Customer Reviews for

To Tempt a Viking (Harlequin Historical Series #1173)

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    The long wait is over and the second book is finally here!!! Thi

    The long wait is over and the second book is finally here!!! This author, who is definately one of my favorites and one whose books I simply reach for when I see her name, I don't even read the description of the book, her name says it all for me.

    The events in this book overlaps with the first so you will want to read the first before you read this one. The heroine is taken captive and the warrior who has loved her from a distance must rescue her. They become stranded together and feelings between the two run amuck. She, thinking she is trapped in her situation, and he, thinking he will never have a chance for his love, find their way through it all and learn that happiness is possible.

    This book, like the first, is not your normal run of the mill romance. However this book, as well as the first, shows the authors talent as everything flows and the reader can't help but root for the characters. The sensational sexy tension between the two leaps from the pages and envelopes the reader within the chemistry leaping from the pages.

    This author's talent is clearly defined as she touches on taboo subjects at this time period. The book is a page turner and gradually grabs the reader then doesn't let them go.

    I would recommend reading "To Sin With A Viking" first and then follow with this sequel. You will never be disappointed with this author, in my opinion.
    The heroine is testing his resolve. Warrior Viking Ragnar Olafsson stood by as his best friend claimed the woman he desired the most. There was only one way to quench the deep darkness within him—become merciless in battle.
    When Elena is taken captive, fearless Ragnar risks everything to save her. Now they are stranded with only each other for company. Suddenly every longing, every look, every touch is forbidden. Elena could tempt a saint—and sinner Ragnar knows he won't be able to hold out for long! Forbidden Vikings Resist them if you can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Imagine you have found the one person that could be the love of

    Imagine you have found the one person that could be the love of your life, your soulmate, and the one you truly could not live without. That is the way Ragnar Olafsson has felt about Elena since he was a young man. Life is against him and she is betrothed and married to his best friend Styr. Flashbacks through the story give you an idea what this couple has gone through in their lives. When Eleana is captured Ragnar watches over her. He sees she is protected and safe. Elena finds that she admaires this warrior for his courage, thoughtfulness, and caring. Twists of fate help this couple as Elena takes her life and matters into her own hands. You will enjoy Elena and Ragnar in To Tempt a Viking. Another winner Michelle Willingham! I couldn't put this one down. Gail Adams

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    I've been waiting for this book from the minute I finished To Si

    I've been waiting for this book from the minute I finished To Sin With A Viking (Styr and Caragh's story), where we first meet Elena and Ragnar. I was curious to see how MW would spin the tale of a wife(Elena) falling for a man (Ragnar) who is not her husband (Styr) while her husband is still alive! Well, she spun it quite well!! Right from the beginning you can feel Ragnar's aching love for Elena. With her being married to his best friend she is definitely OFF LIMITS. Elena's angst is just as bad. The feelings and the desire which she feels for Ragnar are completely different from those she feels for her husband. I like how MW doesn't drag out the marriage until the end of the book so that Elena and Ragnar can build a relationship. I can't think of anything in the book I didn't like. There was plenty of action, whether it was a ship being attacked, being attacked by raiders or Ragnar just plain kicking some heiney to make money. 'Bad guys' that weren't over the top (just enough nastiness to be believe able!) and the love scenes are quite....hot. The only thing that I would have liked to see was some closure between Styr & Caragh and Elena & Ragnar. Only because of the close friendship between Ragnar and Styr, it felt like they never saw one another again after everyone gets their happily ever after. But that's just me, I like everyone to have a happy ending. This book can be read as a stand alone but is much better, in my opinion, if you read to Sin With A Viking first.Oh, one other thing. I don't know if you usually read the Author's Note in the beginning of the books you read, but if you read this one the epilogue is even more special for some reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked the first book to this series, so I was expecting

    I really liked the first book to this series, so I was expecting a lot from the companion novel. And, it definitely met my expectations! To Tempt a Viking was a fantastic historical romance that I really enjoyed. I really liked this book.

    This book starts off in the same place that book 1 started and shows what happened to Ragnar and Elena while Styr was captured. Then, about 1/3 of the way through, it catches up and starts on Elena's story, right after she divorced Styr. And, of course, after getting divorced, she needed a little comfort. And Ragnar just so happens to be there...

    Elena was a good heroine. She had her own quiet brand of strength that helped her get through everything. She was kind and likable and I thought she was great.

    Ragnar was amazing. He was so sweet and a truly good and honorable man. Trouble is, he doesn't believe that. After doing something he considered unforgivable, he lived with the belief that he carried a darkness in himself that made him a danger to those around him. And, unfortunately, that made him reluctant to admit to and act on his feelings. But, I thought he was wonderful. He was sweet and devoted to his loved ones. I adored him.

    The romance was great. Elena and Ragnar were very sweet together, especially with how they had held feelings for each other (more so on Ragnar's side) but couldn't act on them until now. That also led to some steamy moments that were super hot. These two were a lovely couple.

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. I thought this was a perfect companion story that gave the other unhappily married person a chance at a happy ending. I really enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was great, with a happily ever after for both couples.

    To Tempt a Viking was a wonderful historical romance. I really enjoyed reading it. For those who liked the first book in this series, you won't be disappointed with how things turn out. And, romance lovers in general, this is a book worth checking out.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This Viking series by Michelle is one of my favorites. I love th

    This Viking series by Michelle is one of my favorites. I love the characters. I liked Styr and Carragh from her previous book and this one continues on from that story. Elena is a mess. She loves her husband Styr but after 5 years being married she kind of goes over the edge because all she wants is a child of her own. She becomes Little Suzy Homemaker and cleans continually. Poor Styr can't figure her out. He's a Viking who can't sail the seas because of her. Then he has to leave or fight to be the Jarl of his town. So they both sail away and are attacked by Danes. Ragnor is Styr's friend and loves her from afar. She jumps ship and he follows her. This book tells how they fight to do what they all think is the right thing. There are a few twists to the tale. I needed a few tissues and wanted to bop someone on the head a few times. This can be a stand alone story so don't pass it over. Give it a read. It's quite and will get you hooked on Michelle's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

     Ragnar and Elena are the perfect pair. When Ragnar saves Elena

     Ragnar and Elena are the perfect pair. When Ragnar saves Elena they are set on a jonurney that will forever change thier lives. Elena  is married to Ragnars best friend Styr. But Styr and Elena are not in love and only remain married out of Duty. When Elena Declares herself Divorced things heat up between her and Ragnar who has loved her since the day he meet her. This Story was a great Read and I can not wait for more from Michelle Willingham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    I am glad that Ragnar and Elena finally got together. I got a li

    I am glad that Ragnar and Elena finally got together. I got a little irritated with Ragnar because he wanted Elena and was able to have her,
     but he waffled back and forth because (I think) he was insecure. He suffered as a child and, as we all do, he let it color  his future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1