Customer Reviews for

To the Brink (Bodyguards Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cindy Gerard does it again!

    Action-packed, passionate, and even funny at times! Darcy and Ethan's action-filled story kept me on the edge of my seat. Cindy Gerard has a way of making you feel you're in the midst of the action! I loved the way they fought together while they were trying to fight apart. The scenes in the jungle were intense and well choreographed. Definitely worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    &hearts Everkit &hearts

    Great! Try to include a little more personality from the mentours and leader though. I love it. And thanks for your suggestions. I will help advertise and post where my first part will be. And I used to be at BloodClan so I was unsure how much they might've changed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    this is the first book i've read of this author. I was blown away by the writing. I could easily picture these people in a movie and the writing did not contain a lot of the cliche wording and phrases. After this book I read the first book of the series. You can definitely see the progression of great writing. she draws you into the characters and still keeps the plot moving along and guessing just what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Just keeps getting better

    Wow. This is by far one of the best series I've ever read. The main characters are likeable and that is a must for me when reading a book. If I don't care for the characters then it's hard to enjoy the book. Cindy Gerard is an amazing talent and definitely knows how to tell a story. The passion between Darcy and Ethan in To the Brink is to die for. Can't wait to read the rest of the series. Make sure you read these books in order starting with To the Edge, then To the Limit. None will disappoint you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Loved It!

    I've read all in this series and enjoyed them all!!! Well written! I couldn't find a good place to put this book down--it was THAT GOOD. I didn't think I would like the changing back and forth from present to past, but it was wonderfully done! Kinda like reading two stories. See what 'they' were like BEFORE and then to the present day rescue as it comes together. Very nicely done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    LOVED IT@!@!@!

    This was by far my favorite in the series but all three were great. I love the fact that she creates characters with a past instead of meeting and falling madly in love. This book was absolutely brilliant. I read this in one day. Really good...can't wait for the rest of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    I can't wait for the next Bodyguards book!

    Information can be deadly! When her US Embassy coworker dies in a mysterious hit-and-run accident, Darcy Prescott knows the envelope she received from the deceased colleague must be involved. Terrified and alone in the Philippines, Darcy instinctively reaches out to the one person sure to help, her ex-husband Ethan Garrett. Although haunted by his failed marriage, former Special Forces soldier Ethan has moved on with his life...or so he thought. Upon hearing Darcy's panicky phone message, he is ready to drop everything and help her. When he finally discovers that Darcy has been kidnapped, Ethan assembles a small team to go to her aid. With the help of his two brothers and a friend, all former soldiers, can Ethan rescue Darcy? Even if they do the impossible and pull her out of the jungle alive, will Darcy be safe? Obviously, she's in the middle of something big! Finally, what does all this mean for Darcy and Ethan's broken union? The connection is still there, but is that enough? The third book in The Bodyguards series, To the Brink is the best one yet, and I can't recommend it enough! With pulse-pounding action and sizzling romance, it is so much more than the previous books. I loved the story's edgy realism. It is one of the more believable military themed romantic thrillers I have read in quite some time. The use of flashbacks to show the evolution of the couple's relationship was brilliant. You get a fully developed relationship without interfering with the suspenseful action. Darcy and Ethan are strong, likable characters. I was hoping they would have the strength to handle the complex problems in their marriage as well as Darcy's current predicament. Immediately drawn into the tale, I was unable to put the book down. To the Brink left me begging for more from The Bodyguards. I can't wait for the next installment! Cheryl Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    A reviewer

    Cindy Gerard raises her The Bodyguard series to new heights with Book #3, TO THE BRINK (St. Martin¿s/January 2006). In Zamboanga City in the Phillipines, divorced diplomat, Darcy Prescott puts in a frantic call for help to her ex-husband, Ethan Garrett, a former Army Special Forces lieutenant, who now runs a bodyguard agency with his siblings in Florida. Darcy fears her life is in danger since she possesses an envelope of top secret information that has caused a co-worker¿s death in a hit-and-run accident. When Darcy leaves her hotel at night unescorted to mail the envelope, she is kidnapped by Abu Sayyaf terrorists, who take her to the Jolo jungle. Never fear, Ethan has rounded up a helicopter and his brothers, Nolan (former Army Ranger) and Dallas (former Force Recon Marines) and also his best friend, Manny Ortega from their Green Beret days to come to Darcy¿s rescue. When they locate Darcy in the jungle, she is in desperate straights but has managed to escape the terrible ordeal her fellow captive, Amy Walker, a teacher who has been missing for months, has not avoided. Having two women to rescue complicates matters but these courageous brothers are up to the job. As Ethan pairs up with Darcy and Dallas with Amy on their wild jungle escape, things couldn¿t get any hotter between these two couples! TO THE BRINK has it all: edge-of-your-seat danger, a passionate flash back plot on how Ethan and Darcy met in Peru years ago, and a dynamite double love story! This absolutely amazing romantic adventure will elevate Cindy Gerard¿s Bodyguard series TO THE BRINK of all the bestseller lists and leave readers panting for many more books to come! - Patricia Rouse, Rouse¿s Readers Groups

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Thrills, Spills and Romance

    When Ethan Garrett first saw Darcy Prescott, he knew she was the one. But their marriage wasn¿t able to survive his job as a Special Forces officer. Now five years later, his ex-wife has left a message on his answering machine ¿ a cry for help ¿ and Ethan will move heaven and earth, and lay his own life and career on the line, to save her. Ethan pulls together a team, two of which are his siblings, and organizes a clandestine rescue mission to save Darcy. But can he save his heart when he realizes that he still loves her? The action doesn¿t stop with the rescue, however, because once they¿re back in the U.S., they must watch their backs until they discover who was behind Darcy¿s abduction and why. The action is edgy and realistic and the characters are believable and sympathetic. The sexual tension between Ethan and Darcy arcs across each page like electricity. From the jungles of the Philippines to the streets of Washington, D.C., these two push their bodies and emotions to the brink to make justice prevail. In the third book of her Bodyguards series, Cindy Gerard delivers a one-two punch of action, suspense and romance that will keep you turning the pages til the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    gripping high octane romantic suspense

    Five years have passed since Ethan Garrett divorced Darcy because he could not cope with her work for the State Department as the former Green Beret knows first hand dangerous assignments. Darcy continued her government job while Ethan joined E.D.E.N. Security in West Palm Beach, Florida struggling to get on with his life. --- However, a panicked Darcy leaves a message for Ethan that she is deep trouble and needs help immediately. He quickly learns that she is in the Philippines and apparently the prisoner of the deadly Abu Sayyaf terrorist group. With his two brothers and a close friend, they enter the Philippines planning to rescue his former wife. --- TO THE BRINK, the sequel to the exhilarating first Bodyguard thriller, TO THE EDGE, is a fabulous action-packed tale that starts off with a rush and remains at a high excitement level until the final explosive climax. Even with the fireworks from start to finish, the key cast members are fully. Readers will enjoy the action but it is the feelings that still exist between the protagonists that make this novel a very special cross-genre treat. Cindy Gerard writes a gripping high octane romantic suspense. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3