BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Tomb of Hercules (Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Is there such a thing as being a McDermottaholic?

I was sort of aprehensive about Andy McDermott in the beginning. The reviews weren't the greatest (or so I've heard). I got the first book in the Wilde and Chase series, "Search for Atlantis" and from the first chapter, I was hooked. This book is no different. A little ...
I was sort of aprehensive about Andy McDermott in the beginning. The reviews weren't the greatest (or so I've heard). I got the first book in the Wilde and Chase series, "Search for Atlantis" and from the first chapter, I was hooked. This book is no different. A little more romantic drama in this book than I would have liked, but overall, a really good read. It was honestly hard to put down once I got into it. If I had to relate the series to something mainstream for those who don't know what McDermott's Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase Series is like; it's like 50% Indiana Jones, 25% James Bond, and 25% Die Hard.

posted by Natz86 on July 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What tomb?

After reading "The Hunt for Atlantis" I felt compelled to read this book. It would surely have to be better. It wasn't. There is so much wrong with this book there isn't enough space to write it all. "The Tomb of Hercules" would lead you to believe there might be som...
After reading "The Hunt for Atlantis" I felt compelled to read this book. It would surely have to be better. It wasn't. There is so much wrong with this book there isn't enough space to write it all. "The Tomb of Hercules" would lead you to believe there might be something about the tomb in the book. I was 200 pages into the book before the story line got there. It was another great "Eddie" book all about his past/present adventures and how many people he could kill.

If you want to read a really great thriller/adventure try Matthew Reilly or James Rollins. They will keep you on the edge of your seat and you won't be able to put the book down.

posted by bookjunkieDG on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Highly recommended

    hard to put down

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Is there such a thing as being a McDermottaholic?

    I was sort of aprehensive about Andy McDermott in the beginning. The reviews weren't the greatest (or so I've heard). I got the first book in the Wilde and Chase series, "Search for Atlantis" and from the first chapter, I was hooked. This book is no different. A little more romantic drama in this book than I would have liked, but overall, a really good read. It was honestly hard to put down once I got into it. If I had to relate the series to something mainstream for those who don't know what McDermott's Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase Series is like; it's like 50% Indiana Jones, 25% James Bond, and 25% Die Hard.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What tomb?

    After reading "The Hunt for Atlantis" I felt compelled to read this book. It would surely have to be better. It wasn't. There is so much wrong with this book there isn't enough space to write it all. "The Tomb of Hercules" would lead you to believe there might be something about the tomb in the book. I was 200 pages into the book before the story line got there. It was another great "Eddie" book all about his past/present adventures and how many people he could kill.

    If you want to read a really great thriller/adventure try Matthew Reilly or James Rollins. They will keep you on the edge of your seat and you won't be able to put the book down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great thriller

    After THE HUNT FOR ATLANTIS proved successful, the UN named archeologist Nina Wilde as the Director of Operations of the International Heritage Agency though she is not even thirty years ago. The mission of the IHA is to safeguard artifacts from looters. Former SAS operative Eddie Chase is her live-in boyfriend and personal protector. Terrorists attack the IHA research station above Atlantis killing everyone. Led by Joe Komosa they force Dr. Bill Raynes to download data onto a flash drive; before dying Raynes sees the last two entries are Wilde and Chase. Officialdom called it a horrible accident.

    Three months later, Nina and Eddie hobnob with the rich and famous in New York although Eddie feels like a fish out of water even as they are on the harbor. They meet non-executive director of IHA, affluent Shanghai businessman Richard Yuen Xuan and his wife Lady Sophia. Eddie and Nina get into a nasty public argument and go their separate ways. Nina is determined to find THE TOMB OF HERCULES that she has been researching and Eddie as resolute goes to Singapore to rescue his former wife Sophia from her boorish husband. On separate continents someone tries to kill them. Soon the pair unites on the lam with a powerful adversary in pursuit who wants the Plato manuscript that Nina allegedly has found.

    This adrenalin pumped story line is on speed as the plot is filled with action from the start and never takes a breather even for a cocktail on a yacht. Although over the top of the stratosphere make that mesosphere and the characters even the villain never developed beyond fighting and the lead couple making up, fans will have a difficult time putting down Andy McDermott's epic thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Oh yea

    Good easy read. One cliffhanger after after another. I'm into the 3rd one now. Keep them coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    WORST BOOK WRITTEN BY WORST AUTHOR

    Let me first say that I chatted with the author ANdy McDermott on his Twitter account: @jawbroken He is childish and rude, and his grammar is atrocious. He used foul language and hurtful words.

    As for the book... don't buy it. The plot is predictable and the characters are weak - just like the author in real life.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Atlantis

    First let me say that just like Atlantis this book starts off with action which I liked. Then it gets a bit melodramatic which teetered on corny. But it picks up as the adventure unfolds with the finding of the tomb and everything that takes place within. Then it got a little cheesy again at the end. Overall, I thought it was a good book, just not Atlantis good but definitely a decent read. Look forward to the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Great!

    I loved it! I can't wait for the next two in the series to come out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely exciting and enjoyable!

    If a reader enjoys escapism (Such as:James Bond or Indiana Jones) this is a jewel of a book! It would be exciting for the teenager also!!
    These are the type of stories that hit TV series are made.It would make for an excellent motion picture!! Be sure to also read "The hunt for Atlantis"!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Terrible read

    Terrible read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Awesome read

    Loved this one,it takes you on a wild and crazy adventure. There's never dull moment. I would definately read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Amazing

    Best book ever a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    This sounded like a great plot, but really who needs a fight scene that lasts three chapters! The plot was really lacking and the characters never grew. Dont waste your time or money!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Herc

    A hercules book without muscle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    2nd book

    They all say the second one is worse then the first

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    herchellys

    chwjccjfjvadbbjdjb

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting - a real winner

    I have just discovered Andy McDermott and I am a fan. I really enjoy his writing. From the time I opened the book I was hooked. I've passed this book onto my son and he hasn't been able to put the book down. His writing style reminds me of a cross between Dan Brown and James Rollins.
    I would recommend this and his book "Hunt for Atlantis"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5