Customer Reviews for

Together Through Life

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    On the Road

    I like the photo on the cover because when this album first came out I listened to it over and over on my way to and from work which involved a 25 min drive on the highway - before the sun was up - then when it was going down. As a blues album it has that road feel to it -not unlike his very first album. It's fun to alternate listening to the two albums. The only qustion I have is what are we going to do when guys like Bob Dylan and Johnny Winter die. They are our among the last of our living connection to the blues legends of the past. That's why I treasure everything they turn out. In that regard, if you like this album you should definitely check out Johnny Winter's latest ("Roots") which is along the same lines and which I think I would rate slightly higher than "Through Life".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good

    One of the top Dylan's albums

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dylan's Cafe is Dark, but Witty & Warm

    Dim light. The border town cafe is tacky and dingy but at least it's clean. You've been hanging out in this place for as long as you can remember. Smoking is still allowed. There's the smell of smoke mixed in with the aromas of whiskey, tequila and beer. The talk becomes a whisper when the band meanders on the stage. The accordion player is new, you recognize the guitarist. The familiar voice of the singer is rougher than ever, but he's as happy to see the crowd as the crowd is to see him. "Together Through Life" is Bob Dylan's most atmospheric album. He enlisted Robert Hunter, the Grateful Dead Lyricist and writing partner of Jerry Garcia and quickly recorded this inspired collection of songs. David Hilgado, from the great Los Lobos, plays accordion, giving the same sort of inventive and distinctive texture that Al Kooper's organ gave "Blonde on Blonde" or Scarlet Rivera's violin gave "Desire." Dylan then traverses back to his more usual landscape of American blues. Dylan's most recent records, "Modern Times" and "Love & Theft," feature an accomplished mosaic of styles-rock and roll, crooner ballads, and various iterations of blues. "Together Through Life" is also a pastiche, although the blues predominate. The accordion and lonesome lyrics about love amidst desolation augment the end-of-the-line, border town, feel while also exploring the rarely acknowledged common ground of Tex-Mex music and Blues. It's pretty hard to claim at this point Dylan is redefining his career. He's done that a few times already, so many times that the redefinition is irrelevant. Few have had such a long and fruitful run-since about 1963-and he's still writing and performing in ways that are challenging and uncompromising. The last twelve years or so has been one of his most sustained and richest periods of creativity. There's a whole bunch of fans now more excited for new Dylan than to hear the legend's latest rendition of "Like A Rolling Stone."
    Clearly, Dylan is having a lot of fun and he is expressing that fun with a refreshingly cordial wit. Rarely has he been so inviting, And, almost as rarely, he has an audience willing to be invited, willing to appreciate without precondition his latest muse. In the Tex-Mex spiced blues ballad, "This Dream of You," he sings "in an all night cafe, as night turns into day." Anyone who wants to be in that cafe is in that cafe and having a wonderful time.Please visit: Timothyherrick.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Dylan's streak of good albums continues

    On this album, Dylan adopts a bluesy approach as he takes a bittersweet look at the world around him, from the point of view of someone who's seen it all. As you might expect, he doesn't like everything he sees. But he's not full of despair, either. He's having a great time as he sings about the human condition in his growly voice. Love the addition of David Hidalgo's accordion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The mature Bob Dylan

    Has all the character of recent Dylan music - soul-searching, thoughtful and insightful. Belongs in any serious Dylan collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Bob's Been A Changin'

    Dylan has been getting raspier and grainier in the past years and has switched his style somewhat but it's a welcome progress as he is still cranking out great, listenable tunes with memorable lyrics and dry humor. This is the perfect disc to play in the shade with a beer in your hand to just kick back get mellow. I like the slight cajun flavor in some of the tracks where it's hard to keep the foot from tapping. I have every one of Dylan's albums and will continue to collect them as they come out because there is no doubt that he is one of the Great American Classics who continues to put his individual stamp on American music like no one else can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Not good.

    Sorry, just couldn't listen to this one. I'm getting old and recognize the signs of decay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Bob Dylan so far

    The man in poetry in human form. Great album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Well...

    Not as good as Modern Times, but still a decent Dylan work...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Album

    Another great Bob Dylan album. After a first listening, I thought it was good, but not great. But after repeated listenings, it really grows on you. The songs are great and I would rank the album as equal in high quality, but with a different sound, to Modern Times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Dylan does it again.

    Another interesting album from Dylan. This album sounds like a cross between an old Muddy Waters album and Hank Williams. It is very old school with a 1950's sound. A definite must have for any Dylan fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Romance, Dylan style

    Certainly lighter in tone than Modern Times, Together Through Life still finds a way to shine new light onto the American landscape. Sounding a bit like a honky tonk band playing as if their lives depended on their music, Dylan and company give us 10 new songs of romance, lust, and greed. A highlight is My Wife's Home Town, with Dylan sounding like the ghost of an old bluesman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2