Customer Reviews for

To Tempt a Viking (Harlequin Historical Series #1173)

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed this book and would recommend if your reading interest i

    Enjoyed this book and would recommend if your reading interest is Viking romance. I also read "To Sin with a Viking" and Willingham's Viking characters are different from others I have read which make her books interesting and very readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    The long wait is over and the second book is finally here!!! Thi

    The long wait is over and the second book is finally here!!! This author, who is definately one of my favorites and one whose books I simply reach for when I see her name, I don't even read the description of the book, her name says it all for me.

    The events in this book overlaps with the first so you will want to read the first before you read this one. The heroine is taken captive and the warrior who has loved her from a distance must rescue her. They become stranded together and feelings between the two run amuck. She, thinking she is trapped in her situation, and he, thinking he will never have a chance for his love, find their way through it all and learn that happiness is possible.

    This book, like the first, is not your normal run of the mill romance. However this book, as well as the first, shows the authors talent as everything flows and the reader can't help but root for the characters. The sensational sexy tension between the two leaps from the pages and envelopes the reader within the chemistry leaping from the pages.

    This author's talent is clearly defined as she touches on taboo subjects at this time period. The book is a page turner and gradually grabs the reader then doesn't let them go.

    I would recommend reading "To Sin With A Viking" first and then follow with this sequel. You will never be disappointed with this author, in my opinion.
    The heroine is testing his resolve. Warrior Viking Ragnar Olafsson stood by as his best friend claimed the woman he desired the most. There was only one way to quench the deep darkness within him—become merciless in battle.
    When Elena is taken captive, fearless Ragnar risks everything to save her. Now they are stranded with only each other for company. Suddenly every longing, every look, every touch is forbidden. Elena could tempt a saint—and sinner Ragnar knows he won't be able to hold out for long! Forbidden Vikings Resist them if you can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3.5 This was my first time reading a book by this autho

    Rating: 3.5

    This was my first time reading a book by this author, and I enjoyed it. I am not a history buff, so I have no idea how accurate the characters and the scenarios were, but I really liked that the prose was understandable and clear. I have read a similar historical romance before but trying to pronounce the words written in a heavy accent was rather tedious. No problem here.

    I liked Ragnar and Elena in this story. Although I usually prefer more assertive heroines, I do believe her (at times annoying) characterization was accurate for women from that time. Their marriages were arranged, and they weren't meant to do much else than create a family. That was the crux of her problem. Elena's greatest wish was to conceive a child, but after five years of trying, she hadn't been successful. The sadness and disappointment naturally put a strain on her marriage. Before they could work on fixing it, they were separated.

    Over the course of a week, give or take, Elena and Ragnar faced many dangers together, both physical and emotional. While Elena seemed to be all over the place emotionally, Ragnar was focused on ignoring his fantasies and setting aside his forbidden attraction. He was a man of honor, and for the most part he kept to his word not to sully his best friend's wife.

    What I liked was the balance of action versus romance. There were sword fights, Elena proved herself quite capable under duress, and when they talked, Ragnar always seemed to be open and honest about his feelings while trying to remain honorable. There were quite a few moments that sounded repetitive, especially from Elena. I think the story could have done with fewer mentions of how badly she wanted a child, how she had pushed Styr away, or how comfortable she had always been around Ragnar (because she had him placed in the friend zone). The sex scenes didn't happen until near the end, but what was there was really hot. After the reunion there was a lot of emotional drama in this triangle. Elena finally found something to take her mind off her barrenness, Ragnar felt more conflicted than ever, and Styr seemed to extricate himself from the situation rather easily.

    I know some readers had an issue with what they saw as infidelity in this story. Usually I stay away from such plots in romance, but this worked for me. There was no sexual intercourse between the hero and heroine, but there was definitely emotional infidelity. Aside from Elena holding out hope that her husband was alive and he'd come for her, the reader had no way of knowing whether Styr was alive or not, and neither did the characters.

    Once I finished the story, I checked on the first book in the series which turns out to be Styr's story, or perhaps more appropriately, this book from his POV. Considering that I connected with Elena over her issues, I don't feel the need to go back and read his side of the story. I felt he could have acted less cold towards the woman who was his wife for five years and a friend for even longer. I do think this book can stand on its own. In the end, I was happy and satisfied with the outcome for all involved, and I would read more from this author.

    Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. The views and opinions expressed in this review are my own, and in no way represent the views or opinions of the publisher/distributor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Imagine you have found the one person that could be the love of

    Imagine you have found the one person that could be the love of your life, your soulmate, and the one you truly could not live without. That is the way Ragnar Olafsson has felt about Elena since he was a young man. Life is against him and she is betrothed and married to his best friend Styr. Flashbacks through the story give you an idea what this couple has gone through in their lives. When Eleana is captured Ragnar watches over her. He sees she is protected and safe. Elena finds that she admaires this warrior for his courage, thoughtfulness, and caring. Twists of fate help this couple as Elena takes her life and matters into her own hands. You will enjoy Elena and Ragnar in To Tempt a Viking. Another winner Michelle Willingham! I couldn't put this one down. Gail Adams

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    I've been waiting for this book from the minute I finished To Si

    I've been waiting for this book from the minute I finished To Sin With A Viking (Styr and Caragh's story), where we first meet Elena and Ragnar. I was curious to see how MW would spin the tale of a wife(Elena) falling for a man (Ragnar) who is not her husband (Styr) while her husband is still alive! Well, she spun it quite well!! Right from the beginning you can feel Ragnar's aching love for Elena. With her being married to his best friend she is definitely OFF LIMITS. Elena's angst is just as bad. The feelings and the desire which she feels for Ragnar are completely different from those she feels for her husband. I like how MW doesn't drag out the marriage until the end of the book so that Elena and Ragnar can build a relationship. I can't think of anything in the book I didn't like. There was plenty of action, whether it was a ship being attacked, being attacked by raiders or Ragnar just plain kicking some heiney to make money. 'Bad guys' that weren't over the top (just enough nastiness to be believe able!) and the love scenes are quite....hot. The only thing that I would have liked to see was some closure between Styr & Caragh and Elena & Ragnar. Only because of the close friendship between Ragnar and Styr, it felt like they never saw one another again after everyone gets their happily ever after. But that's just me, I like everyone to have a happy ending. This book can be read as a stand alone but is much better, in my opinion, if you read to Sin With A Viking first.Oh, one other thing. I don't know if you usually read the Author's Note in the beginning of the books you read, but if you read this one the epilogue is even more special for some reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** To Tempt A V

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    To Tempt A Viking by Michelle Willingham
    Book Two of the Forbidden Vikings series
    Publisher: Harlequin
    Publication Date: January 21, 2014
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from NetGalley




    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    She’s Testing His Resolve!




    Warrior Viking Ragnar Olafsson stood by as his best friend claimed the woman he desired the most. There was only one way to quench the deep darkness within him—become merciless in battle.




    When Elena is taken captive, fearless Ragnar risks everything to save her. Now they are stranded with only each other for company. Suddenly every longing, every look, every touch is forbidden. Elena could tempt a saint—and sinner Ragnar knows he won’t be able to hold out for long!




    What I Liked:




    After reading To Sin With A Viking, I knew I could not wait to read the companion sequel novel! Yes, it featured Elena, and I was not a huge fan of her in the first book. BUT, it featured Elena, meaning that she would get her own happy ending! That was something I wanted to read.




    Ragnar Olafsson has been in love with his best friend's wife since the three of them were kids, and no one was promised to each other yet. But he has never acted on his feelings or desires, nor will he ever do so, while Styr and Elena are married. Elena has always cared for Ragnar as a friend, as she has seen him through his worst as a young boy and young man, especially with the unique death of his father.




    This book parallels with book one. Meaning, the events of book one overlap with the events of book two. This book starts with the capture of Elena and the other men by Caragh's brother Brendan, but the end of book one (Styr leaving for Caragh) occurs about halfway through this book.




    The other half of this book is spent on Ragnar and Elena, and their broken relationship. Elena is no longer married to Styr, but that doesn't mean that she can just climb into Ragnar's bed. Ragnar will not allow that, because he has his own demons to face. Ragnar has a twisted sense of self-worth, and doesn't believe that he deserve Elena. Nor does he believe that she could be safe from him.




    I loved seeing the romance between Ragnar and Elena progress. There was always something there, but the time alone, the need for each other, Styr's departure, Elena's desire for children... everything just came together. The chemistry between these two sizzles, but neither can actually act upon their desires until way past Styr and Elena's divorce.




    I liked how Willingham resolved the child issue. Elena is barren, and believes that she will never have children, because she never had a child or got pregnant for Styr. Well, Willingham created the prefect solution for Elena (and Ragnar) - doubly, if I may say so. I saw one of them coming, but not quite the entire scenario. Very cool!




    Overall, I really liked this companion sequel novel. I really, really liked Ragnar, and while I didn't like Elena in the first book, I came to understand her in this book, and even like her. It was fascinating to see how the stories overlapped and intersected - it made things much more intriguing! This book is definitely worth the read.




    What I Did Not Like:




    I thought the first quarter of the book was a bit slow. I sort of powered through it, and by powered through I mean skim, sort of. Once I got past it, things started to get, um, interesting, between Ragnar and Elena, which helped me keep reading.




    Not that I was ever in danger of NOT finishing this book. This book was too good for me to even consider that notion. 




    Would I Recommend It:




    If you read and liked the first book, DEFINITELY follow up by reading this book. I thought I would hate reading Elena's story, because I thought she wasn't particularly pleasant in the first book of this series, but when you see her side of things, everything makes sense. I'm really glad I read this book. I recommend both books, for historical romance fans!




    Rating:




    4 stars. Definitely an interesting and enjoyable companion novel! I wonder if Willingham has any more Forbidden Vikings books up her sleeve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked the first book to this series, so I was expecting

    I really liked the first book to this series, so I was expecting a lot from the companion novel. And, it definitely met my expectations! To Tempt a Viking was a fantastic historical romance that I really enjoyed. I really liked this book.

    This book starts off in the same place that book 1 started and shows what happened to Ragnar and Elena while Styr was captured. Then, about 1/3 of the way through, it catches up and starts on Elena's story, right after she divorced Styr. And, of course, after getting divorced, she needed a little comfort. And Ragnar just so happens to be there...

    Elena was a good heroine. She had her own quiet brand of strength that helped her get through everything. She was kind and likable and I thought she was great.

    Ragnar was amazing. He was so sweet and a truly good and honorable man. Trouble is, he doesn't believe that. After doing something he considered unforgivable, he lived with the belief that he carried a darkness in himself that made him a danger to those around him. And, unfortunately, that made him reluctant to admit to and act on his feelings. But, I thought he was wonderful. He was sweet and devoted to his loved ones. I adored him.

    The romance was great. Elena and Ragnar were very sweet together, especially with how they had held feelings for each other (more so on Ragnar's side) but couldn't act on them until now. That also led to some steamy moments that were super hot. These two were a lovely couple.

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. I thought this was a perfect companion story that gave the other unhappily married person a chance at a happy ending. I really enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was great, with a happily ever after for both couples.

    To Tempt a Viking was a wonderful historical romance. I really enjoyed reading it. For those who liked the first book in this series, you won't be disappointed with how things turn out. And, romance lovers in general, this is a book worth checking out.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This Viking series by Michelle is one of my favorites. I love th

    This Viking series by Michelle is one of my favorites. I love the characters. I liked Styr and Carragh from her previous book and this one continues on from that story. Elena is a mess. She loves her husband Styr but after 5 years being married she kind of goes over the edge because all she wants is a child of her own. She becomes Little Suzy Homemaker and cleans continually. Poor Styr can't figure her out. He's a Viking who can't sail the seas because of her. Then he has to leave or fight to be the Jarl of his town. So they both sail away and are attacked by Danes. Ragnor is Styr's friend and loves her from afar. She jumps ship and he follows her. This book tells how they fight to do what they all think is the right thing. There are a few twists to the tale. I needed a few tissues and wanted to bop someone on the head a few times. This can be a stand alone story so don't pass it over. Give it a read. It's quite and will get you hooked on Michelle's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

     Ragnar and Elena are the perfect pair. When Ragnar saves Elena

     Ragnar and Elena are the perfect pair. When Ragnar saves Elena they are set on a jonurney that will forever change thier lives. Elena  is married to Ragnars best friend Styr. But Styr and Elena are not in love and only remain married out of Duty. When Elena Declares herself Divorced things heat up between her and Ragnar who has loved her since the day he meet her. This Story was a great Read and I can not wait for more from Michelle Willingham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    I am glad that Ragnar and Elena finally got together. I got a li

    I am glad that Ragnar and Elena finally got together. I got a little irritated with Ragnar because he wanted Elena and was able to have her,
     but he waffled back and forth because (I think) he was insecure. He suffered as a child and, as we all do, he let it color  his future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1