.. She is afraid of marriage, because of her parents who
    married and were not in Love.   Both her Father and her mother had affairs  they separated, causing a
    scandal.  Her father lost all his money.  They were taken in by an Uncle.  The uncle told them their mother was
    dead.  Marcus finds he is in Love with Arabella, He never intended to marry for love, only to have an heir,  But he
    won't give up Arabella, and shows her was love can be like for them.

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Wow this is a great book.

    The trilogy is great. Each book is so compelling. You;ll fall in love with Nicole Jordan and her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    I really liked Arabella and Marcus' story. Neither wanted marriage but, things change when the sexual tension proves otherwise. Great storyline and hard to put down. First in a series. 243 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    LOVED IT!!

    I haven't read a Nicole Jordan book yet that I didn't LOVE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent novel and a pleasure to read!

    For those who never get tired of romance and look for happy endings, this is yet another novel that will meet your expectations. There is no great villian, the biggest challenge is each character's own fear of love or marriage. She is afraif of a marriage without love and he does not believe he can fall in love. I love the stories where the men must pursue the women. And this was not some damsel in distress or trying to trick the lord into marriage. I didn't get bored with this story and I can't wait to read the rest of the series. The nook version was 253 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    WOW!!! Talk about a sizzling read...

    This is my first Nicole Jordan book and I was NOT disappointed! A beautiful story, hot love scenes, strong characters, this book has it all. Arabella is a bit stuck on the past, but the love she has for her sisters is touching. Marcus is arrogant and quite sure of himself, but in my opinion, only makes him a sexier male lead. I can't wait to read the next two in the series. Be forewarned, don't start reading this book if you have somewhere to go, I stayed up until 2 am to finish!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!

    This book was wonderful! The other three books in the series are highly recommended as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I like this book

    I thought this book was fun, I loved her spirit and defiance. It was intereseting to read. My book club started reading the first book, we are going to read the entire collection and see how each sister ends up. For a romance category, my book club loved this pick..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Great story.Just got hooked on her novels.The story is one of a kind as the events happen.I will read more of her books for sure!!!!!!!!:)

    Great!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3