Customer Reviews for

To Tame a Highland Warrior (Highlander Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 832 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(504)

4 Star

(220)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC SERIES

Ms. Moning has a great passion for storytelling. More than once I was tempted to highlight sentences or passages because they were phrased so well. Of course, I was so engrossed in the book that I could not be bothered to put the book down long enough to get a highlight...
Ms. Moning has a great passion for storytelling. More than once I was tempted to highlight sentences or passages because they were phrased so well. Of course, I was so engrossed in the book that I could not be bothered to put the book down long enough to get a highlighter.
This story is fun to read and is based on supernatural beings called Berserkers which were supposed to have existed in Scotland many years ago. We watch the character of Grimm go through a transformation as he attempts to hide his true nature from the world and then, through circumstance, reveal himself to close friends and to the woman that he loves.
One of the things that I love about Ms. Moning's books is they all have this element of fearing to reveal our true self to the person we love the most, even when that person is the person who understands us best of all. When the moment finally comes to share ourselves, we find that the other person knew the truth and accepted us all along.
I love the scene in the church when Jillian's father says that love involves having passion, so much passion that you'd be willing to kidnap your beloved before she turned to someone else. You really get the sense of divine intervention in this book. This man and this woman are made for one another and no matter what they do to deny it, fate always steps in and thrusts them together until they are ready to accept it.
I highly recommend this book and pretty much anything else by this author. She has a fabulous way of combining celtic mysticism and historical romance without feeling forced. This is a fantastic series.

posted by 148253 on November 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, but wasn't cohesive to the rest of the series

This book was good, but it was more of a stand alone boo rather than part of a series. Barely any mention of Hawk and Adrienne, and absolutely nothing about Adam Black or any other fae. I was disappointed because I wanted a continuation or at least some mention of fae...
This book was good, but it was more of a stand alone boo rather than part of a series. Barely any mention of Hawk and Adrienne, and absolutely nothing about Adam Black or any other fae. I was disappointed because I wanted a continuation or at least some mention of fae creatures. It's a good book, it just didn't really belong in the Highlander series. And you don't need to read this book to keep up with the rest of the series.

posted by jenmurph21 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 838 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC SERIES

    Ms. Moning has a great passion for storytelling. More than once I was tempted to highlight sentences or passages because they were phrased so well. Of course, I was so engrossed in the book that I could not be bothered to put the book down long enough to get a highlighter. <BR/>This story is fun to read and is based on supernatural beings called Berserkers which were supposed to have existed in Scotland many years ago. We watch the character of Grimm go through a transformation as he attempts to hide his true nature from the world and then, through circumstance, reveal himself to close friends and to the woman that he loves. <BR/>One of the things that I love about Ms. Moning's books is they all have this element of fearing to reveal our true self to the person we love the most, even when that person is the person who understands us best of all. When the moment finally comes to share ourselves, we find that the other person knew the truth and accepted us all along. <BR/>I love the scene in the church when Jillian's father says that love involves having passion, so much passion that you'd be willing to kidnap your beloved before she turned to someone else. You really get the sense of divine intervention in this book. This man and this woman are made for one another and no matter what they do to deny it, fate always steps in and thrusts them together until they are ready to accept it. <BR/>I highly recommend this book and pretty much anything else by this author. She has a fabulous way of combining celtic mysticism and historical romance without feeling forced. This is a fantastic series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but wasn't cohesive to the rest of the series

    This book was good, but it was more of a stand alone boo rather than part of a series. Barely any mention of Hawk and Adrienne, and absolutely nothing about Adam Black or any other fae. I was disappointed because I wanted a continuation or at least some mention of fae creatures. It's a good book, it just didn't really belong in the Highlander series. And you don't need to read this book to keep up with the rest of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Addictive Series

    After reading the 1st installment of Moning's Highlander series, I knew I had to continue reading more! I figured I would grow tired of Scottish highlanders and their pursuit of women but I haven't. She writes with such humor & detail that even though you know the highlander will get the girl in the end, you are still drawn in & can't wait to see how their story unfolds! This story of Grimm & Jillian is excellent as Grimm strongly resists his feelings given his mistaken beliefs about his father. A great read!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    I believe Moning is one of the best romance writers of today- because you are drawn in so quickly and it is such an enjoyable read. She knows how to be light and funny and then make you feel the drama and suspense of the moment. This one was my favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I absolutely LOVED this book! The dialog was hysterically funny in parts, and I laughed out loud frequently while listening to the audio book. I recommend listening to the audio book because the narrator has an excellent Scottish accent! Anyway, the character of Grimm is everything you want in a hero and then some! Jillian's character is quite believable as a 21-year-old that is still hopelessly in love with her childhood fantasy man. The supporting characters are well-developed, and the story just got better and better. MUCH better than the first book in this series! I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Good but not great

    This is the first Karen Marie Moning book that didn't live up to my expectations. It was good but not fulfilling. I wasn't drawn in enough to suspend criticism. When Adrienne and Hawk first meet, I felt like there was something absent. He was simply in love with her. As a general rule I need two people to have a real conversation before I can believe they are in love. The constant harping on the beauty of these men wears thin as well since it makes them near impossible to imagine. A mention or two would have done the trick. I also didn't like the constant references to Ebberhard who we never meet. For such a dramatic event in Adrienne's life, a scene should have been devoted to it or at the very least a stronger, deeper connection to the reason behind her wariness other than her constant harping about beautiful men, which only made her seem irrational and unfair. Adrienne came off as slightly annoying. She makes some good points about them not knowing each other but her behavior comes off as rude and over the top. Hawk did not deserve the way she treated him. I can't help but feel this book was edited down and as a result left some gaping holes.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great story! Had me just a few short chapters in. Really love th

    Great story! Had me just a few short chapters in. Really love the charachters and the flow from book one to book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Book 1 grabbed my attention so of course I bought #2. I was very

    Book 1 grabbed my attention so of course I bought #2. I was very happy! Best historical/romance series Ive read in a looong time! Couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    I love the Highlander series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Made my heart swoon!

    My favorite in the series so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Favorite autor

    This is rhe highlander series each book in series is abour a new couple in each book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Great Read

    Love,love,love this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    very good

    sexy different but very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Tough

    I hated the heroine Jillian. She was immature, rubbed me the wrong way from start to finish. Grimm was a great hero, his story was great, but Jillian ruined it. I loved Grimm hated Jillian. Still glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Very Good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Highlander

    I love all of Karen Moning's highlanders series! This is my second time to read them! There is just something a man who defend and take care of you that is a TOTAL turn on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Recommended

    love the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    Love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommend! Fantastic

    As is expected, Karen M. Moning came through again. She wove a wonderful story and it is another one of the Highlander series that kept me spellbound. Lots of adventure and romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I'm not that impressed with this book. I started in the middle

    I'm not that impressed with this book. I started in the middle of her highland series and I had high hopes for the first half but I was sadly dissappointed. I got to page 102 in my nook and I just can't continue. There's no real plot to the book, the character's are blase and annoying, and I was afraid my eyes would really stay that way if I rolled my eyes one more time. The book wasn't horrible and I'll admit that it could have gotten better but I wasn't sticking around to find out. It's been archived never to be seen again. Now, I can highly recommend Kiss of the Highlander and all the books that come afterwards. I loved all those books! Drunstan, Dageus, Adam, and Cian...now those are some highlander's (and one Fae) that a girl can never get enough of. Start with those, you wont be dissappointed, read the first three at your own risk. I highly anticipate reading more about the MacKeltar clan, they are to drool...I mean to die for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 838 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42