Customer Reviews for

To Wed a Wild Lord

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Great book. enjoyed this one and can't wait to read the next one. Thumbs up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Escape of the Angel of Death

    Lord Gabriel Sharpe's heart has been broken twice already in his very young life. The first time came with the mysterious death of his parents and then with the untimely death of his friend, Roger Waverly. In between all of this mind-numbing grief comes a challenge from Roger's sister to race "the needle's thread," a hair-raising course which turns into a single lane between boulders. Why would Gabe want to woo her but refuse her challenge? And what does his grandmother's meddling ultimatum have to do with her anger over who he chooses to marry?

    Gabe tells his grandmother he can't die, in a race or otherwise, because he is "the Angel of Death." She, of course, doesn't have a clue what that means and only ascribes it to his impetuous nature. He truly believes he was the one who should have died in place of his parents, something to do with a mysterious stranger who arrived at his home and took one of the family horses out the same day his parents died. He believes that insults and a coincidence of events led to his losses and that he is cheating death over and over and over.

    It is Virginia Waverly who throws all of Gabe's rational explanations to the wind little by little, that is until she hears a rumor that he is wooing her only for purposes of an inheritance he can only have upon being married. Another character, General Waverly, calls him out on his guilt about Roger's death. The provocative banter, wildly sexy scenes, and funny moments increase in various stages until one can feel the tension in more ways than one with every turned page!

    By now the passion between Gabe and Virginia is searing in intensity, attracting these two volatile characters to the point where Gabe realizes he must abandon all the machinations and woo for real! He must enter a race to win a great, passionate love beyond what words can convey! As always, Sabrina Jeffries tintilates and thrills the reader with both a mystery about to be solved and hot, steamy, sexy connection that must be fulfilled in order to finally cheat death for one last time! This fourth story is even better than Ms. Jeffries's previous novels in the Hellions of Halstead Hall series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Romancing the Book

    Reviewed By~Jen
    Review Copy Provided By~Nancy Breland Public Relations

    Sabrina Jeffries is one of my auto-reads. I absolutely love her writing and I've totally been enjoying her Hellions of Halstead Hall series. There are 5 siblings whose grandmother has decided that they all need to be married or she's going to write them out of her will. Each of them tries to avoid matrimony and even tries to make deals with grandma, but seeing as we're reading romance novels, we know it's going to end in happily ever after. In addition, there is another sub plot of trying to uncover the truth behind their parents' deaths.

    To Wed a Wild Lord is the fourth book in the series. Gabriel Sharpe's best friend, Roger, died in a racing accident and now Roger's sister, Virginia, is blaming Gabriel for his death and wants revenge. Gabriel's been living a wild life because he's been feeling guilty. They meet when Virgina challenges Gabe to a race, but he counters with a courtship. I enjoyed watching Gabe and Virginia butt heads and get over their individual guilt as they got to know each other and eventually fall in love.

    All the major players from the series make welcome appearances in this story as the over-arcing plots continue to advance. The stories have kept me intrigued... especially when it comes to the mystery of the Sharpe's parents. In fact, I can't wait for the release of the final book so that the mystery will finally be solved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Loved it! Gabe was one of my favorite heroes to read and Virginia was a really fun heroine. I loved the story and can't wait to see the conclusion of the mystery in the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    GREAT FUN AS ALWAYS

    Sabrina has done it once again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Another winner in this series. Gabriel is the perfect "wou

    Another winner in this series. Gabriel is the perfect "wounded soul", Virginia is his match.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    highly recommended

    You need to read the whole series to enjoy to the max.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book 

    I loved this book 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    A fun race

    The was a fun read with a surprising secondary romance that you will like almost as much as the main one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    To Wed a Wild Lord, book #4 of The Hellions of Halstead Hall ser

    To Wed a Wild Lord, book #4 of The Hellions of Halstead Hall series.

    I love Ms. Jeffries's characters Gabriel Sharpe and Virginia Waverly

    It’s the story of a grandmother who wishes that her grandchildren would settle down and marry so she can enjoy great-grandchildren’s. It’s also the mystery surrounding the deaths of both parents of Gabriel.

    Gabriel must marry by year's end or be disinherited.

    Ever since Virginia’s brother died in an accident, she wants to take her revenge on Gabriel. The two meet and begin to find the truth behind her brother’s death.

    Beautiful chemistry between the two characters and they finally find true love.

    Lots of humour, mystery, romance and love. I love her descriptive style of writing. If you are a fan of Sabrina Jeffries, then you must read this book, it's well written. You will not be disappointed. She is a great writer! I will definitely read book #5 A Lady never surrenders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    The man is hot! The girl is sweet and fun! Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Another winner for Sabrina Jeffries! Let the Fireworks Begin!

    This is the story of Gabe (Lord Gabriel Sharpe) and Virginia Waverly. It's the 4th installment in Sabrina Jeffries' The Hellions of Halstead Hall Series... but it can be read on it's own; you do not need to have read the prior books in this series to enjoy this book... and enjoy it you will. Each one of these books seems to get better and they've all been very good.

    The premise of the series is that the children of Halstead Hall have been issued an ultimatum by their grandmother who holds the purse strings, that they must marry before the end of the year; All of them must marry for any of them to inherit. They've all been a bit on the wild side especially in light of the era in which they live.

    Gabe has become known as a daredevil as he races horses. In an unfortunate accident, Virginia's brother, who had been Gabe's best friend, died in a race with Gabe. Virginia challenges Gabe to a race to avenge her brother's death; and Gabe counter-challenges with a marriage proposal...
    Let the fireworks begin!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Sabrina Jeffries does it again!!

    Once again Sabrina Jeffries,makes the love and passion she has for writing jump off the page and straight into your heart! I love to read her books but one of the reasons why is she makes it so easy to read! She draws you intoaa love story and fhe whole time youd waiting with baited breath to see if the story ends the way we all want, or did tragidy win! Then when your done, at the end, you are suddenly ready for more, these are awsome reads, when fhey keep you comimg back for more, and that dear reader's is why i say, "sabrina Jefferies did it again!! Wonderful read, as usual!! LOVED every minute of it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    you must read it!!!! very good book

    i just couldnt stop reading it . love the novel the mystery the brothers are trying to solve for the death of their parents and with all the guilt each one carries in them thinking it was some sort of jelousy the mother couldnt resist and killed their father. i cant help but read it twice to catch more of the interesting and exciting of the novel i honestly love it. and every single one of those novels are nothing but great. i just cant help but wait for the next book to come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    fairly good

    not a bad read. first book in this series is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended...Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    What can I say? When the right woman weds a wild lord, his life is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Recommended highly...a must read.

    the series about the Sharpe family has been great. I'm always looking for the next story and I'm never disappointed. Gabe's story was great. What you go through for love is a lot of work. What's also nice is if you have not read any of the others stories you aren't lost in this one but it will make you want to read them all. If Gabe goes thorugh this much trouble, just imagine how much trouble the other kids go through too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoyed Gabe's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended.

    I love Sabrina Jeffries and this book did not let me down. Virginia is no whimpering Simpering woman, she takes control and knows what she wants. Gabe is the perfect man for her, but first they have to get over Virginia's distrust and dislike of him. It was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good not great...

    I liked this book but did not love it. Why? I think I wanted to see Gabe get challenged by Virginia and see his initial reaction that led to him deciding to marry her. I did think the love scenes were hot though and I loved the snippets that showed the closeness of Gabe and his sister Celia and I hope her story doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5