Customer Reviews for

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon #1

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hi im cool

Im ten and i thout it was awesome.

posted by 13126440 on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

So bad SyFy wouldn't make a movie out of it...

...and I love bad SyFy channel movies. This book was worse than terrible. I am a Tom Clancy fan, and a member of my family bought me this travesty as a gift, thinking it was by Tom Clancy.

She could not have been more wrong.

This literary debacle was actually wr...
...and I love bad SyFy channel movies. This book was worse than terrible. I am a Tom Clancy fan, and a member of my family bought me this travesty as a gift, thinking it was by Tom Clancy.

She could not have been more wrong.

This literary debacle was actually written by David Michaels, who for all intents and purposes may as well be a twelve-year-old video game fanatic who can recite the stats of various digital characters and weapons purely from memory. In fact, that seems to be exactly what he does when describing both. There is virtually no growth for any of the two-dimensional cast, whose interactions are as stilted and unnatural as could possibly be imagined. To continue, I suppose I shall just explain my ratings:

Characters - As I said earlier, they may as well be made from cardboard. There is no development and each one seems to be dictated by a single personality trait that makes all of their actions and reactions worse than predictable. The most compelling character was the nemesis' ancient family sword.
Plot - Left much to be desired. It seemed to be completely focused on putting the main characters into ridiculous situations where their only possible escape was a seemingly impossible yet non-altogether-unexpected stunt which involved the gridly deaths of an obscene number of emeny goons, each one in a different and equally gory manner.
Writing Style - May as well be nonexistant. Michaels writes with a slow, boring narrative that never diverges from its obvious path to explain either motivations or thought processes. He sticks to simply telling what happened, spending more time on describing suns than what the characters were doing and why.
Originality - The book was inspired by a video game. Need I say more? I will: though he does not simply re-hash a video game's background story, there is nothing either new or exciting in Michaels writing. Nothing makes you think or surprises you.
Book Cover - I gave this one 2 stars because it does actually make you think (at least for a second) that the book (which I cannot, for obvious reasons, dignify with the descriptor 'novel') was written by Tom Clancy. Poor Tom; he's having his reputation ruined by drivel. At least the deception is for a good cause: David Michaels doesn't seem to have any marketable skills.

The book is not offbeat. In fact, it's so on-beat that it's preposterous. Keep wishing that Michaels will throw you a curveball, but at the same time you are 100% certain that he won't. It's actually sad. The book is not dramatic. The descriptions are lackluster and a couple of times I found myself thinking "I'm pretty sure that word doesn't mean what Mr. Michaels thinks it means." But then, that's the editor's job, isn't it? The book is neither touching nor romantic; there are only 2 female characters who appear for all of about 3 scenes, and there is no emotion to be found anywhere. I was also never thrilled, in any sense of the word, by Ghost Recon.

Ghost Recon is not good for book clubs; it's boring. I would rather sleep away a rainy day or simply watch the rain fall - it's more interesting, you see. I could better escape by twiddling my thumbs and, having recieved the book as a gift, I would rather have the money. The only reason it's in my permanent library is because I don't throw books away. It gets 2 stars for topical conversation, however, because a good conversation could begin like this:
"Dude, have you re

posted by 3881571 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Brazier

    Ish back at da base

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Good book so far

    I am currently reading this book. So far it seems to be well constructed. I have read a number of Clancy's books and this looks to be another good one.

    You already have my pen name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    N/A

    I have not read this novel yet

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Got better in 2nd half

    Lots of action after ch. 25. Like the ending, but VERY slow start. Maybe I will try second book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Look amazing

    I havent bought thus yet but it looks like a good book to read

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Awesome

    If you love the game tjen you will love the book!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    A

    Three words, Tom Clancy Book. That is all I need to describe this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Interested into military

    Somehow i do jot know how he got interested into military somehow. Does anyone know?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Awsome read

    I love all game book movie of Tom Clany i also like thisthis book ihope the auther wrote more books and all you people callin him (the auther) a "video game addict" are wrong he is not a video game addict cause if he was he wouldnt write this book. I got Tom Clany's Ghost Recon Avanced Warfighter for Xbox360 Tom Clancy Splinter Cell Conviction for Ipod touch 4 generation im workin on Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Avanced Warfighter 2 allbthe hawx games alkvsplinter cell games and Tom Clancy's newest game Tom Clancy's Future Soldier.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Yrdghfx

    Ffhvdhb

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Looks good

    Want it bad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Great book

    Really liked this book glad they made a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    great

    action right from the start

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    good book

    there is to many characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    goast recon 2

    action packed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Interesting but it falls short

    I really like Tom Clancy as an author, I however have found "Tom Clancy" books to lack his intrigue. Having played the video game I knew a little of the back story, but Michaels added to the character of Scott Mitchell better than most of the "adaption" category that I've seen over the years. However, it fell short in rest of the areas that I like when it comes to reading military thriller/suspense.
    Even though the protagonist is fleshed out more, the rest of the characters seemed bland. I felt like Mitchell was the only one that had any depth whatsoever and the rest were forsaken.
    Had the characters been more developed and the story more depth, I would have felt more satisfied spending the $10 it cost. Next time I think I'll reread "Rainbow Six" again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Leads the imagination to work on visualization.

    Although this book is "Bannered by Tom Clancy" it is written by a new author using the "tom Clancy" formulaic style of writing. The author does a good job of plot development and the characters can seem raw at times (in a wartime setting), but the book in general is a good read. My personal dislike is a plot that constantly jumps around just as part of it is being well developed.

    Still can be a good read for all "Clancyists".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Ghosts Keep Kicking Arse!

    This book brings alot more background to the story of the "Ghosts". While the book skips the Mexican locality of the Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter games, it still pays homage to the original series. The book follows Capt. Mitchell's career with an action packed story. Starting with the massacre of most of his ODA Team in a Phillipine Ambush, Mitchell moves on and takes out terrorists in Afghanistan, and then ends up following the intelligence garnered in that mission to China. Fans of the Ghost Recon series will appreciate the novelization of so many of their favourite Ghosts from the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    im a six grade student from arizona

    Tom Clancy¿s Ghost Recon By: David Michaels <BR/><BR/>The protagonist in the book, Ghost Recon, is Scott Michaels, aka Ricochet or Ghost Lead. He is a soldier in the U.S. Army Special Forces team, Ghost Recon. Throughout the book he moves up the ranks helping his closest friend Tutang, which he rescued in the beginning.<BR/>Every book has a plot, Ghost Recon is no exception. In the beginning of this book Scott¿s squad is being ambushed, with him being the only mobile person. He radio¿s the Filipino squad for help and after receiving no response, he assumes they are dead, however they are not. When a chopper arrives he sees Fang, the leader of the Filipino squad is perfectly fine, the battle then ensues. Later on when Scott is fighting in World War III, he finds out that Fang is behind it all. <BR/>This book takes place all over the world, for example the philippines, taiwan, and china. <BR/> The time line of this novel is 2002 to 2012.<BR/>I enjoyed this story because of all the high-tech tools that where described, however Ghost Recon was about revenge, brotherhood, and one very patriotic man.<BR/>I connected to this book because a large amount of people in my family are currently or have been in the military. In addition to this, we have seen many conflicts in the world similar to this.<BR/>Related books: Rainbow Six and The Sum of all Fear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6