Customer Reviews for

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell #1

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

MUST READ!!!!

Splinter Cell, written by David Michaels, is one of the better books I've read. I prefer a good, well written Non-Fiction book. Splinter Cell comes very close to meeting that standard. This book really spoke to me in the sense that the book demonstrates the danger and t...
Splinter Cell, written by David Michaels, is one of the better books I've read. I prefer a good, well written Non-Fiction book. Splinter Cell comes very close to meeting that standard. This book really spoke to me in the sense that the book demonstrates the danger and the disadvantages of being an undercover agent and the danger you put your family, friends, or your own life in. Like the scene in the book when Sam realizes that his daughter has been captured. I think that the author's purpose for writing this novel was to communicate the advantages and disadvantages of being an agent. In the novel, the author describes in extreme detail, Sam's OPSAT (Operational Satellite Uplink) in the beginning of the first chapter and demonstrates it very well. David shows his excellent skills in giving the reader a mental image of the scene or situation. The main theme of this mind blowing novel I believe was, "Family is more important than anything." Sam Fisher's life is perfect, he has a well paid job that he enjoys and the only downfall is that he can't tell anyone about it. Yet his perfect life is missing one important thing. Family, Sam is so involved with his work that he has no time to see his only daughter Sarah. Later in the novel, Sarah is captured by a terrorist group known as The Shadows. The Shadows is a terrorist group who wants revenge on Sam so they take his daughter to bait him to rescue her. This is a great book to read if you love a good mystery book, war novel, or a suspenseful story.

posted by Cougar_H on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Horrid

Easily one of the worst books i have ever read, plot was terrible writing was mediocre at best and all the hand to hand combat was laced with stupid twirking gyms mives that did nothing but paint a picture of a gymnastwith black spandex and nught vision goggles on. I wo...
Easily one of the worst books i have ever read, plot was terrible writing was mediocre at best and all the hand to hand combat was laced with stupid twirking gyms mives that did nothing but paint a picture of a gymnastwith black spandex and nught vision goggles on. I would give it no stars if that were an option. Do not waste you time or money on this crappy book......

posted by 10465358 on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Video Game to reality

    I use to be one of those huge gamers that just loved to blow stuff up, so when the splinter cell games came out I would play them and just go through and kill and destroy everything I could to get the mission done. Well one day I was sitting around bored and played double agent and decided to do it all quit and stuff and I was in awe at how much more fun the games were when you did them as they were intended, quietly. I went through and played all of them out of order but I didn¿t care I was attached to the games. I loved them so much I decided to try the book......It was awesome, a lil bit to easy to read but it was fun and engaging. Very suspenseful book, I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of the games, or anybody who is a fan of suspense modern espionage books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Amazing

    Even the sample is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Action packed!

    Great read and easy to get lost in!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    good book

    got this for a plan trip and it was a good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    good rainy day read

    fast paced action read, enjoyed alot...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Fun thrilling read

    Enjoyed the mulitple plots and character development. Good story line, but not as sophisticated as Dan Brown or Chrichton novels. More like Cussler. Only downside to the novel is the extensive descriptions of the technologies or warfare (which is characteristic of Clancy).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Captures faithfully the spirit and experience of the game

    The character get much more fleshed-out, the plot is original, and not directly based on the game (however still based on an idea by Tom Clancy), and is thrilling all the way through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Sick Book!

    I started this book with a recomendation from a friend who loved it.I started this book with a little bit of hesitation but immediately got hooked. This book is a gripping action story that will make you never want to but the book down. This was a sort of confusing book but with a little bit of patience you can get the hang of it.Like I said... Sick Book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    ITS GOOD BUT......

    This is a good overall book and is recomended but at some parts in the book i lost my WANT to read it more because it was so boring at parts where their was just whole chapter of talking. i just wish their was more action

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    great book

    this book is absolutely amazing. it has loads of susppnse and great action. one problem was the book was fairly short for such a complex plot.great read not to difficult.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Tom Clancy's Splinter cell

    The book im reviewing is Tom Clancys splinter cell. It is written by David Michaels. The genre of this is of a spy novel. It is about a splinter cell spy named sam Fisher. His mission is to find and stop the of smuggled weapons and find the smugglers. While in turkey he gets word that his daughter has been kidnaped and he has to find were in iran she is being held. The setting of this story is in the middle east specifically in Iraq,Iran,and Turkey. This setting is key to the way the story plays out. If the setting were any different it would not have the same suspense and fear as you were reading and you would not want to continue reading. Also the mood of the story would be altered to change the setting for example if the setting was changed to the middle of nowhere montana or any low population mountainous region the mood and suspense would be lessened. The antagonists would be changed to some thing with less fear instilled in the title like a band of woodland mountain people are less marked with being a danger . The main conflict of splinter cell is ¿the shop¿ is trying to ship weapons to terrorist and sam is stopping them from doing this so they are trying to capture him. The story is in first person point of view so the narrator is saying the story as it happening and he talks to the people around him. The author uses these dialogues to set the scene and depict the action sequences so that you are interested in reading. This point of view is absolutely necessary in telling this story, the way it is told by sam fisher is reliable because he is almost like an omniscient narrator because he sees all but he is never seen. If the point of view was changed the suspense would be gone because you would be told about what the antagonist is planing on doing and then you would see sam going and disturbing their plans. The devices that the writer uses to interest the reader are action sequences and the dialogues between characters. The action sequences are broken down be sam in aa way that the reader knows what he and the enemy(s) are attempting to do to escape harm. Sam uses description language to break down the battle and tell what style of martial arts he might be using. Overall I believe this book is well worth reading , it is action pact but there is not an overwhelming amount of fighting that you become uninterested in the story. I give this a thumbs up because it was exciting and fulfilled my thoughts of what i have herd of the games and other books. Things i was disappointed about was there was large gaps between raises in suspense once the began talking about the daughter.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    not bad

    I thought the book was all out good.What made me want to stop reading is that in every chapter there were long period of time that nothing really was happening.What made me want to keep reading was that in every chapter there was some kind of action.I thought the book was all out good but I don't think its a book that you should run out and buy, You should just check it out at a library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    Great Book

    I think that this book is marvelous. The plot is realistic, and the first-person present tense stuff with Sam Fisher is very original. I'd defintely recommend it to any Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell videogame fans. Plus, it's not like this is a book version of one of the games: the story is completely original. Probably not suitable for all ages due to the brief sexual stuff.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    A grate book must read

    i give this book 4 stars becuz i injoyed this book alot i have part one and two of the games but then i heard about the book i went to buy it fast. I like the book, i like the way they talk about the fight seans it got u supents and wahts u to find out thwta happens next but the thing i didnt like is they do way to much detail about the people. but every thing else was grate so if u want a good book to read with action and spys read this one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    Fun Spy Novel

    This is an enjoyable spy novel. I've never played the Splinter Cell game, but that doesn't effect you're reading of this book. It reminded me of those Nick Carter spy novels that were popular in the 1980's, with a little of the TV series 24 thrown in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    A great read

    A excellent read. I was not able to keep my mind off what would happen next. The story line pulled me in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3