Customer Reviews for

To Walk the Night (Kat Redding Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

COMPLAINING ABOUT PLOT SPOILERS LEAVING ONE STAR IS NOT FAIR TO THE AUTHOR!!

If you are want to complain about the plot spoilers, then just click on "report review" and "plot spoiler". Why leave one star feedback on the book just to complain about other feedback? Don't blame the author! You are doing more damage than the plot spoilers!

posted by creese on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

?

I am so sick of these plot spoilers revealing every detail of a book, and before some smart aleck poster says dont read them i dont, but when you have to scroll past yards of spoilers you inevitably end up seeing something that ruins the book. I simply do not understand...
I am so sick of these plot spoilers revealing every detail of a book, and before some smart aleck poster says dont read them i dont, but when you have to scroll past yards of spoilers you inevitably end up seeing something that ruins the book. I simply do not understand why you ppl have to tell the entire book. Most ppl would prefer to read a book and be surprised at what happens, not have you vultures tell us before it happens. Now, here again, is another book useless to buy, thanks to plot spoilers.

posted by 8888649 on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    COMPLAINING ABOUT PLOT SPOILERS LEAVING ONE STAR IS NOT FAIR TO THE AUTHOR!!

    If you are want to complain about the plot spoilers, then just click on "report review" and "plot spoiler". Why leave one star feedback on the book just to complain about other feedback? Don't blame the author! You are doing more damage than the plot spoilers!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    ?

    I am so sick of these plot spoilers revealing every detail of a book, and before some smart aleck poster says dont read them i dont, but when you have to scroll past yards of spoilers you inevitably end up seeing something that ruins the book. I simply do not understand why you ppl have to tell the entire book. Most ppl would prefer to read a book and be surprised at what happens, not have you vultures tell us before it happens. Now, here again, is another book useless to buy, thanks to plot spoilers.

    9 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Are you scared of the night? You should be.

    Kat Redding is a vampire that hunts vampires. This is the time after the Uprising, when vampires and werewolves made their presence known and declared themselves rulers of the night and the humans (Purebloods) began to hide in their homes after dark. Kat has made it her mission to destroy the Vampire Houses who prey on those foolish or desperate enough to be out after dark. Now the Luna Cult, worshipers of werewolves, want Kat¿s help to destroy the power hungry House Tremaine and free their leader being held by the vampire House. Although there is nothing Kat enjoys more than taking down the vampires, she is concerned if she can really trust a monster to guard her back. In this new Urban Fantasy, E.S. Moore shows us a world where children aren¿t the only ones who should be afraid of the dark. Unlike many of the stories where supernaturals exist quietly protecting humans from other supernatural threats, in this world Vampire Houses dominate the night, using werewolves as their guard dogs, and any Purebloods (a/k/a humans) found wandering the night are fair game, kept as slaves and used for blood. Like most first books in a series, it was a little slowing going in the beginning as we set up the background of our heroine and the city around her, but once we got into the story it really picked up. There are more than enough dangling story lines to keep me interested in reading the next book which comes out in July 2012.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    A good start

    I liked the fact that this series started off pretty original and that nothbying was too predictable. Though it didn't have me on the edge of my seat at any point, I look foward to how things will progress in the next novel.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    not very good..

    the basics of the story are interesting but the writing is just very boring almost like a character's diary not worth the money

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Nothing new

    In my opinion, this book was just ok. It is typical of all the other stories in this categorie. After a while it becomes difficult to remember which is which in the different series.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Kat is one tough woman! She's a keeper!!

    I can see the future and it says that this new series will be a hit! OK, I really can’t see the future, but I sure do have high hopes for this great new series! Pulse pounding and new, To Walk the Night is action packed! I will say though the foundation work was a bit slow, but once that was built and the action started - POW - what a kicker. Now Mr. Moore can hit the ground running, propelling us into a unique universe where the outlook might be dismal, but there is still hope for the future. Kat Redding was born after the Uprising; when the vampires and werewolves rose up against humans to take over the night. Since then the monsters of legends rule the night while the purebloods, humans that have not been tainted, live in the day. Kat and her brother Thomas once fought against the stuff of nightmares until they became tainted. Now she fights her own kind to protect the purebloods, even while the darkest engulfs her. This story had a “Blade” feeling to it. I am so used to romance paranormal books, To Walk the Night, was a refreshing change. While this series may lack romance, the action more then makes of for it. Both guys and gals are going to enjoy Kat and her kick-butt ways. She is a no nonsense girl and the vampires and werewolves better watch out. E.S. Moore has envisioned a new take on supernaturals that is invigorating. He has intertwining new ideas about vampires and werewolves, while still holding fast to some the old standards. The possibility of adventures, battles and action seems endless and I’m looking forward to this journey. I am on the edge of my seat waiting for to the next installment, Tainted Night, Tainted Blood, coming out in July. Keep them coming E.S, because this fan can’t wait for more!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Good "Bloody" Book

    I was sucked in to this book from the first scentence to the last! WOW!! Cannot wait until book 2 comes out! I would recomend this read to those who love a good "bloody" book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kat Redding is a force to be reckoned with. After being turned i

    Kat Redding is a force to be reckoned with. After being turned into a vampire against her will, she seeks vengeance by hunting monsters that go bump in the night. Kat is a strong female character that doesn't hesitate to shoot first and ask questions later. I wouldn't want to get on her bad side, luckily she only targets vampires and werewolves. She plots her way into vampire Houses and quickly exacts her revenge.

    Kat is very successful bringing down minor vampire Houses. She has built a reputation based on fear in her community and has earned the nickname Lady Death. A werewolf cult approaches Kat seeking assistance from a minor house that wants to take control of the Cult. I was honestly intrigued to see if she would be able to put aside her feelings towards werewolves and assist them. Kat isn't just a ruthless killer, the book shows her softer side when Ethan is brought into the story. She saved Ethan when he was a teen and has taken care of him since. I thought it was a nice addition to the book since it allowed me to know her character even better.

    When I first started this book, I instantly thought of Underworld and Blade. Kat hunts her own kind by herself with a samurai sword, and there are also werewolves that act as bodyguards in the book. While reading I was able to picture the fight scenes, most of which are intense and some quite graphic. There is zero romance in this book, which suited the book well because of its content. Overall To Walk the Night is a fast paced thrill ride that left me wanting to read more of E.S. Moore's work.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Excellent!

    Kat Redding is a vampire and werewolf hunter. She and her brother Thomas hunted down rogues, killed them and lived to do it again. Until one night, they were captured. Thomas’s fate was terrible and Kat was turned into one of the things she hated most, a vampire. After a time, she managed to break free killing everyone in the Valentino Vampire House, but saving one man, a Pureblood named Ethan, one of the humans the vampires fed on. Grateful beyond words, he stayed with her, helping her in any way he could while she continued to hunt and kill those that needed hunted and killed. The last thing you wanted was Lady Death to come calling.

    To Walk the Night begins several years after Kat escapes House Valentino. The Luna Cult, a group of Purebloods (humans) who worship werewolves, has a problem, a big problem, and the only solution is to ask Kat for help, so they send a messenger with the address for their Den. Kat doesn’t trust the Cult because they worship the monsters, werewolves, but she’s too curious not to see what they want. You know what they say about curiosity, right? Her name may be Kat, but it’s a good thing she’s a vampire.

    This was a great first book in a new series. The writing was smooth, the plot intriguing, the story fascinating, the characters interesting. I’m reminded of the first time I read Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton. Both are similar stories, yet not. In either case, I couldn’t put them down.

    An awesome read! I very much look forward to Book 2, Tainted Night, Tainted Blood coming 3 July 2012.

    *The publisher provided a copy of this book to me for review. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    E.S. Moore is a great addition to the urban fantasy genre.

    To Walk the Night is the first book in the Kat Redding series by E.S. Moore. A few decades ago there was an Uprising; vampires and werewolves let themselves be known and changed the world. It is not safe to go out after dark. Vampires and werewolves hunt and in the world E.S. Moore has created, they aren't cute and cuddly, they are monsters that prey on those that are weak and pure of blood.

    Vampires form Houses by enslaving both Pureblood humans to feed on and werewolves to fight for them and do their bidding; the larger the vampire family the more powerful the House. Kat Redding was captured by one of the vampire Houses when she was younger and her blood was tainted. She was turned vampire against her will, lost everything she ever cared about and now hates what she is with every fiber of her being. She fights the hunger as hard as she can, preys only on the twisted and disturbed, and kills every vampire or werewolf necessary to free the Purebloods. She was not given the name Lady Death without reason; Kat is a bad ass and the monsters fear her. Nobody but her partner/friend, Ethan, knows who she really is and Kat will do everything she can to protect herself and the only friend she has in the world; even if that means killing everyone that gets in her way.

    The last thing Kat needs it to be forced into a battle between vampires, rogue werewolves and a werewolf worshiping cult. She doesn't trust anyone and she doesn't want to be part of their battle; she'd rather just kill them all and be done with it. Problem is she doesn't have a choice. The House is targeting the Luna Cult and she is the only person who can help them.

    To Walk the Night is dark and gritty. It was a little slow at first but once I got into the book I had a hard time putting it down. E. S. Moore is a great addition to the urban fantasy genre and I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in his Kat Redding series. I look forward to seeing what he has in store for her next.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    I thought it was a great first book

    This book was fun and action packed. I can't wait to see where the story goes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Dark

    Complex world, with a complex and tortured female lead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Good start.

    Interested to see where this could go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    SUPER AWESOME!!!

    I thought this book and the rest of the series was amazing and I know if I was a vampire hunter/slayer/killer I would want a nickname as cool and dark as Lady Death. Anyone who loves vampires and werewolves and killing and chocolate will love this series. (OK,I know there is really no reason to add chocolate to that list ,but if you love chocolate you are awesome. Just thought I'd put that out there:)p)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Love this series!!!!:)

    All time favorite. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    i have to say i loved this author and her books

    I will be reading her books again...i recommend this book because is you love vampire books that kick butt then the book is for you...

    this book was about a vampire who hunts vampires...she hates what she is and will kill anything no matter if it werewolves or vampires or the purebloods who live with the vampires...but she never kills pureblooods who are held captives or even feed on innocents...i like her but if i give the whole story away people will complain...

    but remember this is no anita blake series...better i believe...anita just got to whinny...kat is not...she is known to the monsters as Lady Death...love that name

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good

    Great im single

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Selena

    Hey u still on? Bcuz im looking for a good time... ;)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    J

    J

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2