Customer Reviews for

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon #1

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hi im cool

Im ten and i thout it was awesome.

posted by 13126440 on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

So bad SyFy wouldn't make a movie out of it...

...and I love bad SyFy channel movies. This book was worse than terrible. I am a Tom Clancy fan, and a member of my family bought me this travesty as a gift, thinking it was by Tom Clancy.

She could not have been more wrong.

This literary debacle was actually wr...
...and I love bad SyFy channel movies. This book was worse than terrible. I am a Tom Clancy fan, and a member of my family bought me this travesty as a gift, thinking it was by Tom Clancy.

She could not have been more wrong.

This literary debacle was actually written by David Michaels, who for all intents and purposes may as well be a twelve-year-old video game fanatic who can recite the stats of various digital characters and weapons purely from memory. In fact, that seems to be exactly what he does when describing both. There is virtually no growth for any of the two-dimensional cast, whose interactions are as stilted and unnatural as could possibly be imagined. To continue, I suppose I shall just explain my ratings:

Characters - As I said earlier, they may as well be made from cardboard. There is no development and each one seems to be dictated by a single personality trait that makes all of their actions and reactions worse than predictable. The most compelling character was the nemesis' ancient family sword.
Plot - Left much to be desired. It seemed to be completely focused on putting the main characters into ridiculous situations where their only possible escape was a seemingly impossible yet non-altogether-unexpected stunt which involved the gridly deaths of an obscene number of emeny goons, each one in a different and equally gory manner.
Writing Style - May as well be nonexistant. Michaels writes with a slow, boring narrative that never diverges from its obvious path to explain either motivations or thought processes. He sticks to simply telling what happened, spending more time on describing suns than what the characters were doing and why.
Originality - The book was inspired by a video game. Need I say more? I will: though he does not simply re-hash a video game's background story, there is nothing either new or exciting in Michaels writing. Nothing makes you think or surprises you.
Book Cover - I gave this one 2 stars because it does actually make you think (at least for a second) that the book (which I cannot, for obvious reasons, dignify with the descriptor 'novel') was written by Tom Clancy. Poor Tom; he's having his reputation ruined by drivel. At least the deception is for a good cause: David Michaels doesn't seem to have any marketable skills.

The book is not offbeat. In fact, it's so on-beat that it's preposterous. Keep wishing that Michaels will throw you a curveball, but at the same time you are 100% certain that he won't. It's actually sad. The book is not dramatic. The descriptions are lackluster and a couple of times I found myself thinking "I'm pretty sure that word doesn't mean what Mr. Michaels thinks it means." But then, that's the editor's job, isn't it? The book is neither touching nor romantic; there are only 2 female characters who appear for all of about 3 scenes, and there is no emotion to be found anywhere. I was also never thrilled, in any sense of the word, by Ghost Recon.

Ghost Recon is not good for book clubs; it's boring. I would rather sleep away a rainy day or simply watch the rain fall - it's more interesting, you see. I could better escape by twiddling my thumbs and, having recieved the book as a gift, I would rather have the money. The only reason it's in my permanent library is because I don't throw books away. It gets 2 stars for topical conversation, however, because a good conversation could begin like this:
"Dude, have you re

posted by 3881571 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    So bad SyFy wouldn't make a movie out of it...

    ...and I love bad SyFy channel movies. This book was worse than terrible. I am a Tom Clancy fan, and a member of my family bought me this travesty as a gift, thinking it was by Tom Clancy.

    She could not have been more wrong.

    This literary debacle was actually written by David Michaels, who for all intents and purposes may as well be a twelve-year-old video game fanatic who can recite the stats of various digital characters and weapons purely from memory. In fact, that seems to be exactly what he does when describing both. There is virtually no growth for any of the two-dimensional cast, whose interactions are as stilted and unnatural as could possibly be imagined. To continue, I suppose I shall just explain my ratings:

    Characters - As I said earlier, they may as well be made from cardboard. There is no development and each one seems to be dictated by a single personality trait that makes all of their actions and reactions worse than predictable. The most compelling character was the nemesis' ancient family sword.
    Plot - Left much to be desired. It seemed to be completely focused on putting the main characters into ridiculous situations where their only possible escape was a seemingly impossible yet non-altogether-unexpected stunt which involved the gridly deaths of an obscene number of emeny goons, each one in a different and equally gory manner.
    Writing Style - May as well be nonexistant. Michaels writes with a slow, boring narrative that never diverges from its obvious path to explain either motivations or thought processes. He sticks to simply telling what happened, spending more time on describing suns than what the characters were doing and why.
    Originality - The book was inspired by a video game. Need I say more? I will: though he does not simply re-hash a video game's background story, there is nothing either new or exciting in Michaels writing. Nothing makes you think or surprises you.
    Book Cover - I gave this one 2 stars because it does actually make you think (at least for a second) that the book (which I cannot, for obvious reasons, dignify with the descriptor 'novel') was written by Tom Clancy. Poor Tom; he's having his reputation ruined by drivel. At least the deception is for a good cause: David Michaels doesn't seem to have any marketable skills.

    The book is not offbeat. In fact, it's so on-beat that it's preposterous. Keep wishing that Michaels will throw you a curveball, but at the same time you are 100% certain that he won't. It's actually sad. The book is not dramatic. The descriptions are lackluster and a couple of times I found myself thinking "I'm pretty sure that word doesn't mean what Mr. Michaels thinks it means." But then, that's the editor's job, isn't it? The book is neither touching nor romantic; there are only 2 female characters who appear for all of about 3 scenes, and there is no emotion to be found anywhere. I was also never thrilled, in any sense of the word, by Ghost Recon.

    Ghost Recon is not good for book clubs; it's boring. I would rather sleep away a rainy day or simply watch the rain fall - it's more interesting, you see. I could better escape by twiddling my thumbs and, having recieved the book as a gift, I would rather have the money. The only reason it's in my permanent library is because I don't throw books away. It gets 2 stars for topical conversation, however, because a good conversation could begin like this:
    "Dude, have you re

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Hi im cool

    Im ten and i thout it was awesome.





    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The game's manual is a better read.

    Tom Clancy's reputation is being ruined by having his name on books written by other, less skilled writers. I was hoping for something a little more tactical along the lines of Rainbow Six or Without Remorse. What I got was a novel written by a fan of the video games.<BR/><BR/>The writing was choppy and extremely narrative. I imagine it can be hard to find an author with tactical experience, but it was clear that David Michaels only did cursory research. It's most likely that he relied upon knowledge gained from video games and movies.<BR/><BR/>The blatant product placement of Blackhawk tactical equipment (namely their MOD knives) made me wince. When Mr. Michaels talked about the equipment it was like the descriptions were pulled right from the catalog. Frankly, I was surprised not to find the price in there somewhere. <BR/><BR/>The phychology of the characters left a bit to be desired. Sure, it was neat to see the history of Scott Mitchell and some personality put to the other team members, but they didn't quite stack up to the reality of speial operations personnel that I know. Granted I don't know any US Army Special Forces members but I can't imagine their phycologically that diverse from Force Recon or SEALs. I imagine that David Michaels read Shooter (by Jack Coughlin), and this is about on par with that trash.<BR/><BR/>The cover did look cool though. That's why I bought it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Ghost Recon

    Great Game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Ghost Recon

    Good read, disliked the slow parts where there wasnt alot of action but overall really good and i would recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    My first Tom Clancy book read and i enjoyed it.. Liked the story

    My first Tom Clancy book read and i enjoyed it.. Liked the story and characters plus all the things that relate to the video games. I think its worth a read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Action packed A must read for military excitement

    Tom Clancy is known for exciting and dramatic novels. His detail in OPS info with the latest in Technological advances holds you interest throughout the entire novel. Usage of your imagination begins from chapter 1 through the final. Definitely a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Loved it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    ,

    (

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Classic

    One of the best military books that I have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Ghost Recon by Tom Clancy

    This book is another amazing tom clancy. Thie auther has made several (out of 128 books) such as the cardinal of the kremlin and the hunt for red october plus rainbow six and the splinter cell series. I would highly recommend this book if you are alowed to see profanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Hear me out. #28 is WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    First off, this person must be hating on poor Mr. Clancy. The book us action packed and full of details. If you were hoping for a romantic book, tough luck. The book expresses the true nature of a covert war and the warriors who fight them. Brutal. You do not go to war and look for Barbies or other girly things. This book excells in the aspect of a secret epic fighting force. Ignore 28. The book is the best one that I have on my Nook. It is well deserving of the $10 cost for this literary MASTERPIECE! END OF CONVERSATION! PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Tom Clancys Ghost Recon was not a waste of money, but just not w

    Tom Clancys Ghost Recon was not a waste of money, but just not worth the time to read. ONe, it was actually writen by a different author, not Tom Clancy. It was missing the same story elements that could be found in Tom Clancys books, such as Red Storm Rising. Instead, it was written with less suspense then a story like this should have. Overall, the story was good, I just felt that the author, David Michaels, could have done a better job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    keeps you on edge

    If you like action books, then any book by Clancy is well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Great Book!!

    I really enjoyed this book, a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    One over the other

    Book was good but the games old and complcated black ops 2 is way beter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    ??????????

    Is this the first book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Ghost Recon

    Is this book good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    It was a vudeo game first

    Then a book. Both by Tom Clancy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Slasher

    Growls and kicks bird in the back,sending her hurtling into the space bridge. Gem jumps in after her sister,followed by slasher and lark.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6