Customer Reviews for

To Sin with a Viking (Harlequin Historical Series #1150)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story.  Styr¿s struggle between his honor

I really enjoyed this story.  Styr’s struggle between his honor and his desire for Caragh is well written.  I can’t wait to read Ragnar and Elena’s story.

posted by JuliaAD on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It is rare that I read romances taking place in Vikings' time, t

It is rare that I read romances taking place in Vikings' time, the Middle Ages, etc.. I usually stop in Victorian times because I do not really like the caveman play for a hero. I  don't appreciate either woman subject to the orders of men because they are only good to ...
It is rare that I read romances taking place in Vikings' time, the Middle Ages, etc.. I usually stop in Victorian times because I do not really like the caveman play for a hero. I  don't appreciate either woman subject to the orders of men because they are only good to keep a home and have children.
So, It is true then that romance pleasantly surprised me.

Caragh is not weak or helpless. Certainly, it is a time of famine. She is weakened physically but not mentally. She is tenacious and determined to take care of the people she loves and not be intimidated by her Viking.
It is also a woman of honor. When she promises something, she keeps her words. An innocent who keeps her head on her shoulders and the control of her life. 
This is an interesting, curious and open to differences female character.


Styr is a gorgeous male in all its splendor. Arrogant, tough, overbearing but also protective, tender and faithful. He is the perfect hero subject to temptation that stays true to its principles.
A beautiful romance that transports you back in time.

Lucie
newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

posted by lucieparis2011 on July 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Excellent read but what else can we expect from Willingham

    Excellent read but what else can we expect from Willingham

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    I really enjoyed this story.  Styr¿s struggle between his honor


    I really enjoyed this story.  Styr’s struggle between his honor and his desire for Caragh is well written.  I can’t wait to read Ragnar and Elena’s story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    I LOVED THE ADVENTURE THEY TOOK!! A great story of forbidden lov

    I LOVED THE ADVENTURE THEY TOOK!! A great story of forbidden love of Caragh and her Viking Styr. Styr is married so means he is honor bound to protect and be faithful to his wife Elana, who has been taken captive by his own brother.  This story really moved me, and was a breath of fresh air in which i had been reading some stale books as of late. I could not Put this down and read in one sitting!!! Michelle Willingham does it again and i can say without a doubt i will read anything she writes!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    highly recommend

    loved the book. very entertaining, spicey, exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    I loved it!

    This is the first book I have read by Willingham and I am impressed.
    A great story that held my attention throughout the book it does not disappoint. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    This was a good book, I couldn't put it down - the character cha

    This was a good book, I couldn't put it down - the character challenges are different than the typical romance novel, you could feel their personal struggles. I love a story that moves me emotionally, and this book had me in tears and then wanting to throw it across the room. I cried for their heartache and the personal struggles they were dealing with, the hopelessness of their situation. There were a few bumps in the book where I would have to go back and figure out how they got to that spot, almost as if I blinked and missed soemthing. I really wished the ending would have evolved more from that point into the future, but maybe that's for a future novel around the other characters in the book. I would recommend this one to my friends who love to immerse themselves into a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    To Sin with a Viking A great story of forbidden attraction of Ir

    To Sin with a Viking
    A great story of forbidden attraction of Irish maiden Caragh and her Viking captive Styr.    Styr is married and honor bound to protect and remain faithful to his wife Elana, who has been taken captive by Caragh’s brother.   I loved the story of the  forbidden attraction and the adventure they take.  Highly recommend everyone to read and tag along on the adventure.  Great job Michelle Willingham
    Harlequin is going to put the e-book version of this title on sale for $1.99, starting July 16th  for a limited  time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Very few romances seem to break the mold of the standard ¿hero m

    Very few romances seem to break the mold of the standard “hero meets heroine and they reluctantly fall in love.” But this one does in an unexpected way. Viking warrior Styr Hardrata arrives on the shores of Ireland along with his wife, Elena, but is ambushed. Taken captive and separated from his wife, he’s forced to depend on Caragh, the Irish woman who’d captured him. Intrigued by Caragh’s kindness and determination, he grows to care for her, and when given the opportunity to leave her to starve on the barren Irish island, he chooses to aid her instead. Together Styr and Caragh work together to rescue Elena as they confront their intense passion for each other.




    To Sin With a Viking was the first Viking story I’ve read in a number of years, and it didn’t disappoint. After I began reading, I found that Ms. Willingham’s writing even exceeded my expectations with a hero and heroine I grew to care about. I loved the depth of the Styr’s character, watching how he struggled to rescue his wife and fought his attraction to Caragh. I never felt awkward for his emotions, because this story was about so much more than lust. Styr tried very hard to save his marriage. His relationship problems with his spouse were poignant and just as meaningful then as they would be for a modern couple today. I liked the author’s well-executed exploration of this conflict, and I expect we’ll be seeing more stories like this in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    One thing I've learned over the past few years is that I cannot

    One thing I've learned over the past few years is that I cannot go wrong reading a book by Michelle Willingham. I love how I am not only drawn into a great story but she has a way of making you care for her characters so easily and quickly. To Sin with a Viking is no exception. I loved every bit of this book and cannot wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love Michelle Willingham's books and I was a little skeptical

    I love Michelle Willingham's books and I was a little skeptical about this one because the hero is already married, but not to the heroine of this book. Of course I shouldn't have worried because the way she written the story had me rooting for Caragh and Styr to find their happily ever after. I can see the struggle for Styr has he wants to honor his vows to his wife, but the desire that tugs at him whenever Caragh is near is getting stronger and stronger. Then poor Caragh has not had an easy life and she finally finds a man that makes her heart a flutter, but he's already taken. I really enjoyed the journey for these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    When I first read the synopsis of the book I wasn't quite sure

    When I first read the synopsis of the book I wasn't quite sure I was going to like it, I mean it's a romance novel staring a married man and a woman not his wife! I WAS sure, however, that MW would have a good plot and great characters. Never having been disappointed with one of her books on I read...MW was sure to specify early on that Styr and Elena's marriage was not a love match but even so, you could still feel that they cared for each other. As usual you cant help but like MW's characters, each of her supporting characters you want to get to know, even the bad guys are written so well you like them....The story grab's you from the very beginning where you meet Styr and Elena on the longboat and learn that their marriage is on the rocks. Styr has set out for a new start in a new land to try and better things for them. Picking the wrong spot they are soon set upon by men from the village and Elena is kidnapped. Styr is then captured and chained by Caragh. Eventually he escapes, of course, because that's what heros do, and the hunt is on for his wife, his men and the man who kidnapped them. Their search takes them on many adventures and as Styr and Caragh grow closer, both to finding Elena and each other Styr has a hard time remaining faithful to his wife. I have to point out that you have to decide as you are reading whether or not he's cheating. Emotionally, in my opinion, he definitely is, but I think the definition of cheating is different for each person. I will say that no true intercourse takes place until Styr's marriage situation is resolved.I'm glad I decided to read this book! The ending is done in true Michelle WIllingham form, meaning I 1. didn't want it to end and 2. read the last page smiling and knowing I had read a great story. I can't wait for the second book in the Forbidden Vikings series Elena and Ragnar's story....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I haven't read a Viking story since I finished Sandra Hill' s Vi

    I haven't read a Viking story since I finished Sandra Hill' s Viking series. I enjoyed the freshness of this book. The characters are well developed with lots of angst among them. There were battles to churn your stomach but not really full of gore. The love scenes were Hot Hot Hot!Wow!I wasn't expecting that. Don't skip this book. I already want to read the next book in this double series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1