Customer Reviews for

To the Lighthouse

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Though it was somewhat difficult to get through, it was amazingly written. I read the book 6 months ago, and I can still vividly remember scenes from the book. I especially liked the one and only scene in the book with Mr. and Mrs. Ramsey...
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Though it was somewhat difficult to get through, it was amazingly written. I read the book 6 months ago, and I can still vividly remember scenes from the book. I especially liked the one and only scene in the book with Mr. and Mrs. Ramsey alone. I still remember it after all these months.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating

I read about two books per month, usually choosing a variety of historical fiction and modern classics. I admit that I could not finish reading To the Lighthouse. Although pieces of the novel were very poetic, I found the style very frustrating to read. The narrative...
I read about two books per month, usually choosing a variety of historical fiction and modern classics. I admit that I could not finish reading To the Lighthouse. Although pieces of the novel were very poetic, I found the style very frustrating to read. The narrative is mainly the mixed up thoughts of the characters and their thoughts jump wildly so that you don't know if the character is speaking aloud or not. There are pages of confusing thoughts involving a single few seconds of action. I would not recommend this book to the average modern reader.

posted by EdnaMole on June 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    Excellent book!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Though it was somewhat difficult to get through, it was amazingly written. I read the book 6 months ago, and I can still vividly remember scenes from the book. I especially liked the one and only scene in the book with Mr. and Mrs. Ramsey alone. I still remember it after all these months.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    Thought provoking but confusing

    i read this for ap english 3 class...it's a pretty good book with lots of symbols and thoughts on life in general, however this book is fairly confusing and involves a lot of thinking on the reader's part...i'm doing a research paper on this book right now and learnign more than i did from the book...i would recommend thsi book if you're into 'discovering' the meaning of life or something boring like that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Brilliant!

    What turns many away from this novel is the way Woolf uses space. The second part of the novel ('Time Passes') manages to compress the events of ten years into thirty pages while the entire first part ('The Window') is the longest section of the novel, at over 100 pages, and covers just ONE day, ending with the dinner party. To the people who hated it, I suggest they first read 'A Room of One's Own' to get a better idea of what Woolf aims to achieve in her art. Lily's experience mirrors Woolf's in a number of significant ways. It's pretty easy to 'dis' what you don't understand. But it may reflect your own understanding (or lack thereof) than the intrinsic qualities of the work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2000

    In The Eyes of The Beholder

    'To The Lighthouse' by Virginia Woolf is novel split into three sections. Each section is dedicated to a different time period in the lives of the Ramsay family as they vacation at their summer home in Scotland. The novel is simply a compilation of anecdotes narrating the interplay of the characters and the events in their lives from 1910 to 1920. <P> Woolf's style makes 'To The Lighthouse' a complex novel. It is an unfamiliar style and yet very familiar, for Woolf writes using stream of consciousness. Stream of consciousness means Woolf writes the thoughts of the characters exactly as they think them. What makes this style so difficult to read is mostly the lack of punctuation. Since humans do not consciously put punctuation into their thoughts as they would if they were writing, the thoughts of the Ramsay's and other characters tend to be in run-on sentences. There is very little dialog, for all of the conversations that occur are described in the thoughts of one of the characters involved in the conversation. Since each character has a unique point of view, this style emphasizes the fact that everything is in the eye of the beholder. Woolf's style makes 'To the Lighthouse' a slow, but intriguing, read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1