Customer Reviews for

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Genre-Bender

When Lady Schrapnell agrees to endow the time travel project, it seems like a dream come true for the researchers at Oxford University. They didn't count on their benefactor deciding to use the project to re-create Coventry Cathedral, sending travelers back to umpteen ...
When Lady Schrapnell agrees to endow the time travel project, it seems like a dream come true for the researchers at Oxford University. They didn't count on their benefactor deciding to use the project to re-create Coventry Cathedral, sending travelers back to umpteen different time periods to locate objects. Time lagged and exhausted, Ned Henry is sent back to Victorian England to recuperate away from the demanding patron. Unfortunately, he's sent so hastily that he arrives unprepared to fit into an era of seances, village fetes, and penwipes. He lands at a railway station in 1888 where he meets a dreamy college student who spouts poetry and tends to fall in love suddenly, an eccentric Oxford professor, a bulldog named Cyril and a whole host of characters who could have walked out of a P.G. Wodehouse novel. Ned is infatuated with Verity, a fellow time traveler, but he isn't sure if it's true love or time-lag. Whatever, they need to resolve a little problem caused by Verity's accidental removal of an item that needs to be returned to its rightful place or else. . . well, they're not quite certain what may happen but that might mean the downfall of civilization. At the very least they might be stuck in the past.

As you may have gathered, this is a difficult book to explain properly. I can tell you that it's an entertaining adventure with science fiction, a bit of romance, some farce and a comedy of manners. I think it's a delightful tale that should appear to a wide variety of readers, including those who don't usually like science fiction or fantasy. One of my favorite scenes has a weary 1940 time traveler telling a colleague that a native asked about the Queen. "I told him she was wearing a hat. She did, didn't she? I can never remember which one wore the hats." They all did, is the response, except for Victoria. And Camilla. (It's worth noting that this book was written in 1997.)

By the way, the title comes from Jerome K. Jerome's Three Men in a Boat, but you don't need to have read that to enjoy some of the in-jokes and brushes with history.

I highly recommend this book for your reading pleasure.

posted by momcatj on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Our book club pick

It was very slow to start. I got to page 100 and gave up. The other ladies whom continued past page 150 finally started to understand the plot. Those who continued enjoyed it. I may pick it back up after I have read other books that interest me more.

posted by allipat on August 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Genre-Bender

    When Lady Schrapnell agrees to endow the time travel project, it seems like a dream come true for the researchers at Oxford University. They didn't count on their benefactor deciding to use the project to re-create Coventry Cathedral, sending travelers back to umpteen different time periods to locate objects. Time lagged and exhausted, Ned Henry is sent back to Victorian England to recuperate away from the demanding patron. Unfortunately, he's sent so hastily that he arrives unprepared to fit into an era of seances, village fetes, and penwipes. He lands at a railway station in 1888 where he meets a dreamy college student who spouts poetry and tends to fall in love suddenly, an eccentric Oxford professor, a bulldog named Cyril and a whole host of characters who could have walked out of a P.G. Wodehouse novel. Ned is infatuated with Verity, a fellow time traveler, but he isn't sure if it's true love or time-lag. Whatever, they need to resolve a little problem caused by Verity's accidental removal of an item that needs to be returned to its rightful place or else. . . well, they're not quite certain what may happen but that might mean the downfall of civilization. At the very least they might be stuck in the past.

    As you may have gathered, this is a difficult book to explain properly. I can tell you that it's an entertaining adventure with science fiction, a bit of romance, some farce and a comedy of manners. I think it's a delightful tale that should appear to a wide variety of readers, including those who don't usually like science fiction or fantasy. One of my favorite scenes has a weary 1940 time traveler telling a colleague that a native asked about the Queen. "I told him she was wearing a hat. She did, didn't she? I can never remember which one wore the hats." They all did, is the response, except for Victoria. And Camilla. (It's worth noting that this book was written in 1997.)

    By the way, the title comes from Jerome K. Jerome's Three Men in a Boat, but you don't need to have read that to enjoy some of the in-jokes and brushes with history.

    I highly recommend this book for your reading pleasure.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    TOTALLY... TOTALLY THRILLED

    I hadn't heard of this book or the author until I saw it on the Hugo Award list. It ended up being the exact book that I was wanting to read. The idea of time travel is appealing to me and the rules and ideas that Connie imploys in her image of it were terrific in my opinion. With it's drama and underlying humor I was only disappointed when I finished the final word. I immediately found, bought and read Doomsday Book and finished that with the same exhuberance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I read this after re-discovering Connie Willis and reading The Dooms Day Book. It takes place in the time traveling historian's universe and is a somewhat lighthearted look at restoration of the Coventry Cathedral. I loved it. Connie Willis is an engaging, wonderful writer and I have enjoyed reading everything in this 'series'. The books stand alone but I liked reading them in the order she wrote them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A lighthearted buy complex time travel tale

    The year is 2057 and Oxford University has a time travel device that is used by their historians. When something is brought back through the machine from the Victorian era (something that is supposedly impossible) the historians furiously scramble to figure out if they have caused an incongruity and get events back into their proper course if they have...all while trying to track down a hideous piece of Victorian art for the overbearing Lady Schrapnell.

    This is probably the best fiction I read last year. Between the silliness of Victorian England and all the little things that keep going wrong for the main characters, this book is hilarious. Connie Willis has managed to construct a thoroughly enjoyable time travel tale with a fairly complex plot that seems to be free of major plot holes or paradoxes. Loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Delightful Read!

    A fun and witty novel, To Say Nothing of The Dog was engaging and intellectually stimulating. It was quirky and well written, capturing my attention from the very beginning. I enjoyed every minute of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    New Favorite Book!!

    As if you hadn't already guessed, this book suddenly jumped to the top of my favorite book list. It's funny, there's action, there's romance, the characters are creative and detailed. I especially loved how everything fit together at the end. Please read this book!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    I don't even like science fiction!

    I picked up this book because I used to live (for a brief stint) in Coventry England, so it peaked my curiosity. I was not disapointed. It mixed Sci Fi with old England in such a great way. I want to read it again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    Great book from a great author.

    Connie Willis' books are always well researched and written. This is no exception. Time travelers in the 21st century are going back to various points in history to re-build Coventry Cathedral which was destroyed in the second World War. To say much else really could spoil it. Wonderful book with wonderful characters that leaves you with a wonderful feeling when you're done. I wound uop sending this out as birthday presents this year. I cannot reccomend it too strongly!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Fantastic and Funny

    While the first chapter or so confused me (on purpose! it's part of the plot) and it took 30 pages or so to get into the story, once I understood what was happening, I was completely hooked. The writing is very stylized, similar to what you might find in Jane Eyre, and it highlights the Victorian setting where the book takes place.
    I found myself literally laughing out loud at the (absurd, yet totally believable) things that happen to the main character, and I flew through this book.
    You definitely have to have a certain academic background and sense of humor to "get" this book. There are several literary references and historical events that might pass you by otherwise.
    It reminded me a little bit of Jasper Fforde's Thursday Next series, so if you liked that, give this one a chance. I'll definitely be reading more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Our book club pick

    It was very slow to start. I got to page 100 and gave up. The other ladies whom continued past page 150 finally started to understand the plot. Those who continued enjoyed it. I may pick it back up after I have read other books that interest me more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    Great book!

    This novel takes a very interesting and refreshing view of time travel, and pens a wonderful tale. I really enjoyed this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    James

    I start humping your mouth. My di.ck starts cummming "oh yess" I pull your head even closer and I smile and close my eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Candylover

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Abby

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    To asterson

    Is it u from the other book? The boy who ran away?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Asterson

    No points and I have got the prophecy but you got to run goad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Kileh

    I wil forgive her..but the others will have to opologize tooo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Overall a fun read.

    This book was pretty good and had some humor to it. It was a bit predictable in spots but it didn't spoil the overall. I would keep reading if there had been more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    This is fun!

    A relaxing, entertaining read! It will challenge your grasp of English literature, but it is OK if your grasp is weak! The tour through some the English geography is fun as well as the customs of the nineteenth century English.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6