Customer Reviews for

To the Last Breath: A Memoir of Going to Extremes

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Not to be missed!

    To the Last Breath: a Memoir of Going to Extremes is a riveting read from beginning to end and I promise you won't want to put this one down. This book chronicles the true story of one man’s quest to surf every ocean and climb the highest peak on every continent. Much more than a climbing and surfing adventure story, it is a rich and beautifully written memoir filled with nail biting adventure, international political intrigue, love and a personal spiritual awakening. Dr. Slakey takes you his life adventure and shares a very personal and rich life story. This is truly a book not to be missed and one that you will be proud to share with family and friends.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Not what I expected, but good nonetheless

    I was hoping this would be a book about the adventure of climbing, which I enjoy (ever since I read Krakauer's In Thin Air) but alas this was more about the author's personal journey. I am almost finished the book and found it interesting, but think I may have preferred a book about his climbing experiences.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    I read an advanced copy of To the Last Breath. This is not my st

    I read an advanced copy of To the Last Breath. This is not my style of book whatsoever -- I rarely read non-fiction, what little non-fiction I do read is never memoir, and I tend to find adventure tales, not to mention personal transformation tales, a little boring -- but I read it in two sittings, and have not stopped raving about it since. I loved it. This is a really spectacular book, and I think a lot of people are going to get a lot out of it.

    The book jacket will do a better job of explaining the story than I might, but I hope to provide some context for Slakey's social-ethical transformation. What's remarkable about this story, to me, is not what he accomplished in terms of feats, or even that he became a better man for it. What's remarkable is that he's a scientist, and specifically a physicist, and that the "better man" he became was a man more focused less on the advancement of science (though that is undoubtedly important to him) than on the betterment of humankind through science.

    I live in Washington, D.C., and have worked extensively with scientists on issues of public policy and public welfare. Slakey's latterday perspective on the role of science in public life, it's ability to help people, is exceedingly forward-looking and rare -- many scientists take a very clinical view, wherein science is science, and politics is politics, and never the twain shall meet -- and his commitment to this perspective, his commitment to making the world a better, safer place, is rarer still.

    The story of To the Last Breath is fantastic. It's my hope that a lot of people will read this book, and enjoy it; but my real hope is that people will take it's message of the value of science, and the value of public service, and the value of their interaction -- a message which is very specific, and all-to-rare in this day and age -- to heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A memoir of hiking and surfing adventures. Although I'm neither,

    A memoir of hiking and surfing adventures. Although I'm neither, it kept me turning the pages and in absolute awe. Good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    AMAZING book! By far the best i have ever read. mixes adventure

    AMAZING book! By far the best i have ever read. mixes adventure and extremes with humane and emotional challenges. Written wonderfully, captured and described an extremely special and unique way. I couldn't put the book down. MUST HAVE book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    “When I picked up this book I was unsure how I would like


    “When I picked up this book I was unsure how I would like it. And to my delight I was hooked by page 2. It is not only a fascinating adventure and bold concept it is well written, laugh out loud funny at times, informative and tells a tale of a guy with little heart who along the way develops a very big one. It is a great “guys” book even for those guys who are not avid readers. And finally it makes a great father’s day gift because of the authors final transformation to becoming a Dad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    I'm a reader of non-fiction, adventure/mountain climbing books a

    I'm a reader of non-fiction, adventure/mountain climbing books and this one truly stands out because it was so unexpected. Witnessing a scientist's transformative journey resulted in a page turner for me. It was not just about the mountain and it was not just about the surf but yet again, it was. It all ties together. I was captivated.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    When I ordered ‘To The Last Breath,’ I was hoping fo

    When I ordered ‘To The Last Breath,’ I was hoping for tales of adventure. I got them—plus the story of a man who opens himself to love and family. A fun, heartwarming read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Forshadowing the Unfortunate

    I will admit that that is a mandatory summer reading book for college, and as most students, I was prepared to be bored to tears. This proved to be untrue... for the most part. The narrative was interesting and included anecdotes (short side stories) about the narrator and the people that influenced him. That's the good part. *The bad part is yet to come. I would've never guessed it.* Every single chapter had a corny line explaining how the narrator NEVER EXPECTED TO have his life changed. Who would have known this would happen or that would happen to him? I grew tired of it quickly. I guess some other people will like the hype, but I wasn't thrilled.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1