Customer Reviews for

To Sin with a Viking (Harlequin Historical Series #1150)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story.  Styr¿s struggle between his honor

I really enjoyed this story.  Styr’s struggle between his honor and his desire for Caragh is well written.  I can’t wait to read Ragnar and Elena’s story.

posted by JuliaAD on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It is rare that I read romances taking place in Vikings' time, t

It is rare that I read romances taking place in Vikings' time, the Middle Ages, etc.. I usually stop in Victorian times because I do not really like the caveman play for a hero. I  don't appreciate either woman subject to the orders of men because they are only good to ...
It is rare that I read romances taking place in Vikings' time, the Middle Ages, etc.. I usually stop in Victorian times because I do not really like the caveman play for a hero. I  don't appreciate either woman subject to the orders of men because they are only good to keep a home and have children.
So, It is true then that romance pleasantly surprised me.

Caragh is not weak or helpless. Certainly, it is a time of famine. She is weakened physically but not mentally. She is tenacious and determined to take care of the people she loves and not be intimidated by her Viking.
It is also a woman of honor. When she promises something, she keeps her words. An innocent who keeps her head on her shoulders and the control of her life. 
This is an interesting, curious and open to differences female character.


Styr is a gorgeous male in all its splendor. Arrogant, tough, overbearing but also protective, tender and faithful. He is the perfect hero subject to temptation that stays true to its principles.
A beautiful romance that transports you back in time.

Lucie
newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

posted by lucieparis2011 on July 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Excellent read but what else can we expect from Willingham

    Excellent read but what else can we expect from Willingham

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    I really enjoyed this story.  Styr¿s struggle between his honor


    I really enjoyed this story.  Styr’s struggle between his honor and his desire for Caragh is well written.  I can’t wait to read Ragnar and Elena’s story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    TO SIN WITH A VIKING by Michelle Willingham is an exciting Medie

    TO SIN WITH A VIKING by Michelle Willingham is an exciting Medieval Viking Historical Romance set in Ireland-ad 875. Fast paced, steamy story of an Irish Lady,Lady Caragh Ó Brannon, and a Norseman, Styr Hardrata. Both playing with fire neither, wishing to get burned,but..... One,Styr, is in a loveless,childless marriage, the other,Lady Caragh, starving to death,literally and carving not only food but love. Styr brings his wife,and men to Ireland seeking a fresh start to his loveless marriage,he,his men and his wife is kidnapped. Styr by a starving Lady Caragh, and the others by her youngest brother. Than.....the trouble begins, for the others are again kidnapped and sold into slavery. Except Styr's wife and his first in command who jump overboard during the second kidnapping. Styr is determined to find his wife and friends. Lady Caragh is determined to make sure Styr does not follow through on this threat to kill her beloved brother. While passion sparks, Styr is an honorable man and refuses his impulses to have Lady Caragh in his bed. Well written with interesting characters who are engaging as well as determined. An intriguing plot as well. Ms. Willingham is a constant storyteller who holds your attention as well as grips at your heart. I cried,and cursed the unfairness of a loveless marriage and the determination Styr had to not commit adultery. Oh but when they do...watch the sparks fly....A great read! If you enjoy Medieval,Vikings,early Ireland, and a great romance,than "To Sin With a Viking" is the story for you to read,you will not regret it. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.

    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: STEAMY
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    I enjoyed how this story began and how she managed to weave the

    I enjoyed how this story began and how she managed to weave the story around a married man. The author managed to deal with the subject so that it was heartfelt, believable and the outcome gratifying. Caragh was a strong and yet tender woman set up against Styr, a strong warrior who has his own tender side. A perfect match. Right away you knew who they were and began to care about what happens to them. The story itself had enough action to keep the pages turned and blended nicely with the budding romance. The heat was a little slow in coming but was satisfying when we got there. Overall, I enjoyed this book.
    ***ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    I LOVED THE ADVENTURE THEY TOOK!! A great story of forbidden lov

    I LOVED THE ADVENTURE THEY TOOK!! A great story of forbidden love of Caragh and her Viking Styr. Styr is married so means he is honor bound to protect and be faithful to his wife Elana, who has been taken captive by his own brother.  This story really moved me, and was a breath of fresh air in which i had been reading some stale books as of late. I could not Put this down and read in one sitting!!! Michelle Willingham does it again and i can say without a doubt i will read anything she writes!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    highly recommend

    loved the book. very entertaining, spicey, exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Recommened it!

    Good read.Felt like I was part of the story.First time I read about that period of history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    I loved it!

    This is the first book I have read by Willingham and I am impressed.
    A great story that held my attention throughout the book it does not disappoint. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    It is rare that I read romances taking place in Vikings' time, t

    It is rare that I read romances taking place in Vikings' time, the Middle Ages, etc.. I usually stop in Victorian times because I do not really like the caveman play for a hero. I  don't appreciate either woman subject to the orders of men because they are only good to keep a home and have children.
    So, It is true then that romance pleasantly surprised me.

    Caragh is not weak or helpless. Certainly, it is a time of famine. She is weakened physically but not mentally. She is tenacious and determined to take care of the people she loves and not be intimidated by her Viking.
    It is also a woman of honor. When she promises something, she keeps her words. An innocent who keeps her head on her shoulders and the control of her life. 
    This is an interesting, curious and open to differences female character.


    Styr is a gorgeous male in all its splendor. Arrogant, tough, overbearing but also protective, tender and faithful. He is the perfect hero subject to temptation that stays true to its principles.
    A beautiful romance that transports you back in time.

    Lucie
    newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    3.75 stars:   TO SIN WITH A VIKING is the first storyline in Mic

    3.75 stars:   TO SIN WITH A VIKING is the first storyline in Michelle Willingham's Forbidden Vikings series. The opening statements from the author `warn' of trespassing into the realm of infidelity and I wondered at the time `why' the warning to her readers. This is after all -A FICTIONAL STORYLINE - with fictional characters and is NOT an actual account of infidelity and betrayal and yet, many reviewers were taken aback by the storyline's `touch' on infidelity.
    In My Humble Opinion-readers would not have questioned Styr's desire for Caragh and potential betrayal to his wife without the author's opening remarks. And for those who have objected to the hero's supposed wandering heart-it appears that his wife was not necessarily faithful in all aspects of her marriage as well.
    The storyline focuses on the capture of Styr Hardrata and his fight to find his wife and missing crewmates. Landing in what would now be known as Ireland, Styr finds himself chained in Caragh's home and oddly attracted to the woman who holds him prisoner: and Caragh in return begins to fall for her captive. The pair begin a search for Caragh's brother and Styr's wife but what they discover is that the heart knows no boundary when the soul finds its' mate.
    As I read the storyline it becomes readily apparent that our hero Styr Hardrata is in a loveless marriage, arranged when he was seventeen, that has yet to produce an heir. Saying this, Styr's attraction to Caragh is a major theme running throughout the story band Styr tries to remain faithful to his missing wife albeit with little help from Caragh. Their attraction to one another is palpable as Caragh pushes Styr to the limits of his patience and sexual desire. Styr is in a constant battle with his conscience and his guilt over his developing feelings for Caragh.
    The characters are old world but the language is not as `old world styled' as I would have thought. There are several secondary characters with potential storylines including Styr's wife Elena and his friend Ragnar. The storyline is well paced with just enough background information about the leading characters so as not to overwhelm the premise.
    But I want to point out that most of what can be perceived as infidelity is that of the mind-thoughts, desires and wants. Some people/readers believe that even thinking about/ having feeling for someone other than their mate is betrayal, but there is a fine line between truth and dishonor.
    To Sin With A Viking is a well written, compelling storyline that will make some people think and others will take it for what it is-a fictional storyline about two people who fall in love with each other under extenuating circumstances.
    see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe(dot)com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Good

    3.5 Stars I was getting aggravated because over the first half of the book Styr and Caragh just lusted after each other, but he was being faithful to his wife. The last half was Excellent and very exciting and unpredictable!!!!! Highly Recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Not worth the time

    Came highly recommended to me but I thought it was pretty simple.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    An ok read

    Adequate cut and dry romance with an underdeveloped plot device that could've been expanded to create more intrigue and drama and add dimension to the characters. Tepid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    This was a good book, I couldn't put it down - the character cha

    This was a good book, I couldn't put it down - the character challenges are different than the typical romance novel, you could feel their personal struggles. I love a story that moves me emotionally, and this book had me in tears and then wanting to throw it across the room. I cried for their heartache and the personal struggles they were dealing with, the hopelessness of their situation. There were a few bumps in the book where I would have to go back and figure out how they got to that spot, almost as if I blinked and missed soemthing. I really wished the ending would have evolved more from that point into the future, but maybe that's for a future novel around the other characters in the book. I would recommend this one to my friends who love to immerse themselves into a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    To Sin with a Viking A great story of forbidden attraction of Ir

    To Sin with a Viking
    A great story of forbidden attraction of Irish maiden Caragh and her Viking captive Styr.    Styr is married and honor bound to protect and remain faithful to his wife Elana, who has been taken captive by Caragh’s brother.   I loved the story of the  forbidden attraction and the adventure they take.  Highly recommend everyone to read and tag along on the adventure.  Great job Michelle Willingham
    Harlequin is going to put the e-book version of this title on sale for $1.99, starting July 16th  for a limited  time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Very few romances seem to break the mold of the standard ¿hero m

    Very few romances seem to break the mold of the standard “hero meets heroine and they reluctantly fall in love.” But this one does in an unexpected way. Viking warrior Styr Hardrata arrives on the shores of Ireland along with his wife, Elena, but is ambushed. Taken captive and separated from his wife, he’s forced to depend on Caragh, the Irish woman who’d captured him. Intrigued by Caragh’s kindness and determination, he grows to care for her, and when given the opportunity to leave her to starve on the barren Irish island, he chooses to aid her instead. Together Styr and Caragh work together to rescue Elena as they confront their intense passion for each other.




    To Sin With a Viking was the first Viking story I’ve read in a number of years, and it didn’t disappoint. After I began reading, I found that Ms. Willingham’s writing even exceeded my expectations with a hero and heroine I grew to care about. I loved the depth of the Styr’s character, watching how he struggled to rescue his wife and fought his attraction to Caragh. I never felt awkward for his emotions, because this story was about so much more than lust. Styr tried very hard to save his marriage. His relationship problems with his spouse were poignant and just as meaningful then as they would be for a modern couple today. I liked the author’s well-executed exploration of this conflict, and I expect we’ll be seeing more stories like this in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    It seems that forbidden fruit is the greatest temptation. This s

    It seems that forbidden fruit is the greatest temptation. This story tempted Styr and Caragh from the beginning to the very end. The heartache of not knowing for Styr plus the temptation pulling him to double think his decisions.
    Past heart break for Caragh made it even harder for her to fully believe in herself.
    The wanting but never being able to have made this story that much harder to put down.
    The mixed in humor......surprising items at the market place (now that was sneaky and very unexpected)...along with the tension of the situation made me keep reading late into the night.

    Thank you again Michelle for another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    One thing I've learned over the past few years is that I cannot

    One thing I've learned over the past few years is that I cannot go wrong reading a book by Michelle Willingham. I love how I am not only drawn into a great story but she has a way of making you care for her characters so easily and quickly. To Sin with a Viking is no exception. I loved every bit of this book and cannot wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    I love Michelle Willingham's books and I was a little skeptical

    I love Michelle Willingham's books and I was a little skeptical about this one because the hero is already married, but not to the heroine of this book. Of course I shouldn't have worried because the way she written the story had me rooting for Caragh and Styr to find their happily ever after. I can see the struggle for Styr has he wants to honor his vows to his wife, but the desire that tugs at him whenever Caragh is near is getting stronger and stronger. Then poor Caragh has not had an easy life and she finally finds a man that makes her heart a flutter, but he's already taken. I really enjoyed the journey for these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** To Sin With

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    To Sin With a Viking by Michelle Willingham
    Book One of the Forbidden Vikings series
    Publisher: Harlequin
    Publication Date: July 23, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from NetGalley




    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    Playing With Fire!  




    Caragh Ó Brannon defended herself bravely when the enemy landed—only, now she finds herself alone with one very angry Viking… 




    Styr Hardrata sailed to Ireland intending to trade, never expecting to find himself held captive in chains by a beautiful Irish maiden. 




    The fiercely handsome warrior both terrifies and allures Caragh, but he is forbidden territory. He is the enemy…and he is married. Yet Styr harbors a secret that just might set them both free… 




    Forbidden Vikings 




    Resist them if you can!




    What I Liked:




    I knew as soon as I read the synopsis of this book that it would be something that I would potentially enjoy. I don't read a lot of Viking-history books. Actually, I don't think I've read any! But, it's historical fiction, and I love historical fiction (especially historical romance), so I knew I had to give this one a try.




    Ms. Willingham certainly knows her Viking history! I admit, I have not read a ton of Viking-history books, BUT, I do have a bit of knowledge of the Vikings from studies in school. I think Ms. Willingham did her research well, as I found the historical aspects of this book very authentic. I watch for anachronisms in every historical fiction book I read, and I didn't find any glaringly obvious ones in this book.




    The story of this book is pretty simple. Styr and his crew land on Caragh's island. Caragh captures Styr, because she doesn't want him to hurt her people. Styr's people sail away, held captive by Caragh's brother. Caragh and Styr eventually come to an agreement to look for Caragh brother and that ship with Styr's people - and Styr's wife.




    There were so many things that were wrong about Caragh and Styr's relationship. For one, Caragh captured Styr. Styr and his people had no intentions of attacking Caragh's people, but that's what Caragh's people thought. Caragh's people needed food, so they thought that the Vikings would have food. So, Caragh captures Styr. Styr's wife and his people are captured and taken away by Caragh's brothers. Styr is married. Caragh's brothers dislike Styr. So many things wrong with Caragh and Styr's relationship!




    Yet, Caragh and Styr's relationship (and the growth of it) was beautiful. I believe in the beginning of the eARC that I got, Ms. Willingham talked about how she wanted to explore the possibility of falling in love, when one's marriage is no longer filled with love. Styr never once touched Caragh, but his feelings betrayed him eventually, even if he never did anything unfaithful.




    So, I love what Ms. Willingham decided to do with this story! Caragh understands that Styr is married, but she can't help but fall in love with the person that escaped from her capture and still helped her find food, and agreed to help her find her brother and his people. Styr knew that he should be happily married, and not once did he stop thinking about his wife, but he cannot help but fall in love with Caragh as well.




    There is a particular part of this book that I love - when Caragh and Styr find out where Styr's brethren are (in slavery by a very rich man). This part in the book is quite funny, because the rich man is totally lusting after Caragh, and she is definitely pitting him and Styr against each other without meaning it. Her choice with the man nearly broke my heart, but that choice is negated by Styr swooping in to take Caragh away.




    So, I really liked the story. I really liked the romance. The characterization is pretty good - we definitely see growth in Caragh, even until the end. She lets go of Styr, even though she thinks she can't. She doesn't want to accept him, because she knows that his marriage to Elena is what matters to him.




    Rest assured - there is a happy ending. It doesn't come obviously or immediately, but it's a happy ending for everyone. I can't wait to read Elena's story!




    What I Did Not Like:




    I think this is a small thing, but I felt like the story could have picked up sometimes just a tiny bit. Like, at times, the story dragged on a bit, but then, at other times, I couldn't read fast enough. So, there were slight pacing issues? This was definitely not a huge thing that made me cringe or anything, but it's something that I noticed.




    Would I Recommend It:




    I totally would recommend this novel! My first Viking historical romance read was a success! If you love historical fiction (and not just Regency or Edwardian historical), then give this book a try!




    Rating:




    4 stars. As I said before, I cannot wait to read Elena's story! 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2