Customer Reviews for

Toll the Hounds (Malazan Book of the Fallen Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GRAND

    Below you might read how others talked about this book being a waste of time. Here is my tid-bit....Steven Erikson is a breath of fresh air when it comes to fantasy. The world he and Ian Esslemont have created is extraordinary, beautiful, majestic and hauntingly deadly. From Gardens of the Moon the story keeps progressing, bringing in new characters while old ones reemerge. Toll of the Hounds has been my favorite. I was thrilled when the author returned us back to Darujhistan. Please read the book with patience and do not skip anything. The words are written down for a reason. Also be sure to memorize the deck of dragons, ascendants, and major players (it will help). A lot of facts and seemingly unanswered questions come to life and are revealed. I read this book twice now. There was just a whole lot of information. I have been living in the world of Steven Erikson and Ian Esslemont for a while now and love it....So enjoy the toll of the Hounds and look forward to hearing about the retired bridgeburners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    strong entry

    It has been six years since the last deity battle, but another one between competing Gods seems imminent in Darujhistan. The native Crippled God and the Dying God want a seat at the pantheon. Each uses expendable humans to gain an edge over their rival. --- Meanwhile as these two Gods battle for supremacy and the prize, others converge on the city in which factions already are divided. No matter the outcome, the ¿City of Blue Fire¿ will burn. Assassins are everywhere trying to eliminate Malazans and other foes, and the hounds howl over the toll of death. Behind the scenes of the night the Son of Darkness warrior ruler Anomander Rake of Black Coral tries to manipulate the various foes. Finally the night arrives when the city will never be the same as violence and the dance of death are everywhere. --- Overall this is a strong Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen especially when the focus remains in Darujhistan however when a subplot moves the story line to the distant Black Coral city, it loses some of its fast pacing in spite of Night of Darkness Anomander insidious plotting. Still this is an exciting entry as readers return to the City of Blue Fire for an epic battle between Gods competing for a seat at the supreme pantheon. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    Never go wrong

    I've read all of the Malazan empire books and I am never disappointed. When I get a hold of one I know that I am in for many hours of great reading. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Tired

    Just absolutely had to force my way through it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Completely comes off the rail

    Slog slog slog through it. Constant agenda driven. I am done reading him for a while, just tired of the books getting duller as they go. There were a few bright spots that could have been capitalized on to draw you and be engrossing but instead it was not well thought out. Where was the editor on this on......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Another fantastic entry in the series.

    Another mesmerizing tale by Erikson, which entertains with the fantastical but still makes you stop and think with relevance to our own personal world's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Excellent addition to the series

    I found that this was one of (if not) my favorite books in the series so far. I've read some of the reviews on this book; the most common complaint seems to be the philosophizing. PLEASE, resist the temptation to skim at any point in this novel. If you skim anywhere, then you'll miss something important. This is the kind of book that needs to be read twice anyway...I found the novel infinitely amusing, and was sad (truly)when it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    What happened?!?

    Malazan Book of the Fallen series has become my favorite fantasy series ever, until this book. It is like someone other than Erikson wrote it! Its tone, delivery, everything is completely different. Instead of an incredible story with characters that have become a part of us, it is a struggle to even finish. In this book Erikson has obviously become enamored of his own "voice". "Blah, blah, blah!" entered my mind often. Unfortunately to finish the story one must muddle through this mire. Holding out hope that the trend does not continue in #9!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    Philosophy Treatis

    2/3 of the book is the author waxing philosophical. The philosophy was not a problem in itself it was the constant beating of that drum. It made me skip reading the majority of the book to avoid reading what had already been presented ad nauseum.
    Authors should understand that we choose the books for enjoyment. We are not that enamoured with the epiphanies they've had as they are.
    Tell me a story, don't try and drum a life lesson into my head.
    Steven Erikson, you went from a good writer of enjoyable fantasy to a waste of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST READ FOR FANTASY FANS!!!

    In my humble opinion, Stephen Erikson is the best Fantasy writer to come along since the sad day that Robert Jordan passed away. His books started out long and are gettng bigger with each release, which, in my opinion, is almost always the sign of a really good story that is developing into a great epic. The books so far in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series overflow with deep, believable characters; complex war and battle strategies; varied cultures and nations with complex political themes spread over a world that is as astounding (yet familiar?) as the magic that lives within it. I'm hooked--addicted!! I can't wait for his next release!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    It's all about the world

    In the Malazan series there is no central character, no single heroic figure, or even a group, company or nation, including Malazan.

    You don't read Erickson for the characters you read him for the world the characters live in. I think this is a bit of a surprise to new Malazan readers, but if your up to book 8 you already know what I mean. Getting attached to any character in these books is a bad idea as it is an odds on bet that they won't be around 800 to 1,000 pages from now.

    In fact the more noble or heroic, classic "good guy" type, a character is the more likely it is that character will be killed off. This book is no exception to that rule! So, one reads these books for the depth of the world the characters live in, the intricacy of the plots surrounding them, and of course to see who dies next.

    My only problem with the books is that I think they need a reader's guide, as keeping all the various races, nations, groups, companies, and creatures straight can be a bit of an effort. I would recommend "briefing" oneself in using one of several good Malazan wiki sites before diving into the series or even just to refresh your memory when a new book comes out.

    One last point, Erickson's characters have a very dark world view, and the book contains lengthy passages of the characters philosophy that often have nothing, or at best are only tangentially related to the plot. I do find myself skimming these pages as opposed to the slower immersive reading style I prefer for pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    Another Gem in a Complex Tale

    I have been totally captivated by the series--while this moves a bit slower than some of the books in the series, Erikson continues to amaze with the intricate and poignant themes and storylines. Harsh and brutal at times, wonderous and moving at others, the jumps between characters and stories keep you drawn in withou feeling disjointed. Eagerly awating the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4