Customer Reviews for

To Win Her Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Great Texas Romance

    I enjoyed To Win Her Heart very much. It was very easy to get caught up in the small town of Spencer, Texas. The characters were wonderful and somewhat unique in their background from anything I had read before. I loved the easy pace of the time period. And I enjoyed the library. If I had lived in that time period that would have been my dream, to own and run a library.


    The lessons about forgiveness that you will find on these pages are ones we all need to remember when we live our daily lives. It's easy to judge someone for where they live, how they dress, who their parents are, and their past mistakes, etc. But God loves the person, faults and all. And His forgiveness covers the mutitude of sins in each of our lives if we ask. We need to learn to let them go and allow people to move forward in the new life they are given through Christ.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    To Win Her Heart Stole Mine

    Karen Witemeyer can write. And how! I thought her first two books were great and knew To Win Her Heart would be, too, but I was wrong. This story is awesome! I didn't think she could top A Tailor-made Bride or Head in the Clouds, but she did. Her two main characters in To Win Her Heart are so well crafted that I was in love with them by the end of the first chapter. Levi Grant is one of the most sympathetic heroes I've read in a long time: a man of faith, integrity, and honor who stole my heart. Not that he's perfect. Far from it. And yet he's a wonderful example of redemption personified. Eden Spencer is a godly woman with rigid standards, but she's loyal, loving, and willing to learn, which she does. The story pulled me in from the start and kept me flipping pages into the wee hours. I laughed, cried, and sighed as Levi and Eden worked through their rather substantial differences. The charming secondary characters are an added bonus, and the ending is a delight. If you're a fan of inspirational historical romance, I highly recommend To Win Her Heart-along with Witemeyer's other two books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Wow! What a great book!

    This book was one of the best books I have ever read. I am going to buy a few of these as gifts for some people that I know. This book is that good! The characters were well-developed and the plot moved forward at a good pace. The author addressed so many issues and stereotypes in a realistic manner. I know my friends and relatives can relate to the pain of judgmental people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    A must read

    I loved this book! I got it for free but i would of paid for it! I think the author is very gifted and it was a great story of forgiveness, love and Gods redemption. I highly recommend this book and i will be reading more of her books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2015

    I truly believe that everyone should be blessed enough to have a

    I truly believe that everyone should be blessed enough to have a Chloe and/or an Ornery in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Exceptional read!!

    A fabulous book with a lot of wisdom in it! If people took the time to be true Christians, like the hero and heroine in this book, our world would be a much better place! This book has so many great parts that I was sad to see it end! Thank you to the author! Just please write faster because I've read all your books now :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Great book

    Love this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Good story

    Not as good as "Stealing the preacher" but still a 4 star reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Hard to get into at first...a little slow. But it turned out to

    Hard to get into at first...a little slow. But it turned out to be a great read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Love love love

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Loved it!

    This is a wonderful romance about second chances. I fell in love with the lead hero Levi while reading. It also showes Gods ultimate love for us no matter our past. This was such an easy read. I've found that all of Karen Witemeyers' books I find a way to finish them within a day. Just can't be parted from them long. 10+ stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Having strength to keep your promise to God Levi Grant has a pa

    Having strength to keep your promise to God

    Levi Grant has a past, he's killed a man and spent time in prison, now he's trying to start over. He found the Lord in prison, should I say he found him again since he was raised with the Lord in his life. The only one in Spencer, Texas that knows of his past is the preacher who is helping him get started as the new blacksmith for the town.




     Eden Spencer has a past that the whole town knows about, a town named after her family, and has turned from looking for a husband to running a library. She has to approve the new blacksmith but isn't sure about him because of his hesitant way of talking. Finally after he offers a one month trial period, Eden agrees to let him take over.




     The sheriff 'considers' himself engaged to Eden, Eden shuns him every time he tries to act possesive. Levi is beginning to be a thorn in the sheriff's side. Eden refuses to let Levi borrow books from the library because she doesn't want him coming in regularly to exchange books. He won't even say her name, calls her Ma'am even after she insists he call her Miss Spencer because Ma'am makes her feel decrepit. Her plan backfires though because he comes in daily so he can sit and read, I mean, if you can't take the book home and you want to read that is the only way, but she can't take back the two week residency requirement now.




     When the sheriff begins to feel really threatened by Levi's presence and he has found out about his past, his plan to bring Levi down is soon set into motion, will it work to get him to leave town or be reincarcerated?




     I really liked this book, and would recommend it to others. I have read other books by Karen and started a new one already, Short-Straw Bride and I have Stealing the Preacher in my stack of to read books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Eden Spencer, the independent daughter of the founder of the Cit

    Eden Spencer, the independent daughter of the founder of the City of Spencer, spends her days running the town library. After enduring terrible heartbreak years ago, Eden has reconciled herself to becoming an old spinster. All that changes, however, when Levi Grant comes to town as the town’s new blacksmith.  Levi’s love of books draws him to the library on his lunch breaks, greatly dismaying Eden as she thinks that he is coming just to see her. Eden slowly comes to change her mind though, as Levi’s sincerity and sophisticated vocabulary surprises her. They begin exchanging letters, and as the stack of letters grows so does their budding romance. That is, until Levi realizes that he has to tell Eden about his dark past. Eden’s initial distrust and Levi’s past combined with a rival suitor and avenger threaten to tear the two apart. Will Levi lose the fight and Eden’s heart as well?




    Karen Witemeyer crafts a superb story of trust and second chances. Her characters quickly become the readers’ friends as their pasts and current circumstances are very relatable. Witemeyer’s honest portrayal of characters’ flaws and struggles only draws the readers closer to the characters. The very real presence of evil creates tension between the forces of good an evil, which only intensifies as the novel progresses. Eden and Levi’s solid faith in God creates the core of this story, which no human can rock. With the perfect combination of romance, history, suspense, and humor, To Win Her Heart should win your hearts as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Great Christian Romance.

    This was a great Christian romance without being too preachy. It definitely told of the faith of the characters while still providing a great romance. Most of the time you get one or the other. This book did a great job of giving you both. I've already started reading another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Loved it

    Could not put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Summary: Eden Spencer is the librarian in the small town of Spen

    Summary:
    Eden Spencer is the librarian in the small town of Spencer, Texas in 1887.  She is a self-declared spinster who has decided not to marry, and she especially detests violence.  Enter Levi Grant, the new blacksmith in town.  Just released from jail, Levi has turned a new leaf in his life and has turned away from his ugly past.  When Levi isn’t forthcoming with his past, will he push Eden away?




    My Thoughts
    PROS: What I liked most about the book was how the main characters relied on God for strength and direction in their lives.  When Eden is feeling conflicted, she turns to God with this prayer:




    “Dear God, I don’t want my fear to be a barrier to the blessing you are trying to bestow. Cast out my fear, and help me to trust in your perfect love. But also grant me a full measure of wisdom. Do not let me be led astray by my own desires. If it is not your will that I pursue a relationship with Levi, I pray that you will stop me. Make your message so clear that I cannot argue it away. Protect me, Lord, and show me the way I should go” (116).




    I thought this was a really honest prayer; similar even to a prayer I have prayed in my personal life.  The author made faith a central part of her book, both by creating characters who loved God and by sprinkling Scripture throughout the novel.




    CONS: I felt like there was a lot of foreshadowing in this book, and I could easily see where it was going.  When I read a book, I prefer for the foreshadowing to be subtle so I don’t immediately figure it out.  This felt a bit obvious.  Also, I unfortunately did not feel invested in the story or the characters.  








    This book was a quick read, with a simple plot line. Although this was not one of my favorite books, I found that the book had a wholesome message about seeking God first.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Wonderful Read!

    I really enjoyed reading this novel. It was well written and the characters and plot were well developed. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Sweet love story!

    A love story you wont soon forget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Great

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Love of a Gentle Giant. Levi Grant had a less than stellar

    The Love of a Gentle Giant. Levi Grant had a less than stellar past, but suddenly he had the chance at a better life. He interviewed for the position of blacksmith for the town of Spencer, Texas and unbelievably was hired, despite Eden Spencer’s reservations. However, pretty Miss Spencer put a caveat on his contract. Levi had just a month to prove himself. So, he immediately set his hands to the task.

    Spinster Eden Spencer’s holier-than-thou attitude might serve her well at the Ladies Aid Society meetings, but few realized how hurt she’d been by her fiance’s defection. Only a year ago, her rich father had offered Stephen money or the opportunity of leaving Eden alone. Unbelievably, Stephen had chosen the money and left town without a backward glance! For months, Eden had endured the pitying eyes and furtive whispers of the townspeople and the depressing shame of being so horribly rejected. It had taken her a while, but she’d finally found the strength to hold her head up again. If she was wrong about agreeing to hire Levi Grant, too, Eden wouldn’t be able to endure it.

    Nevertheless, every moment Eden spent around Levi unsettled her. The man was as big as a mountain, but incredibly gentle, too. He spoke with broken speech, apparently choosing his words carefully, but Eden discovered Levi was really very intelligent and well read. The face Levi presented to the town was so different from what she’d assumed that Eden was afraid to trust her instincts. Could she trust him with her heart, too?

    All too soon, Levi’s past begins to catch up with him and he writes a letter to Eden explaining about his speech impediment, becoming a prize fighter, the man he inadvertently killed in the ring and the time in prison he endured for the crime. Their relationship was so fragile, but nothing could have prepared Levi for Eden’s shock and dismay. Levi is miserable. Eden doesn’t want to speak to him or even look at him ever again.

    Meanwhile, Sheriff Pratt keeps up the pressure on Eden, hoping to force her into marrying him. After all, such an alliance with the daughter of one of the town’s founding fathers would certainly help his career. Rejected by Eden yet again, Sheriff Pratt vows to get even. There’s something about Levi Grant that looks strangely familiar. Levi reminds him of a prize fighter he saw once, an incredibly strong and powerful man called the Anvil, who killed another fighter in the ring.

    As the crisis comes to a head, Levi has his chance to show the town who he really is. When there’s an accident at the local quarry, Levi hurries to the hated location to free some of the trapped men. While he was in prison, Levi used to be part of a prison gang detail at the local quarry, often taking a severe beating from the guards. Yet, to free his new friends, Levi is willing to face this horror once more.

    Sheriff Pratt corners Levi later and stages a rematch of the old fight that cast him into prison. Although Levi’s opponent lands blow after blow, Levi refuses to fight back. Levi promised God that he would never fight for money again and he resolves to keep that vow - even if it kills him.

    This is a good Christian romance and a nice historical piece, as well. Realistic descriptions of the smithy and saloon contrasted nicely with the pristine simplicity of Eden’s little library. I also adored the vision the author created of Eden’s Garden. The masses of wildflowers in bloom out West really do look like that and I can almost smell their sweet perfume from here. Nicely done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5