Customer Reviews for

Toe-Up 2-at-a-Time Socks

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nook users, be warned

I downloaded this book and promptly started to knit the sample pair of socks. I immediately ran into difficulties and as a fairly new knitter, I blamed myself. Frustrated, I decided to browse the hard cover edition in my local B&N to see if I could understand it better....
I downloaded this book and promptly started to knit the sample pair of socks. I immediately ran into difficulties and as a fairly new knitter, I blamed myself. Frustrated, I decided to browse the hard cover edition in my local B&N to see if I could understand it better. TURNS OUT THAT THE BOOK HAS 170+ PAGES, NOT THE 52 WHICH SHOWED UP ON MY NOOK. To make a long story short, I ended up buying the hard cover edition and I am now finishing my second PAIR of socks. The author's method works beautifully, even for this novice knitter. Because the book is wonderful and the Nook edition not so much, I gave the book an overall rating of 4 stars; (the actual book gets a solid 5 stars). Forget about wasting the $9.99 on the Nook edition, spring for the $17 hard cover and ENJOY!

posted by reader1030 on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it

In the book it says see page 167,but book only goes to 57. And it is not the sample, I purcased the entire book.

posted by cutierenee on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nook users, be warned

    I downloaded this book and promptly started to knit the sample pair of socks. I immediately ran into difficulties and as a fairly new knitter, I blamed myself. Frustrated, I decided to browse the hard cover edition in my local B&N to see if I could understand it better. TURNS OUT THAT THE BOOK HAS 170+ PAGES, NOT THE 52 WHICH SHOWED UP ON MY NOOK. To make a long story short, I ended up buying the hard cover edition and I am now finishing my second PAIR of socks. The author's method works beautifully, even for this novice knitter. Because the book is wonderful and the Nook edition not so much, I gave the book an overall rating of 4 stars; (the actual book gets a solid 5 stars). Forget about wasting the $9.99 on the Nook edition, spring for the $17 hard cover and ENJOY!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Not worth it

    In the book it says see page 167,but book only goes to 57. And it is not the sample, I purcased the entire book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    awesome book

    I have both of the sock books by Melissa and love her way of presenting the information.

    I have a doctorate degree, but reading patterns, let's just say, is not my forte. But with her tutelage I can get the pattern done and it looks great.

    Thanks Melissa,
    Dr. Tina

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    Melissa's first book taught me how to knit socks and I was hooke

    Melissa's first book taught me how to knit socks and I was hooked.  Now, the toe-up method is even more efficient, and I am thoroughly enjoying knitting socks.  Sooooo glad my husband bought me this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    One star because the Nook version is only 57 pages, but referenc

    One star because the Nook version is only 57 pages, but references all 100+ pages. I called customer service and got a refund. I'll get the hardcopy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Recommend for experienced knitters

    I enjoy the patterns and the two at a time concept. Patterns are great and the stitch graphs are easy to follow. Don't particularly like/enjoy the cast on method - doesn't come out as smooth as I would want so I have adapted one of my own. Once you get the method down, very easy to transfer to other projects - mittens, warmers, etc. Ms. Melissa is a genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    The end of 'second sock' syndrome!

    Toe up allows for a lot more options and doing two at the same time makes keeping sock size consistent a lot easier. Not to mention when you are done, you're done- not just moving on to the second sock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Must have!!

    This book is a MUST have for all sock knitters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2