Customer Reviews for

To Whisper Her Name (Belle Meade Plantation Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL antebellum southern romance

Tamera Alexander is quickly becoming one of my favorite historical authors. There is something about her novels set in Antebellum Nashville that draw me in and keep me reading. I couldn't read this novel fast enough. Besides the GORGEOUS cover, the characters were wonde...
Tamera Alexander is quickly becoming one of my favorite historical authors. There is something about her novels set in Antebellum Nashville that draw me in and keep me reading. I couldn't read this novel fast enough. Besides the GORGEOUS cover, the characters were wonderful Olivia Aberdeen is a widow in a desperate situation who is welcomed at Belle Meade Plantation. She knows she is a charity case, but fights to come into her own. Ridley Cooper is a huge part of that happening. He sees a depth and strength to her that she doesn't acknowledge and teased, cajoles, and drums it out of her. At the same time he has deep secrets that he can't reveal...and so he dances a line of telling almost the full truth as he works with the thoroughbreds at Belle Meade. Neither can marry the other for big and oh-to-real reasons despite the growing reality they may be in love. Add in the rich history that is woven through the pages, an incredible cast of secondary characters, and this is a story that is going on my keeper shelf. Wonderful, truly wonderful book that is perfect for those who love a compelling romance set in another time.

I received a copy of the book from the publisher.

posted by CaraPutman on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Uplifting historical Christian romance. Both heroine and hero very likable.

posted by 4759057 on April 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 21, 2012

    WONDERFUL antebellum southern romance

    Tamera Alexander is quickly becoming one of my favorite historical authors. There is something about her novels set in Antebellum Nashville that draw me in and keep me reading. I couldn't read this novel fast enough. Besides the GORGEOUS cover, the characters were wonderful Olivia Aberdeen is a widow in a desperate situation who is welcomed at Belle Meade Plantation. She knows she is a charity case, but fights to come into her own. Ridley Cooper is a huge part of that happening. He sees a depth and strength to her that she doesn't acknowledge and teased, cajoles, and drums it out of her. At the same time he has deep secrets that he can't reveal...and so he dances a line of telling almost the full truth as he works with the thoroughbreds at Belle Meade. Neither can marry the other for big and oh-to-real reasons despite the growing reality they may be in love. Add in the rich history that is woven through the pages, an incredible cast of secondary characters, and this is a story that is going on my keeper shelf. Wonderful, truly wonderful book that is perfect for those who love a compelling romance set in another time.

    I received a copy of the book from the publisher.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Historical romane at its best

    Great characters. Beautiful setting. My favorite time period-civil war era. The romance was sweet.

    Perfectly relaxing, fun read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ending was a little disappointing  Olivia¿s late husband was a

    Ending was a little disappointing 

    Olivia’s late husband was a trader to the south and she is left to face society as an outcast because of it. Thankfully her late mothers good friend takes her in when she has no where to go. She soon meets Ridley who at first she can’t stand but the more she gets to know him the more she starts to care. Ridley comes to Belle Meade Plantation because he wants to learn how to work with horses and the man to learn from is Bob Green. He only plans to stay a few weeks but soon finds himself there longer and the longer he stays the more his heart starts to fall for Olivia. He has a secret though that could ruin everything he is trying to do. Can Olivia over come her her late husbands shadow and can Ridley find his way and will love blossom?




         This is the first book I have read by this author and I enjoyed it. This is a longer novel and covers a lot of ground.




    What I liked: This is a very well written book and it was easy to feel like I was right there at the plantation. The characters where likeable and well written and developed. I also loved the cover picture, beautiful dress!




    What I did not like: This book was very long and at times I felt the book could have moved faster. The book took a long time to develop but yet the ending was kind of fast and left me going that’s it? I don’t understand why a little more time could have been given to the ending. I also felt the climax of the book was kind of weak.




         Over all I enjoyed this book but it was a little long and drawn out at times and the ending was so abrupt I felt a little disappointed. The writing was great and I love the detail and depth of the book. I hope to read more books from this author in the future. 

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I loved this book! Tamera Alexander took history, mixed in chara

    I loved this book! Tamera Alexander took history, mixed in characters and a storyline, sprinkled in the truth of God's word, and the result is a beautiful story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Hopeful and sweet love story. Excellent historical details with

    Hopeful and sweet love story. Excellent historical details with engaging characters. Was looking for a historical Christian fiction series after the Gresham Chronicles, and this more than satisfied. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Recommend

    Uplifting historical Christian romance. Both heroine and hero very likable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Vivid Writing

    I am a huge fan of historical Christian romance novels, I've read hundreds. To Whisper Her Name is high on my top ten list of novels! I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    I toured the Belle Meade Plantation outside of Nashville, TN 27

    I toured the Belle Meade Plantation outside of Nashville, TN 27 years ago on my honeymoon and was curious about this book because of that. I really enjoyed this book and look forward to others in this series. I would not hesitate to read any other books Ms. Alexander has written. I am planning on purchasing a printed copy of this book as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    A Genuine Page Turner

    To Whisper Her Name is a genuine page turner. I could not put it down and wanted more when the story ended. This book gripped from the very beginning and held you until the very last page. I will be looking for more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Tamera Alexander Published by: Zondervan Age Recommende

    Author: Tamera Alexander
    Published by: Zondervan
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Rating: 4
    Review:


    "To Whisper Her Name" by Tamera Alexander was a wonderful historical christian romantic long read that has it all. This setting was from 'Belle Meade Plantation' in Nashville, TN. (1866) following the Civil War where you will find "Southerners who fought on the side of the South, the women who were left behind to defend their homes, a Southerner who aligned himself with the North during the war, the widow of a Southerner who betrayed them all, last but not least, the slaves who had recently gained their freedom" and most importantly 'Belle Meade Plantation' raises thoroughbreds.

    This story deals with Elizabeth and Ridley a couple of years after the war with secrets that will 'make or break them.' If you are a reader of Ms. Alexander's novels you will note that this novel is one of her best ones. "To Whisper Her Name" was a excellent novel with an long and detailed engaging story that really shines through with what all going on. Yes, this novel somewhat predictable at times but still a good read. The characters are well developed, 'marvelous and meticulously crafted' ...keeping you turning the pages will all of the drama that comes along from the read.. A few characters like Uncle Bob, General Harding and Rachel could have stories of their own being so complexed and all! To get a real fill for this read you must pick up the good read to find out which way this author is taking the reader. Be prepared for a long read.

    If you are looking for a novel of faith, love, forgiveness..."To Whisper Her Name" will take you there and would I recommend this as a good read? YES!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Love her books!!!!

    Really enjoy all of her books. Like the incorporation of history, romance and the Christian message of her books. I look forward to her next book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Awesome Love Story

    I truely loved the story line and characters in this story. Each character and a reason for who they were. I loved the fact that Ridley and Olivia cared for people because they were people not because of what they looked liked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Pure enjoyment!

    I flew thru this novel! The characters are beautifully developed and the story was captivating. The humor in this story made me laugh and smile while the romance warmed my heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Ginny

    I also loved this book. I wanted to see it end so I could see what happens, yet when it did end I now miss reading it. Very good love story mixed in with just the right amount of history.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great historical novel! Tamera Alexander has once again

    Another great historical novel!

    Tamera Alexander has once again captured the feeling and history of the Civil War-era South by incorporating real historical figures into her latest novel, To Whisper Her Name. It’s fascinating to read about the journeys the main characters take – Ridley Cooper apprentices himself to former slave Bob Green, and recently widowed Olivia Aberdeen struggles to find her place in a grudge-holding society that frowns upon the idea of women’s independence. Ridley and Olivia find themselves thrown together on Belle Meade Plantation, owned by Confederate General William Giles Harding, a man with very definite ideas about integrity and how society must operate. I strongly recommend this book, as well as anything else written by Tamera Alexander. At almost 500 pages, I thoroughly enjoyed this glimpse into a past that’s difficult for us to imagine, and I was sorry to have the book end. However, there’s definitely room for a sequel, and I’m eagerly awaiting that!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Best historical romance read I've had in quite some time!

    Best historical romance read I've had in quite some time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    TO WHISPER HER NAME by Tamera Alexander is an exciting inspirati

    TO WHISPER HER NAME by Tamera Alexander is an exciting inspirational historical romance. Set to the backdrop of the historic Belle Meade mansion,a Thoroughbred stud farm in Nashville, Tennessee and post Civil War. Follow,a Southerner,who fought for the Union, Ridley Adam Cooper and widow Olivia Aberdeen on a journey of healing and love. Filled with inner turmoil, secrets,horses,horse trainer,thoroughbred horses, enslavement,humility,healing,forgiveness,betrayal,freedom, arrogance,Nashville history,faith,and the power of love. If you enjoy history,horses,Nashville in the 1860's,romance,you will definitely enjoy this title. Written with historical facts,engaging and unforgettable characters, to the backdrop of post-Civil War. A powerful,although, heart wrenching,and stirring story. A must for anyone who enjoys a lesson in humility,the power of love and healing. Another hit for Ms. Alexander. She always captures the heart and soul of her characters and leaves her readers spellbound. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,Zondervan, and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 5
    HEAT RATING: SWEET
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Great story

    Tamera Alexander writes excellent stories. They are all full of humbling experiences with timeless threads of history,discovery, romance, and faith. I have enjoyed all her stories so far and look forward towards more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Wonderful

    I visited Belle Meade Plantation and learned of this book at that time I loved this book and pictured the home and the property as the author described This is a wonderful story and I highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is an excellent story! The plot was very interesting to me.

    This is an excellent story!
    The plot was very interesting to me. Ridley Cooper is a war veteran from South Carolina. Olivia Aberdeen is wife to a Southern "traitor." Both come to live at Belle Meade Plantation to forget their past and move forward with their lives. They meet following a carraige accident and Ridley is instantly attracted to the prim and proper Olivia. But there's a catch! Ridley has a secret that could destroy the budding relationship and cost him his position at Belle Meade. The story progresses from there (I will NOT be a plot spoiler) and we can see the growth and developement of each character as their relationship grows.
    The Christian message of the story is elegantly weaved in. It is not the in-your-face-Christian message, and that's what I liked about it. I believe there were two main points that each character had to learn: 1) Choices we make are not always simple. Sometimes God makes the choice for us, and it might not be what we would have chosen for ourselves; 2) Even when we make bad decisions, God never leaves us alone. He is always there, every step of the way. All we have to do is acknowledge His presence in our lives and He will help us get through.
    Overall, the story, plot, characters, and themes are well developed and elequantly executed. This is a great book and I would recommend it to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3