Customer Reviews for

To Save America: Stopping Obama's Secular-Socialist Machine

Average Rating 3
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

making a difference for america

"saving america" is very hard to put down book. former speaker newt gingrich has outlined a very remarkable and bold plan that shows how the voters can make a difference with some different politicans in office that wont waste our money and push too many pork projects t...
"saving america" is very hard to put down book. former speaker newt gingrich has outlined a very remarkable and bold plan that shows how the voters can make a difference with some different politicans in office that wont waste our money and push too many pork projects this also documents how the current obama adminstration and liberals in goverment are raising our taxes and threating our jobs this bestseller shows the people how they can bring our country back to what our founders and the constitution stood for. great gift idea for a friend or family member

posted by storms1 on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Seriously, Do You Neo-Cons need to read another book that supports your malicious agenda?

Hey, did you read that wonderful "Contract with America" that ended up both morally, and then, financially bankrupting the country? Well, if you didn't, this is the newer more updated version with Obama playing the role of Bill Clinton. I can see why Newt is so afraid...
Hey, did you read that wonderful "Contract with America" that ended up both morally, and then, financially bankrupting the country? Well, if you didn't, this is the newer more updated version with Obama playing the role of Bill Clinton. I can see why Newt is so afraid of this great big socialist machine that Obama has created. I mean with the disintegration of the HMOs. Wait that didn't happen. The government allowing GM, Goldman Sachs and Citibank to fail. Hold on, that didn't happen either. Obama advocating a national boycott of BP and single, handedly taking over the Gulf disaster. Nope. Didn't happen. I can see why he is so afraid, but for all of the wrong reasons. Gingrich, much like his party and ideology, is completely out of touch with the reality of modern America. What scares me most is that ideologues, like Gingrich, truly believe that they are serving the public good. Unfortunately, the truly uninformed are first to flock to his banner and the first hurt my the ideology he espouses.

posted by HarryVane on July 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    making a difference for america

    "saving america" is very hard to put down book. former speaker newt gingrich has outlined a very remarkable and bold plan that shows how the voters can make a difference with some different politicans in office that wont waste our money and push too many pork projects this also documents how the current obama adminstration and liberals in goverment are raising our taxes and threating our jobs this bestseller shows the people how they can bring our country back to what our founders and the constitution stood for. great gift idea for a friend or family member

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Referendum on the Obama Administration and a Return to Traditional America

    While the mass media has been enamored with President Barack Obama and the Democratic Congress, they have been lacking in their journalistic duties by not calling into question the detrimental policies that have been passed only to endanger the future of America. However, former House Speaker Newt Gingrich takes the Obama Administration to task in his latest book, "To Save America: Stopping Obama's Secular-Socialist Machine."

    From the outset, Gingrich astutely explains the threats posed to individual liberties and limited government by President Obama, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid. As the three leaders of the secular-socialist machine, Obama, Pelosi, and Reid are unilaterally pushing through legislation such as health care reform and government bailouts, which Gingrich and fellow experts from organizations such as the Center for Health Transformation argue will overburden taxpayers, kill jobs, and amass ineffective bureaucracy upon individuals. Gingrich breaks it down for the reader in common sense language that the Left are stripping away traditional America with its limited government, free markets, and religious principles and replacing it with big government policies favoring unions and other ideologues. Through chapters proposing policy reforms on health care, energy, green conservatism, and education, Gingrich convincingly details how America can regain its prominence in the world and how the individual can triumph over the encroachment of big government.

    Although to readers who may deem Gingrich a partisan conservative, he acknowledges encouraging initiatives from across the aisle. For instance, Gingrich lauds First Lady Michelle Obama for her campaign against obesity in children. If only more Democrats and Republicans could engage in such noble campaigns and reach across the aisle to legislate common sense reforms that will encourage economic growth, job creation, competitiveness in math and science education, and real health care reform. Gingrich closes by leaving it up to the reader to decide as an American citizen to get involved in elections so government works for the people not for bigger government. The American citizen can start by reading and sharing this book with everyone they know.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    Must Read!

    Newt Gingrich has done it again: he has written yet another fascinating and must-read book for anyone who cares about the future of our country. To Save America is an insightful and erudite work which, better than any other book I have read yet, exposes and explains what President Obama and the Democratic leadership really is: a "Secular Socialist Machine".

    This label may strike some readers as either hyperbolic or extremist, but Gingrich is aware of this, and so he spends the second chapter of his book ("Why 'Secular-Socialist Machine' is the Only Way to Describe the Left") explaining and defending this label- and he does so extremely well. First he offers an honest explanation of "secular", that it does not mean atheist but rather a lack of acknowledging God as fundamental to good civil society.

    Gingrich offers readers seven very different- and very scary- examples of how and where the secular left has and continues to try to impose its agenda on our country. From the 2004 case in the 9th Circuit Court which ruled "under God" an unconstitutional part of the Pledge of Allegiance to the ACLU attempting to dismantle a memorial cross in the Mojave Desert, it becomes clear that there really is a secular agenda in our country and it is a distinct part of the Left.

    Then Gingrich explores the term "socialism", showing how The Employee Free Choice Act, Cap and Trade, Obama's healthcare reform and many other programs are distinctly socialist in nature. Lastly he explains what he means by the term "machine", showing us historically as well as offering contemporary examples not just of what a political machine is, by why the Left needs it to accomplish its agenda.

    After reading these explanations, Gingrich's term "Secular Social Machine" no longer seems hyperbolic or extremist, but disturbingly accurate.

    But what always amazes me about Gingrich's work is that he is not only a deconstructionist (that is, he doesn't just tear down the other side's policies and arguments) he is also very much a constructionist- offering readers policy after policy that would help to truly turn our economy around, fix the healthcare fiasco, protect our national security and help us to better understand ourselves historically. One quickly sees that America has never been a nation which valued or sought the policies and objectives of this current Administration. We have always been a God-fearing, freedom loving and industrious people, yet the Obama-Pelosi-Reid team would undermine all of this for their own very alien agenda.

    Gingrich can be a polarizing figure, but the fact is that if you read his new book- and I highly suggest that you do- you too will be polarized: polarized on the side of Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    A TIMELY BOOK FOR AMERICA

    Since we cannot depend on the truth from either this administration or a media that covers for it, America must depend on information in a book like 'To Save America' for the way to preserve what our Founding Fathers fought so courageously to give us.

    Newt Gingrich has written one of the most important books in our lifetime. Ignoring the information in this book is tantamount to giving in to the most serious threat to our Constitution this country has ever faced. The book must be read and understood in order for us to prevent the administration's 'machine' from steamrolling our freedoms and liberty.

    You can be shocked that so many were duped into voting for those we now have in power, but simply being shocked won't make the resulting socialist 'machine' go away. Gingrich details the necessary facts and strategies in his book so that its readers can thoroughly understand where we are now and how we can avoid the machine's impending damage...which if allowed to happen, will adversely impact generations to come and could very well be irreparable.

    If you are a responsible, patriotic American and believe in 'We, the People,' you can't do yourself a bigger favor than reading this book.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    Seriously, Do You Neo-Cons need to read another book that supports your malicious agenda?

    Hey, did you read that wonderful "Contract with America" that ended up both morally, and then, financially bankrupting the country? Well, if you didn't, this is the newer more updated version with Obama playing the role of Bill Clinton. I can see why Newt is so afraid of this great big socialist machine that Obama has created. I mean with the disintegration of the HMOs. Wait that didn't happen. The government allowing GM, Goldman Sachs and Citibank to fail. Hold on, that didn't happen either. Obama advocating a national boycott of BP and single, handedly taking over the Gulf disaster. Nope. Didn't happen. I can see why he is so afraid, but for all of the wrong reasons. Gingrich, much like his party and ideology, is completely out of touch with the reality of modern America. What scares me most is that ideologues, like Gingrich, truly believe that they are serving the public good. Unfortunately, the truly uninformed are first to flock to his banner and the first hurt my the ideology he espouses.

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An informative and thought-provoking blockbuster of a political book.

    Newt Gingrich has done it again. His latest book will enlighten, frighten (and rightly so),motivate and galvanize any thinking American to become active in the process of saving our country. I once likened Newt to Moses with his Contract for America, that led to a basic overhaul of Congress in 1994. Now he has returned as a Joshua, who will lead us to fight and overcome the secular-progressive-liberal, neofascists who are ruining our country and turning it into a "worker's paradise" if we don't stop them at the ballot box.
    This book should not be read through rapidly. just read one or two chapters at a time and re-read them before going to the next chapter. This book is accurate, truthful and scary to any thinking American. It will be panned by those "useful idiots" who idolize our new president in all his thuggish Chicago-style glory. Expect this and remember the quote from someone wise in the ways of politics: "If you are 18 and you are a liberal, you have no heart. If you are 30 and are a liberal, you have no brain!"

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Secular is not a dirty word

    I never knew I was a "secular oppressor" until Gingrich told me so. See, I just want the government to be neutral when it comes to religion and not take a position either way on the topic. Not say, "In god we trust" nor, "In no god we trust". I figured these were ideas best left to the marketplace of ideas. Newt is also for local control over "Washington" control. I am sure he is all for local control by left leaning states and cities when he disagrees with them? If you believe that, can I sell you a bridge in Brooklyn? Obviously Gingrich's creator is of the opinion we have too many regulations. Isn't that convenient by the way? Yes, the creator of this universe really wants to make sure we have say, weaker workplace safety standards, and less regs on pollutants. It seems that this creator of Newt's really doesn't care that much about keeping the air of the planet he created, clean. After all, if the deity did then he would of course be a "secular socialist" and we can't have that, can we?

    If someone wants to take a certain economic positon and philosphy, fine. But can we not do it by appealing to a being that nobody can actually question? I will give credit to Ayn Rand who though had much of the same economic philosphy as Gingrich, did so without an appeal to religion or a deity. She saw that any public policy had to be defended based upon its' merits. Not the words of any person's supposed creator.

    Gingrich talks of "secular elites" but most people who are secular are not "elites". In fact, secular isn't a bad word. Secular doesn't mean nonbelief in a god. Being secular doesn't mean you are an atheist or even an agnostic or a communist. Secular is just basically a position that government will not involve itself in religion and be neutral. In fact, most Christians are to various degrees, secular. Now are there secular people who are elites? Yes, but there are also theist and conservative Christians who are elite. Newt Gingrich is one. In fact, he is a very powerful elite, much more then any academic at Stanford or Princeton. Gingrich constantly misunderstands the position of these "secular elites." They are not saying that religion should only be in churches but the government should not take a particular view on religion. For example, when there was organized school prayers (which is something Gingrich wishes for once again) the government was taking a religious position. To stop doing that, is hardly "oppressing" religion or conservative Christians.

    If Gingrich and others want to "subordinate" themselves to their deity, then be my guest, but least don't use the government that represents all Americans to do it for the entire nation. Gingrich wants to use federal funds to use prison ministry programs on prisoners, but he does not understand that many people have an issue with using government funds that will increase religious belief. Does anyone imagine the reaction to using government funds to fund a "humanist program" in prisons? I think humanism would help many prisoners but it would have no chance to be funded.

    Gingrich believes that a belief in a deity lowers public morality, but in fact if one looks at rates of social ills such as violent crimes, teen pregancies etc. they are much lower in secular Norway, Sweden, Netherlands then in the more religious U.S. Now, does religious belief help some people, su

    4 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    What a moron

    Seriously. What a dickhead title. This guy was bad news 2 decades ago and he's bad news today.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Awesome

    This book tells only the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    The problem with this book is the assumption that socialism is b

    The problem with this book is the assumption that socialism is by its nature "secular" (non-religious). The idea is, if you have religion (the right kind, of course), that will effectively fight socialism. I once asked a politician who believed that, Is Christian socialism any worse than atheistic socialism? His reply: A befuddled expression, and "I would consider that a contradiction in terms." I wanted to ask, "Ever hear of the Pilgrims?" Newt Gingrich, in this book, makes some irrefutable points that freedom in America is being destroyed. Well and good. But since the ethics of Jesus and the ethics of Karl Marx are so close to each other, you cannot fight one with the other. That's why, in the long run, religious conservatives cannot fight the moral battle against socialism; in fact, the religious conservatives only throw gasoline on the fires in which our freedoms are being consumed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    god please

    this book is awful the title is awful al his argue,ents are sebereky flawed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Did you even read the book?

    I find it startling that in all your years of existence you have yet to learn not to judge a book by its cover. I mean come on, who doesn't want To Save America?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3