Customer Reviews for

Tomatoland: How Modern Industrial Agriculture Destroyed Our Most Alluring Fruit

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Informative and Eyeopening!

    This is the one book that I have thought alot about after reading when shopping for tomatoes at my local store. From why are the tomatoes tasteless yet red in the middle of winter, why are they very firm and do not bruise no matter how long I keep them on my counter after purchasing, to why organic is important when selecting tomatoes? This book covers that and so much more. Kept my interest from the start to the end. It contains the history of where the tomato originated and our forefathers who bred them to what they are today. The unfortunate slavery of migrant workers is a sad reality and what they endure day to day is unspeakable. The book flowed well and I felt as if I too were on the journey with the author discovering and learning. This book is informative and eyeopening and will make you think twice before buying just any tomato at the store. I highly recommend this book not only for its educational value but for the straightforward and truthful manner in which the book is presented. Very entertaining and well written. Thanks to Andrews McMeel Publishing for providing this ARC copy for me for my review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    A must read

    Anyone who has ever eaten a tomato must read this book. A fascinating account of the history of the tomato, the Florida tomato industry, and the lives of the workers who toil to bring us these delightful fruits. At times almost unbearably painful in the descriptions of the conditions and treatment of the farm workers; ultimately, great hope for the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Interesting

    Will never look at a tomato the same. Learned about it from every aspect; somehow that's more interesting than I thought it would be

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    this year's irresistibly juicy page turner of food activism

    Much of the book tells the story promised by the subtitle: How Modern Industrial Agriculture Destroyed our Most Alluring Fruit. You'll learn why "salad tomatoes" feel and taste like tennis balls: gassed from green to greenish-red without developing any unwanted softness or character. You'll learn why the big growers in Florida don't care about taste: it's too hard to breed for and anyway, taste happens after the sale, so who cares? More importantly and grippingly, Estabrook described the forced servitude-the slavery-that the tomato pickers endure. Slavery is not too strong a term when shackles, shotguns, and brutal beatings keep unwilling workers on the job. Other "incentives" for working including manufactured and inescapable debts and threats to the workers' families and co-workers. But if Tomatoland were all gloom and despair, I wouldn't be urging you to read it. Estabrook also introduces you to a wide range of people trying to create decent conditions for the workers, better environmental practices, and yes even tasty tomatoes. Read moving interviews with day-care operators, lawyers, housing developers, tomato breeders, and sustainable farmers. Tomatoland's David-and-Goliath vignettes make it a page turner, complete with spies and prison breaks. These sections not only offer hope and a few laughs. They also suggest ways to vote with your fork against slavery and poison and for human dignity and fragrant, heavy, truly ripe tomatoes. Who should read Tomatoland? Everyone who eats. Everyone who cares about babies, social justice, immigration, the environment, or good food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Informative Story

    A very nice read about the history of the tomato and the industry that produces the cardboard tasting slave grown grocery store variety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Why Is My Tomato Tasteless?

    During the opening of the food documentary, Food, Inc Michael Pollan refers to the tomatoes we buy in the supermarket as only "an idea of a tomato." I had been left perplexed by what exactly he meant by that. Barry Estabrook's TOMATOLAND answers that question. Why do tomatoes no longer taste like tomatoes?
    The book revolves mainly around the winter crops picked in Florida. Those tomatoes you can buy in mid-January that are red and blemish-free and harder then granite. Estabrook delves into why the tomatoes we buy are unnaturaly hard and round and flavorless. Additionally the labor that goes into getting those tomatoes to market is also an interegral part of the story. While the brunt of the story revolves around the winter tomato, hydroponics from Canada and various organics and native and heirloom breeds are touched on as well.
    TOMATOLAND won't answer every question you have about tomatoes. It will shed some light on important ones you may/should have after eating one from a supermarket. This book is not for foodies or gormets, this is for anyone who eats. Educate yourself and vote with your forks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Gourmet food investigative journalist did a wonderful job with h

    Gourmet food investigative journalist did a wonderful job with his "Tomatoland." It is well written and full of a lof of information about tomatoes--origination, transport, farming, pesticides, horrid labor practices in Florida (slavery), and more. Even his introduction is quite interesting. What I also found odd was the origin, as he writes ithat tomatoes originated in the Andean foothills of Peru and Ecuador, yet it was the Mayans that cultivated it, but did that around 1,000 miles from origination, causing a "bottleneck," resulting in an inbred spoecies (Roots chapter, pp. 1-18). This is odd since the Mayans were known to have elaborate botanical gardens. Estabrooks also writes that no writings could be found in Mayan civilization depicting the tomato. Was the tomato so sacred to the Mayan? Were its origins kept hidden, a secret by the Mayan? This book mentions oddities from the beginning to the end. California and Florida are not mentioned as such a great environmentally-friendly food farming places either as they accepted one of the most worst perticides to use. There are some nice parts such as the successful organic farming of tomatoes by a few farmers in Pennsylvania and Florida. However, most of Tomatoland reveals low standards of large farm labor practices in Florida--of course, also resulting in the tasteless tomato often found in supermarkets. Other interersting foody books: "Where are Food Comes From: Retracing Nikolay Vavilov's Quest to End Famine" by Gary Paul Nabhan (Island Press, 2009); and "The True History of Chocolate," By Sophie D. Coe and Michael D. Coe (Thames and Hudson, 1996 London).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    Finally Florida is exposed for what they are and do!

    The author captures the exact flavor of the tomatoes coming from florida that end up mostly in food service but also on the shelves of retailers. This is why the bulk of the winter tomatoes now come from greenhouses in the southern parts of the US, some Canadian and Mexico. Greenhouse grown with flavor and no pesticides to worry about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1