BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell #2: Operation Barracuda

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    Splinter Cell EPITOMIZE espionage!!!

    I have read some of the reviews here, and some people state how atrocious it was. Personally I never been so intrigued by a book in my life. I literally sat for hours reading because I was so intrigued! I thought the first Splinter Cell was impeccable, but the second BLEW IT AWAY! The book is very versatile too! It involve scenes of action, espionage, romance, suspense, and drama. I admit some parts are predictable, but it's still absolutely epic. There were some parts though that were no predictable and I couldn't believe how insidious some of the characters were. The character Katia help reveal the emotional side of Sam Fisher which is awesome. Also the story being told in first-person is impeccable. If it was told any different the story would be very tedious and elusive since it wouldn't be from the characters perspective. The other two novels Check-Mate and Fallout are so BORING because it's told in third-person. If there is any issue with this book, it would be it's not long enough. The English used is very educational as well. In essence, this is a well told book by Ramond Benson.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    SAM FISHER KICKS ASS

    love the part with the CHARC

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Good for fans

    Operation Barracuda is an edge of your seat kind of book. If you are a fan of the series, or if you are just looking for an action packed book, this is one to take a look at. The book starts out with Sam Fisher spying on a base in Russia. The books action slows down to a more romantic theme when Sam begins to fall for his karate instructor, Katia. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes action books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    Even better than its predecessor....

    Going into this novel, I found it hard to believe that it could be more enjoyable than the first in the series. But, it was in fact, better. If you've read and liked Splinter Cell, then you're sure to enjoy this book. However, I reccomend reading the first one before Operation Barracuda because the storyline carries on with the plot from its predecessor. This is the greatest novel I've ever read! (10/10!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    This Book is TIGHT splinter cell kicks ass

    this is th best action book and serios i have ever read out of all the action books i read a big 2 thumbs up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Splinter Cell

    Operation Barracuda is a awsome story about Sam Fisher who is a splinter cell that lurks around in the shadows and the darkness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Sam Fisher is back

    If you liked he first splinter cell book. You would like the second splinter cell Operation Barracuda. I think that the book is WOW because the plot is AMAZING. But one bad thing is Tom Clancy don't write it. Sam Fisher is the main charter and he work for the NSA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Splinter Cell Rocks

    Operation Barracuda was great. I really feel like I am Sam Fisher. I great adventure and thriller book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    Outstanding book to read!

    This book includes action and exiting dangerous missions that the splinter cell Sam Fisher must accomplish. He works for the NSA (National Security Agencie) which he works in the Third Echelon a secret that the goverment does not Know about. It's action packed and keeps you on your toes. Sam Fisher keeps us free by being stealthy, deadly, and invisble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    One of the BEST books I've read!

    This book starts out with Sam Fisher, who is AKA Splinter Cell, a spy infiltrating (which means sneaking in) a base. He got in and out fast, gathered intel (information), but he was found, however he escaped before the enemy bombed the base. The book followed a new character named Gregory Jeinsen who defected from USA to China. He gave military secrets to a triad gang called the Lucky Dragons. Then the Lucky Dragons killed him. The book flipped back to Sam, he was following 1 of 4 of a team of arms dealers. This one was simply known as the ¿General¿. The General got away from Sam and then he set his own car on fire. Sam went to the General¿s house to see if he could find some top secret papers, the General¿s wife was at home. Sam told her that the General was cheating on her so she let Sam go free, and she shot her husband. Sam had a little time to himself now so he went back to the U.S. After his relaxation, he was sent back to China. After his return to China, Sam met a retired U.S. Agent named Mason Hendricks. Sam then picked up his gear and some intel at Mason¿s residence. Sam did several intel-gathering jobs. He made his move on an evil Chinese general who was trying to take over Taiwan. Sam killed him. Then Sam went home. I liked this book. There could have been more fighting. There was a good storyline to this book. I did not like it that his girlfriend was killed. When I was reading, it was like there was a movie in my head. It was interesting, more so in certain parts. There were really cool gadgets. It wasn¿t the best book that I¿ve ever read, but it certainly wasn¿t the worst either. This book might possibly be realistic fiction.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    WOW

    wow i read the first one and was blown away it captured the essence of the games so well. this one takes it a step higher. the stage is set so well, the villans are ruthless. if you love the videogames, the past book(should be read before this one so you understand the villians), or spy thirlers this book is recomended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Pretty Good

    This book was pretty good. im not quite done with it, but then again i've only had it a couple of days. Only thing bad about it is that David Michaels wrote this book, like an amatuer. Im 15 years old and when i write short essays for school, i never ever, try to explain something because of some bogus reason. Ex: I quickly took a snapshot of Herzog. I always carry my OPSAT on me, even when im in civilian clothes. Things like that made me get bored and think bad things about David, but other than those breif instances, the book had a good storyline. Sam does seem a bit indestructible though. Maybe David should have left him crashing into a Semi, and surviving with only minor bruises and cuts. Sorry to spoil it a bit, for people reading this review. I recommend picking it up, or like i did, just borrow it from your grandpa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Hoxton to chuck

    Your wierd *shoots you*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Chucks

    Humps her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    But why did you ending so sad:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    An good book.

    Slow at the begging but then gets bette. Just
    like all books?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Sloopy at the begining but great after thet.

    Id give this 5 stars but it wasnt good at the start. Awsome after that. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Horrendous

    My feeling is he didn't write this. It is not up to the author's standards. It seems like it was written by a five year old for a fuve year old. It was so poorly done I couldn't continue reading it. This was one of those books where I wasted my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    It was a great read! Do it!

    Super good book, you MUST read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Good Read

    The book was enjoyable held my interest all the way through. It was very realistic nothing far fetched. The story line was plausible as well. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7