Customer Reviews for

To Sir Phillip, with Love (Bridgerton Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Julia Quinn writes yet another great Romance!

I have TRIED to find an author as fun and witty as Julia Quinn, and have failed. This book is one of many that exude charm and keeps you laughing out loud. Trust me, my husband always glances over when I bust out laughing. The characters are memorable and very relata...
I have TRIED to find an author as fun and witty as Julia Quinn, and have failed. This book is one of many that exude charm and keeps you laughing out loud. Trust me, my husband always glances over when I bust out laughing. The characters are memorable and very relatable. Enjoy the read, I will keep this book forever.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I was truly disappointed with this book. I've loved all of the other JQ books so far! This book was just blah. The 2 main characters IMO have no developement & suddenly fall in love in 2 weeks. I was just seriously disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on March 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Julia Quinn writes yet another great Romance!

    I have TRIED to find an author as fun and witty as Julia Quinn, and have failed. This book is one of many that exude charm and keeps you laughing out loud. Trust me, my husband always glances over when I bust out laughing. The characters are memorable and very relatable. Enjoy the read, I will keep this book forever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was just a great love story! I loved it when her brothers came into the story! When all the bridgertons are together its hilarious! All in all it was a good read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fine romance

    In 1823 Gloucestershire, England, a depressed Marina Crane leaves her bed for the first time in weeks jumping into the nearby icy water. Her botanist husband Phillip rescues her from drowning, but she dies three days later from a fever. Phillip and their seven-year-old twin children feel grief, guilt, and relief.<P> Phillip receives a letter from Marina¿s cousin Eloise Bridgerton expressing her sympathy. He writes back thanking her and encloses a pressed flower. They exchange more letters until Phillip invites Eloise to his estate to see if they would suit. Eloise tells no one including Phillip that with no chaperone she goes to visit him.<P> Eloise introduces herself, but is shocked he has children, as he never mentioned them. She introduces herself to the twins, but they tell her to leave, as they want no guests. The twins confront Eloise who throws down the gauntlet. Eloise explains to Phillip that she wants a husband and liked his letters so she came to see if they will really suit. He admits he wants a mother for his unruly children. As they fall in love, his kids will do everything to drive her away.<P> The latest Bridgerton Regency romance is a fun yet serious tale due to the antics of the two children seeking attention from their father. Though complex issues involving the lead male¿s two children are too easily resolved; the latest Bridgerton tale is a fun frolic with much of the family making a strong appearance.<P> Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Although I absolutely love the Bridgerton series, this was probably one of my least favorites. I was just not feeling a genuine romance between phillip and eloise. Its still worth reading if you like the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was truly disappointed with this book. I've loved all of the other JQ books so far! This book was just blah. The 2 main characters IMO have no developement & suddenly fall in love in 2 weeks. I was just seriously disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    My favorite by far

    The character of the hero was so human and so real that you could feell his pain. I loved the fact that he was so honorable and also unsure of himself. I dont like male characters that think every one should bow before them since they are the gift from gods.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Quinn makes the fantasy real...

    ...by providing real character flaws and serious issues such as the repetitive cycle of abuse and the efdects on the family of depression. It gives the redemptive power of true love a gravitas and context we can more easily accept. I love Eloisa's hyperactive involvement in the world and her irrepressibility. I sympathise with Phillip's blundering misunderstanding of so much of the emotional upheaval in his life. His reactions to Marina's suicide, his children's needs, his own emotions, are so much more authentic than so many of the alpha male templates used in romance novels. The fullness these flaws give the characters made the re-reading of this novel as freah and entertaining as the first read and justified the Nook purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was a wonderful read. Although phillip was rather dull at times. Eloise seems very intelligent and helpful to be raising those two children and it was rayher beastly for the nurse to hit them with books. It was very sad though with marina and it is quite hard to believe she would leave her children and with phillips father by being cruel with hitting phillip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Ending

    The ending was Beautiful, the best part in the whole story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Love it!

    Love this series even though I am embarrassed to admit my newfound love of the romance novel! So great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    I only read this book once and what I think about it is that its

    I only read this book once and what I think about it is that its an okay book. The thing I loved about it was that it tells you what happened with Phillip's first wife and how he feels about it and its just a nice book 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I like it so much I bought it twice.

    I've had the paperback since it first came out but decided to get the ebook recently when I wanted to re-read it. Love the Bridgertons but this is one is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Title says it all

    This book is tender and passionate and moving. Another fifty pages would have let the end develop more completely. Highly recommend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Good as always!

    This follows in Julia Quinn's style but puts a different spin on Eloise's story! I love them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Best Bridgerton book yet!

    So beautiful, heartwarming, funny and aching REAL in its telling of what marriage was, and often still is for many of us. This book made me laugh out loud, cry, and even growl with anger during some scenes dealing with physical abuse. This is definitely my favorite in this series so far. Which is REALLY saying something, as i have loved them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Did not like phillip

    At all. Maybe im just partial to the bridgerton boys... but i didnt like him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    LOVE this book!!!

    I'm tough when it comes to giving a good rating, but I couldn't put this down. The story line kept me going. Julia Quinn at her best!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Okay

    This was one of Julia's better books for me. It was good and kept me interested at least. I still don't like stories with children in them....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Best of the Brigertons

    This was the first Julia Quinn novel I ever read and it is by far my favorite. It reads fast and fun. I enjoy re-reading it every once in a while. It's like an old friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9