Customer Reviews for

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell #1

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

MUST READ!!!!

Splinter Cell, written by David Michaels, is one of the better books I've read. I prefer a good, well written Non-Fiction book. Splinter Cell comes very close to meeting that standard. This book really spoke to me in the sense that the book demonstrates the danger and t...
Splinter Cell, written by David Michaels, is one of the better books I've read. I prefer a good, well written Non-Fiction book. Splinter Cell comes very close to meeting that standard. This book really spoke to me in the sense that the book demonstrates the danger and the disadvantages of being an undercover agent and the danger you put your family, friends, or your own life in. Like the scene in the book when Sam realizes that his daughter has been captured. I think that the author's purpose for writing this novel was to communicate the advantages and disadvantages of being an agent. In the novel, the author describes in extreme detail, Sam's OPSAT (Operational Satellite Uplink) in the beginning of the first chapter and demonstrates it very well. David shows his excellent skills in giving the reader a mental image of the scene or situation. The main theme of this mind blowing novel I believe was, "Family is more important than anything." Sam Fisher's life is perfect, he has a well paid job that he enjoys and the only downfall is that he can't tell anyone about it. Yet his perfect life is missing one important thing. Family, Sam is so involved with his work that he has no time to see his only daughter Sarah. Later in the novel, Sarah is captured by a terrorist group known as The Shadows. The Shadows is a terrorist group who wants revenge on Sam so they take his daughter to bait him to rescue her. This is a great book to read if you love a good mystery book, war novel, or a suspenseful story.

posted by Cougar_H on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

middle school students review

I had found this book written just like you were playing the video game. when I read the book it was exactly like a video game. action then talking, action then talking. I love to play this video game its so much fun. but the book was mainly the same as the ...
I had found this book written just like you were playing the video game. when I read the book it was exactly like a video game. action then talking, action then talking. I love to play this video game its so much fun. but the book was mainly the same as the video game. the last misson he does is always harder than his past misson. I would not recomend this book to a person who loves Tom Clancy.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ!!!!

    Splinter Cell, written by David Michaels, is one of the better books I've read. I prefer a good, well written Non-Fiction book. Splinter Cell comes very close to meeting that standard. This book really spoke to me in the sense that the book demonstrates the danger and the disadvantages of being an undercover agent and the danger you put your family, friends, or your own life in. Like the scene in the book when Sam realizes that his daughter has been captured. I think that the author's purpose for writing this novel was to communicate the advantages and disadvantages of being an agent. In the novel, the author describes in extreme detail, Sam's OPSAT (Operational Satellite Uplink) in the beginning of the first chapter and demonstrates it very well. David shows his excellent skills in giving the reader a mental image of the scene or situation. The main theme of this mind blowing novel I believe was, "Family is more important than anything." Sam Fisher's life is perfect, he has a well paid job that he enjoys and the only downfall is that he can't tell anyone about it. Yet his perfect life is missing one important thing. Family, Sam is so involved with his work that he has no time to see his only daughter Sarah. Later in the novel, Sarah is captured by a terrorist group known as The Shadows. The Shadows is a terrorist group who wants revenge on Sam so they take his daughter to bait him to rescue her. This is a great book to read if you love a good mystery book, war novel, or a suspenseful story.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Idiot!

    To the idiot that said that all Tom Clancy books are based off of the video games, most Tom Clancy books were written before the PS3 or two even came out. So get your facts straight retard. (Tom Clancy however, did not write any of the splinter cells, and possibly R6)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Amazing read

    Great book for mystery and action fans.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Great book!

    I love it! I can't wait to read the next one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Love the first

    Love the games, love this book, eager to read the following novels in the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Horrid

    Easily one of the worst books i have ever read, plot was terrible writing was mediocre at best and all the hand to hand combat was laced with stupid twirking gyms mives that did nothing but paint a picture of a gymnastwith black spandex and nught vision goggles on. I would give it no stars if that were an option. Do not waste you time or money on this crappy book......

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Absolutely terrible

    This book should be on sale at comicon. The first chapter was like spiderman. If Clancy wrote this he needs to retire.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    If you like fairy tales

    Too many outragous toys..makes 007' tools look like a preschool activity box..also, alot of stupid luck when our super spy gets into bad situations

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    very disappointing

    Tom Clancy has been one of my favorite writers since Hunt for Red October was written, so when I was going to be out of touch with B&N for a while I bought splinter cell 1 & 2, without really checking them out. For one I felt that the writing is 3rd rate. I am very disappointed that Mr. Clancy would put his name on these books. They are NOT up to his standards. I would ask for my money back, if I thought I would get it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Sample

    I belive that this is probably a great book! But the sample is just a summary of how the author describes the characters and their surroundings. If that is all this book is about then i would rather not bother lol! More descriptive previews prety please...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Video Game to reality

    I use to be one of those huge gamers that just loved to blow stuff up, so when the splinter cell games came out I would play them and just go through and kill and destroy everything I could to get the mission done. Well one day I was sitting around bored and played double agent and decided to do it all quit and stuff and I was in awe at how much more fun the games were when you did them as they were intended, quietly. I went through and played all of them out of order but I didn¿t care I was attached to the games. I loved them so much I decided to try the book......It was awesome, a lil bit to easy to read but it was fun and engaging. Very suspenseful book, I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of the games, or anybody who is a fan of suspense modern espionage books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    middle school students review

    I had found this book written just like you were playing the video game. when I read the book it was exactly like a video game. action then talking, action then talking. I love to play this video game its so much fun. but the book was mainly the same as the video game. the last misson he does is always harder than his past misson. I would not recomend this book to a person who loves Tom Clancy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    He deserves more credit

    My wife bought it because she'd seen Splinter Cell on my XBOX shelf. I expected a Rambo cheesy rendition. Instead I got a well-written, researched, enjoyable read that I didn't expect. David Michaels should be in BOLD, not TOM CLANCY. I'll watch for more stuff done by him.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    T

    Kiss your hand3 times and post this at 3 diffrent books and look under your pillow when you wake up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Guys guys guys...

    Tom Clancy as passed away like an year ago I believe. To all Tom Clancy fans there wont be anymore tom clancy series. And where the fuc did The Division come from? (Not saying that its a shet) and also to the idiots tha think the Tom Clanccy wrote this after the game, you guys are a pure dumb butt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Hoxton

    Throws a mortar bomb in exploding it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Splinter cell

    This book was good but I expect more though but very good any body who thinks its trash is trash and have no pashon for book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Freakin' Nasty

    These books are friggin nasty awesome and i can't beleive anyone would dis on them.

    O
    O O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Samfisher RULES!!!

    I love the video games and I love Tom Clancy, I cant WAIT to read these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Must read


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12