BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

To Seduce a Bride

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Sorry, not happening

    Wow, was she irritating! I liked the other two books in the series (especially the second), but even in those I'd found Lily to be obnoxious. I was hoping to warm up to her in "her" novel, but it was everything I'd feared. The writing was lively and sparkling (Ms. Jordan COULD use a thesaurus-there were so many "dry" tones I kept wanting to offer the speaker a glass of water), Heath was charming and wonderfully heroic, but I just do not know any woman over the age of 17 as obtuse and needlessly rebellious as this girl. At least none that I like. I couldn't even finish. I was getting too annoyed, wanting to tell that girl to take off her Doc Martens, shave her legs, and join the real world. I guess she wasn't really bad, but she came off more as an adolescent than a grown woman. I did not believe for one minute that the character was capable of a true love match. Sorry, this was just not happening for me.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Insufficient Content

    This one was actually not as good as the other two. It started out promising but went downhill from there. This book didn't have nearly enough content to make it into a full book....short story maybe.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Beware!

    Stay far away from the books in this series if you want good vocabulary, a coherent story and demand more than sloppily written repetitive and artificial sexual encounters. This book is a serious disappointment if you are looking for more than bad porn. This author was a major surprise in the worst sense, after all the good reviews.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Wow is all I can say. READ IT!!!!

    The book is great. IF you like historical romances, then you'll love this book. Nicole Jordan rocks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Wow

    Nicole Jordan is great. This is a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    not as good as the first two!

    Heath was wonderful, heroic, and everything a woman could want and he had to pick the most iritating woman to fall in love with. For me there was no basis for him to fall in love with her she was so horrible and cold. This book was the least favorite of the three sister for sure. I am hoping the rest of the series picks up again and is better. Lillian was someone that did not endear anyone to love her. Nicole Jordan has a way to make you want to read about someone else and to continue the story usually. I am sure glad this was not the first book or I would never had continued the on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Awesome

    Could not put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    The only book I didn't like in this series

    This was the only book that I did not like in the series. Lilian was obnoxious and very aggravating to read about. Heath was very likable. It would have been better if Heath left her alone and looked for someone else. I almost skipped to the end to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Aggravating

    While I did enjoy the book it was extremely exhausting and aggravating to have to keep reading about how much Lily detests the idea of marriage. I understand that's what her characters story is all about, but it got to a point where I just wanted to shout "COME ON!". It was too drawn out. I agree with a fellow reviewer that it started out great and promising, but then kind of dwindled away as the story progressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    ROMANTIC WINNER

    I was thinking I'd perhaps not care for this book as much, just based on the fact that Lily goes sooo much against the grain of society (she really doesn't give a fig for any of the balls and soirees in the ton, etc.)... but I ended up loving this one best of all, and believe me, I really enjoyed the first two books immensely (To Pleasure a Lady and To Bed a Beauty) ! Heath, the Marquess of Claybourne, has to pursue Lily through much of the book. She is clearly falling for him, but feels panicked because she simply does not want marriage. She knows that marriages don't work out-- her parents fought constantly, and her father flaunted his mistresses, sometimes even beating Lily's mother -- to the point where Lily's mother left England with a lover, to escape the misery. Lily wants none of this and has no faith that real love exists, but Heath is determined to show her tenderness, caring, even devotion.. not to mention large doses of incredible sensuality. A few times, I wanted to shake Lily, she was so stubborn, but I could understand her fears. She wants to love Heath, for he is the kindest man she has ever known, but she cannot trust. And so he has to prove it to her, page by page... and prove it, he does! It's worth all of his hard work! Speaking of pages... I do believe that page 215 in this book is one of the most beautiful examples of romance writing that I have EVER read, and I've read a ton of good romances. Writing like this is so lovely that it just makes you sigh. Another superb story from Nicole Jordan! I eagerly await her next novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Relaxing Read

    This book was great and really kept my interest. It was hard to put it down, I read it in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Wonderful historical romance

    Nicole Jordan¿s TO SEDUCE A BRIDE gives readers the unforgettable story of a Marquess who is determined to win the heart of a young woman known for her stubborn independence ¿ a spirited chase is guaranteed!***** Lily Loring has sworn off marriage, even having witnessed her sisters¿ bliss after falling in love and marrying. The youngest of three sisters, she is the most deeply affected by their father¿s infidelities and their parents¿ miserable marriage. She wants no part of having a man own her in the name of marriage, despite what society dictates as being proper. When Lily realizes that she has caught the eye of Heath Griffin, Marquess of Claybourne, she secretly flees to a boardinghouse run by her scandalous friend, Fanny. What she doesn¿t expect is Heath¿s immediate pursuit or his determination to court her, not at all put off by her position of teaching proper behavior to the demimonde.***** Heath knows the minute he finds Lily Loring in the barn after her sister¿s wedding, more than a little foxed on champagne and talking to kittens, that she is different. Lily, with her brilliant mind, her unashamed willingness to use it and her propensity for saying precisely what is on her mind, is stimulating and intriguing and has him more interested than he has ever been in any other woman. When Heath learns of Lily¿s determination to remain unmarried, he sets out to change her mind with tender, passionate persuasion. Painful discouragement eventually begins to take the place of hopeful anticipation when it appears that Lily¿s stubborn defenses just might be impenetrable.***** Nicole Jordan can take readers back in time as few authors can. Characters and settings come to life with lively conversations and lush descriptions. Heath¿s patient pursuit of the headstrong Lily leads them on a passion-filled road to romance, fueled by his desire to settle for nothing less than Lily¿s heart. While Heath is frustrated by her resistance, it was so well written that her continued hesitation isn¿t monotonous or tiresome to the reader. I¿ve long thought that Ms. Jordan sets the bar when it comes to historical romance and I maintain that opinion after reading this most recent series by her. I give this book the highest of recommendations for all readers who appreciate excellent historical romance. COURTESY LAURIE/ROMANCE JUNKIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    A must read

    This amazing story of romance and adventure is the kind of books we live to read. I wish I had the strength that Lily has. And the man as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was so great, I love how no matter where Lily goes her pursuer follows,this story will keep you going up until the last page. I would love to meet Lily and Heath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    To Seduce a Reader

    Miss Jordan is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. I loved to bed a beauty and rushed to get the story of her sister Lilian. Lilian makes things hard for her heroine and I LOVED his persistence. I also liked that Lilian was far from perfect. This is an over the top romance that will leave you breathless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    Nicole Jordon's #3 is, imo, the best of all. I just love her writing, the story, the depth of the characters. I would love to meet Heath Griffin. Get the book. It's another good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an appealing Regency romance

    Unlike her two sisters who recently said I do (see TO BED A BEAUTY and TO PLEASURE A LADY) Lily Loring vows to never marry as she assumes men and abuse go hand in hand. However Lord Heath ¿Heartbreaker¿ Griffin meets and falls in love with her. She likes him, but rejects his courtship. To elude her ardent pursuer, Lily takes a room in a boardinghouse run by former courtesans including her friend Fanny Irwin. They hire her to teach the demimonde proper behavior amidst the Ton.--------------- The former ladies of the night suggest Lily play with Heath¿s affection by allowing him a chance to court her. However, as Lily aids a friend in trouble and assists another lady, she takes up the concept of wooing with Heath, but his sword play proves masterful as she falls in love with her devoted suitor.---------------- The third Courtship Wars is an appealing Regency romance in which the third Loring sibling lines up some interesting allies in her gender battle with Lord Heartbreaker. The lead couple¿s kissing and fighting make for a fun tale, but it¿s the women in Lily¿s corner that brings freshness to this winning tale TO SEDUCE A BRIDE.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    who said the second can never be as good!

    Wow! I can't help it this one is better than the 1st. If Mrs. Jordan keeps this up the third will be out of this world. Excellent character and steamy scenes and passionate love. Can't wait for the next one. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5